Issue #003, Elephant Sanctuary

0 21
Avatar for Parkins
2 years ago

From the get-go I want you to know.

I get goosebumps whenever we have to touch animals and I get scared of their sudden reactions, especially the ones that bite or attack. I love nature and animals but not to work the garden or see a bird in a cage, I feel the creature so sorry because it needs to be free and own the skies but if it falls down I'll use a box before touching it.

We took the advanture to the Elephant Santuary.

The main entrance was amazing with a large passage and wooden live edge counter and tables I think are oak, not sure though. The reception was welcoming with an efficient system during the covid phase and new regulations. They divided us into two smaller groups for a better experience.

We fed the elephants and rubbed their tummies.

The guide started our walk through a small portion of the monkey sanctuary and it reminded me of a dream I had where I got hit by a monkey on my head. Facing my fears just makes my faith stronger because after that walk I could handle the elephants.

After a brief introduction and background story on the four giants, we were given a chance two by two feeding them from the bucket. Some kids were so brave and fed them by hand and the elephant's trunk operated like a hand at the same time while breathing in and out with tough hairs on it.

Walking along with the elephants.

I aimed to stay in the middle of the group as we walked to the designated area of the nature reserve where we were told more about the grazing habits and had the opportunity to feel the hard tusks, large ears, rough knees, and more with a closeup look at the inside of their huge mouths, it was a wow moment.

During the walk with these majestic beasts, I hardly heard their footstep and later were told why. There were no hassles at all, the elephants are graceful creatures and very intelligent. The caretakers speak English to the elephants while instructing them but Shona to each other and the elephants understood over time.

Discussing the biology of the elephant.

Elephant feet have soft meaty padding that helps to support their weight, as well as preventing them from slipping and dulling the sound of their footsteps. As a result, elephants can walk almost silently, despite their huge weight.

They have six sets of molar teeth and sad thing is that if they lose their teeth they will starve but if all goes well they live up to 60 or 80 years. You expect a 6000kg being to live longer but they extraordinary at remembering every path they've walked. Imagen walking a distance of 200km a day while being pregnant for two years, that's the strength of a female elephant also referred to as the matriarch.

Was it worth it or not

I kept asking myself why was I afraid when it turned into a wonderful experience and enlightening because I was under-informed at how amazing these animals are from the Asian elephant to the African elephant and they are being hunted by poachers for their ivory. We need to consider and respect the life around us even if we don't have a passion for it, we should still recognize the value it all brings to our planet.

Thank you for your support.

see you now now

Posted on the 15 Mar 2022

1
$ 0.12
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Parkins
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Parkins
2 years ago

Comments