Issue #001, Blogging Adventures 

0 30
Avatar for Parkins
2 years ago

I'm scared but I did it.

Horseback riding or is it horse riding, don't care😎 because I'm not an animal touching person, although I care about nature and I'm pro-life but not to engage😖. I'm good with admiring from a distance. Not today, we have to climb the horses and ride out the trail with a pungent smell in the nostrils. 

😷My morning started at 3 a.m. because I couldn't breathe💨. If you read my blog yesterday, phase 1 part 2, I mentioned the exercise I forced on myself, and that lead to chest complications because of excessive smoking. With my asthma inhaler close to empty or was it already empty?🤷‍♂️. I medicated myself as best I could and told no one what was wrong because they might have canceled the day and I didn't want that to happen, I literally could have died from the asthma attack,💪 haha living on the edge. 

🚗Driving onto the plot we felt lost until the next sign appeared 🏳and even though we could see the stable with horses🐴 in them I still needed to make sure we were in the right place. Now I tried to postpone our ride to 30 minutes later because I needed medication urgently🙏 but we couldn’t. So with straws of hay and noisy flies all around  us we continued on.

What everyone was feeling.

  • The Lioness, the one we call the queen was first to mount with a touch of fear because her horse was feisty just like her and it seemed calm to us but the sudden shakes unnerved her.

  • The immortal, as I call myself because I could have died on a range with the hospitals and clinics about 45-60 min away. It was scary at first but I kept calm to keep the horse calm. (feel me)

  • Aloevera, he asked to be called that, why? 🤷‍♂️No reason but there was so much excitement and in his action but confusion on his face. Not paying attention to the instructions but ready to go. 

  • TheFairy Princess, was nervous and lost as to what to do as she was being told what to do. We expected her to avoid the horses all in all but she sat with her back up straight and confident.

As we rode along

With our guide at the helm on foot while we towered above him on our horses with a beautiful landscape around us, while the horses named Baloo and Norman lead the trail ahead. Our Lioness had the stubborn Delila who just grazed along the entire trail giving Lionsness a huge struggle to control her.

Dalila being at the back of the trail changed paths and the guide had to change the whole trail to a new route through tall grass where only the top part of our bodies could be seen and nothing of our short guide holding the leads of Baloo and Norman, very calm and well-trained horses. 

I kept calling my horse Stan which wasn’t his name but it felt right to me and falling behind made me talk to Stan even more and rub gently while pulling him away from grazing. Scary cat me started feeling confident and "one with the horse" and I tried riding Stan faster which never happened, I think the horse was just lazy or I wasn’t kicking and making the right sounds.  

Aloevera seemed to be so relaxed but struggled steering Baloo and found myself heading straight into the tree head first.😂On the other hand, our guide had to attend to Dalila. We looked back waiting for Lioness and not paying attention to Fairy Princess galloping away with Norman. We all started shouting “pull back, both sides, keep your arms low and pull hard”. I wanted to ride like the wind after her but my thighs were screaming like the wind instead. 

Pros and Cons

  • 👍Whats bad about riding horses, nothing, it was an amazing time and thats coming from someone who doesn’t like the touchy😖 feely part of animals. 

  • 👎The smell of livestock was offsetting and the horse flies were annoying.

  • 👎If there are four riders and one guide it’s a bit unsettling when all riders are new. The guide was on foot and had to walk back and forth between horses and couldn’t stop any unwanted reactions from the horses. 

  • 👍The trail went smooth even though some horses ended up doing their own thing, no incidents or excidents took plaace and no one got hurt. 

  •  👎My inner thighs got sore and my legs felt like jelly afterwards, good thing I wore jeans and sneakers. 

👍 Overall good

The freedom of the open field and the fresh air was a relief. The energy from the event was revitalising and our concept of horse riding has changed forever and the fear thereof gone.  We finally ticked it off the bucket list. 😊

Cheers 

See you now now. 

Posted on 5 Mar 2022






2
$ 0.95
$ 0.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Parkins
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Parkins
2 years ago

Comments