Pink Martini🍸

0 29
Avatar for Paradox
2 years ago
Topics: Free writing

Serendipity. Yes, that's what I felt when I was just randomly surfing through my Spotify playlist when I heard Sympathique. I have always been a fan of listening to Jazz but this was very casual. I was not really in the mood to listen to anything but still for the heck of it I wanted to play something.

I hit the play button and I was mesmerized. The initial music hit my ears and I was just taken to a different world. Luckily, I was just lying down with earphones in my ears, eyes closed, and sort of in a relaxed state of mind. Lucky cause most of the time when we listen to music while we multitask. Music just sort of happens to fall on our ears and we are busy doing something else.

That's why I'd suggest you try this experiment. Listen to music with earphones/headphones on and eyes closed. Try identifying every instrument played by the musicians and focus on the sound created by it. Some therapists suggest this as a mindfulness exercise. Trust me you'd be really happy with the result.

The music I heard in the next 4 minutes had such a calming effect on me that I literally craved for listening to another piece by the same band.

Pink Martini.

I ended up listening 7-8 more songs on a loop.

I had never really heard of it, ever (guilty for my knowledge in music) and I just wondered why this music wasn't popular. It was simple, calming and it felt like I was floating while listening to it.

Music has always helped me elevate my mood but this felt like god's little gift to me for doing all good that I might have done until now😂.

The first Pink Martini song that I heard was French. Here's the link to it.

https://open.spotify.com/track/1sKpay0q1lsH8RgafNzdI1?si=M7VuYbomRDGdONd7rWgWuw&utm_source=copy-link&dl_branch=1

Fortunately back in school, I had learned a bit of French and from then onwards I had enjoyed listening to French music. The intent was to get used to the spoken version of the language. French is very soft to the ears and as compared to my native language it sounds drastically different. You are always attracted to something that you don't really have just to give you sort of a feeling of being complete. My French teacher used to be like "listening to French is like listening to the cascade".

Here's another of my French favorites (just for the fillers!😛)

https://open.spotify.com/track/4fuZB27LJMjkdq9Y8gumUv?si=wskxUmQCRoGF_eW4QtX6KA&utm_source=copy-link&dl_branch=1

It's not that I understood it at the first go but beyond the lyrics of the song there is this feeling that a singer adds to the song, you may call it the essence of the song which you are naturally able to catch. You can understand that particular tone of the music without really knowing the lyrics. It's not that you are always going to get whether it is a happy song or a sad song but you do get the sentiment behind it. It's like listening between the lines!

I was able to catch up few French lines while listening to the song and the singer was saying "Je ne veux pas travailler". Now I knew what travailler as a verb meant (to work). What the lady was trying to say was that she doesn't want to work. I was like wow. I permanently find myself in that situation. XD. Let's get the lyrics and see what she is trying to say. I was probably not able to pick it up while listening but when I read the lyrics I was able to comprehend what the singer meant. It's beautiful and for non- French speakers, I'd suggest please read the translation. There's a beauty in the language which cannot be translated and it can only be enjoyed when you understand it, I know, but still try getting hang of it.

Then I listened to some more songs. I came across English as well Italian songs created by the band and I must say it was an immensely fulfilling experience for me. After listening to those songs my belief was cemented that you don't need to understand the lyrics to really enjoy the song.

My next favourite from Pink Martini is

https://open.spotify.com/track/7zaiLgzejyT5M7fTsmqZ18?si=w7x9uQ_1RiOPgXjpzJnH3Q&utm_source=copy-link&dl_branch=1

I listen to it every night these days when I am falling asleep. It's quite relatable for me because I dream a lot and this is one of the major factors why you like a particular song. When music is relatable it just feels you up. It takes you in the character's seat and the minute the beat starts you are taken to a different world, a different story.

Last but not the least favorite I enjoyed the beat to this one as well-

https://open.spotify.com/track/1N01HFptAHDtnFEh0NZbqq?si=dwlZj_p6TeCNGUfmPg8xJg&utm_source=copy-link&dl_branch=1

I don't know why even if it's not very much relatable for me currently, but I liked the mysterious feeling that it gives me.

I always start my day with this one-

https://open.spotify.com/track/6Rqn2GFlmvmV4w9Ala0I1e?si=1ydpTotuTJOu761hc3WkGg&utm_source=copy-link&dl_branch=1

But dear Pink Martini, you are an exception.

I am fascinated by your music and it is my dream to listen to you play live!!!

Music is immersive, cathartic ,and therapeutic. Thank you for giving me that wholesome experience.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Paradox
2 years ago
Topics: Free writing

Comments