Short-Termed VS Long-Termed

0 28
Avatar for Pattric
2 years ago

I was caught in between an angel and a devil, both were persuading me to go each their ways.

Anyway, that was a long time ago. I once receive quite a big sum of money from someone whom I just made up a number for him to buy the lottery, what surprised me was that he won it.

Before I knew it, the money was in my hands. I was then surrounded by a couple of friends who told me to buy new bags, wallets, clothes, go watch a movie, or maybe get something expensive to eat (They just want someone to pay).

To be honest, at that time, I already had my plans. And the plan was to be my own boss, I was already in the process of gathering the capital to be able to start my own little business. Even though the new bags, new wallets, and expensive foods are enticing. I gritted my teeth and decided that I'll go for the long-termed benefits even if it annoys those friends of mine.

Looking backward now, I realized I've never regretted choosing to start my little business, even though it's no more now. But what I've benefitted from the failure is experiences that new bags, new wallets, and expensive foods won't be able to give me. I've lost money, but the lesson gained is worth countless times more than the money lost. I've gained detailed insights, a clearer vision of my goals, a braver heart to push thru all obstacles, and the determination to make everything work out.

That said, isn't it that buying new bags, wallets, going to the movies, or eating expensive foods make you happier?

My answer is a "Yes" and "No", and I'll be answering the reason below.

Short-Termed Benefits

The examples of short-termed benefits are,

  • Buying new bags, new wallets, new clothes, and new shoes.

  • Going to the movies or a concert.

  • Buying new cars.

Short-termed benefits, are often associated with things that you buy with your hard-earned money. It makes you happy, at least for a week, a month, or maybe a year. But that's all there is to it, there are no real uses for those, some might even end up becoming your long-termed liability(Cars and expensive bags). All it does is take money out of your pocket and nothing more.

It never hurts to reward yourself once in a while, but it does hurt if you got addicted to that kind of lifestyle and start rewarding yourself more and more often. You must have a grasp of your limits and must be able to control your own emotions. Buy only things that you like and want from the bottom of your heart, don't buy things just to look good in front of other people who you don't even like. Just be contented with what you have.

Long-Termed Benefits

It is what you call, "Future". It may not make you happy in the beginning, even suffering in some cases. It has never been easy building up your future, but most of the time, it is worth the price you've paid.

  • Some build their future by starting a business, they will have to confront countless troubles, lose money and fail multiple times.

  • Some think ahead about their retirement and start investing at an early age, while in the process, may come across a financial crisis and will have to withdraw their invested fund.

  • Some want to have their money working for them and be able to retire early, start learning about investing and trading stocks, cryptocurrency, or precious metals. And sure, there is a risk of losing money instead of earning too. And most often, people lose more than they earn.

  • Some realize that the minimum salary is enough and start to enroll in courses for higher-income skills. Some may even get scam or find that the courses enrolled doesn't provide real value

But all in all, people who succeed in building a future for themselves are usually those who think and take action. And I believe that no matter what obstacles they encountered, they'll be able to overcome them and move forward.

And most of them, don't go for the short-termed benefits of buying luxuries instead of investing in yourself and your future.

Now I start having a habit of if I want to buy something, I'll take a few days to consider whether I really need it, whether it's of use to me, or if it'll be a liability in the future. But I'll not hesitate if it's a chance to buy more crypto and invest in my skillset.

Don't underestimate what you can do in a decade,

and overestimate what you can do in the present.

Success takes time, effort, courage, determination, perseverance, and focus.

I'm happy to be able to hear about your thoughts, feel free to criticize and advise.

I'm a total beginner at writing, I'll be happy if anyone is willing to coach me.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Pattric
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pattric
2 years ago

Comments