Bro. Amos [11] Judgement Day

0 28
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago



We were all surprised to see this popular politician in the correction centre. We heard that this man has a case against the government and also a case to answer with his wife at the courtroom. This man from what we heard has stolen trillions of naira from the government purse.

Wait, how can a man be heartless like this? Why will a man decide to steal the money meant for the development of a whole country? Have these people suddenly forgotten that they will give account of everything they are doing here one day in heaven? Have they forgotten that they will die one day? These and many more questions kept popping up in my heart.

I remembered a book I read during my university days, ‘How Europe Underdeveloped Africa’ by Walter Rodney. Though, some theorists had come out to counter Rodney’s position on this. They believed that Africa’s problem has been that of bad leadership. The continent has consistently produced many self-centred leaders who are only interested in their pockets.

Personally, I believe Africa has great potential, only if she can properly harness them all. Many African countries are greatly indebted to developed countries. I told Japheth that it’s time for people that have the life of Christ to take over our political sphere.  Men who are dead to self-life.

Japheth responded by saying that Africa needs to legislate a law that will recommend killing as penalty for corruption cases. He went on to say that this is the only thing that can stop corruption in our system.

Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty

Concurrently, this same politician is having a case to answer with the government and his wife. His wife had filed for a divorce with him, this man has practically turned his wife to a punching bag by beating his wife regularly. The woman said she has never enjoyed her marriage for once. Though, there is money but the truth is that it can never buy peace of mind in any marriage. The woman said that her husband has been assaulting her physically even when they were still courting but he kept on promising to change but the change never came. 

Finally, the day to appear at the Appeal Court came. Almost all my family members were inside the court. I was very surprised to see my father present in the courtroom, he had travelled down to the country from Germany. You will not believe too that Sister Hannah was also present, it's been five months and three days since I last saw her. Why is she here? I kept asking myself repeatedly.

I was cross examined by the two lawyers. And after four hours of court proceedings, the judge finally adjusted her eye glass, cleared her throat and she declared, “Here is my judgement, and almost immediately that my mother heard this she fainted and the courtroom was in commotion for minutes. The court had to go for a break so that my mother can be given enough treatment.

After some minutes, my mother was resuscitated. I begged the prison officials to allow me to monitor my mother from the witness box. And all through the processes of rescuing my mother from the cold hands of death, my father never did as if he knew her.


My heart was bleeding and I was begging God to intervene in the affairs of my family. I remembered a story my mother once told me, she said my father raped her severally in their marriage. Seriously I was baffled hearing this, I responded by asking my mother if rape do exist between husband and wife and her answer was solid yes. She went on to say that the birth of my sister came as a result of one of the rape incident, but sincerely I didn’t believe that rape exist in marriages.


Finally, the court session resumed and the judge held on to the judgement of the high court. I saw Sister Hannah with a heavy heart, I knew that this sister can never marry me again.

Lord, will I spend the good part of my life in the correction centre? Will I be castrated?

These were some of the questions I was asking God as I was being whisked away by the prison officials.

Lead image


4
$ 1.89
$ 1.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago

Comments