Plasma Bridge - How to wait a week for a transfer from MATIC to Ethereum

10 70

Participating in thousands of Twitter giveaways will sometimes bring some unexpected wins. Few weeks ago I won 30 MATIC and some PolyBull tokens. Send them the address and I was waiting patiently for the reward to be sent. It never arrived so I asked about it and the first question was... did you gave us a Polygon address? Well... I gave them a Metamask wallet and everything was sorted after I added the Matic-Polygon network on my Metamask. I could see the tokens but I wanted them on Ethereum chain to stake them and earn more $MATIC. 

The Polygon Wallet v2 had this option to withdraw to Ethereum via Plasma Bridge. The Plasma Bridge allows users to move assets between Ethereum and MATIC with an increased security exit mechanism. What was not mentioned is the 7-days withdrawal period for any withdrawal from Matic to Ethereum. 

I had to try it just for the sake of the experiment. However, seven days withdrawal time and the high ETH gas fees doesn't sound too promising. You know when you have a feeling that something will be disappointing and you still go ahead? Don't think is a good idea to eat this Volcanic Vindaloo Curry! Don't think is a good idea to meet with @FatKaren from Tinder! Don't think is a good idea to send 30 Matic using Plasma Bridge! Well ... I will still do it!  

Everything starts with consent, as this rip off required a confirmation for the transaction. The estimated transaction fee changed from $13.53 to zero so I clicked the button.

The zero fee was a lie as I spent about $20 worth of Ethereum to send $35 worth of MATIC. Transfer was in progress and took about one hour for the transaction to reach the checkpoint. I am sure Donald Trump was able to launch a nuclear rocket faster than some MATIC reaching a checkpoint through Plasma Bridge! After one hour wait, the transaction was checkpointed on Ethereum Network and I had to confirm one more time for the 7 day withdrawal period to start! As I said... it's not rape if they have my consent! Also paying $7.74 for this made me feel like a wanted this more then them! I could imagine the guys from the Plasma Bridge saying "Listen man... he paid for our services... no one forced him to do that!"

Something complicated will never become easy half way... that's why I had to wait for 3 day to complete the final step of the withdrawal! I will recover from the Volcanic Vindaloo before the 3 days will pass. 

After 7 days I received the MATIC on my Metamask but man... what a journey it was. In the era of instant transfers and advanced blockchain technology something like Plasma Bridge still takes seven days to complete a transaction! I find this really disturbing and totally inefficient. I understand the extra security levels added in the mechanism but I am sure that this can be updated to a few hours process instead of a full week.

Resources:

Join Splinterlands!

Join the CakeDeFi revolution and get $30 worth of DeFiChain (DFI)

Amazon author page: PV Mihalache

Quality Faucets: Free-Litecoin , FreeBitcoin & Stakecube

Tier 4 referral system: Horizen (ZEN) & ZCash from PipeFlare GlobalHive

FreeCryptos GangDASH, TRX, ETH, ADABNBLINKNEOBTC LTC

I earn crypto for reading and writing on Publish0x and ReadCash, watching videos on Lbry.tv and surfing online on Brave Browser and Presearch.

16
$ 19.04
$ 17.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pantera
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
+ 6
Sponsors of PVMihalache
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Haha this is like using a windows 95 computer with internet on the phone line while the rest of us is on glassfiber, that is rediculous

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Royal Mail on the 80s was faster

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because of the insane fees, I no longer use the Ethereum network. That's why I stopped using BTC as well. I hope that more and more projects and tokens will be issued on SmartBCH. I also hope that SmartBCH will lower their fees further soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know... I have 80% of my things on BSC now. Just starting on Smart BCH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is not so much on SmartBCH yet. Actually, only benswap. I hope there will be more soon. I don't use BSC at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have some CATS 🐈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Luckily I still got something EBEN in pre-sale.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Somehow I missed that and I am happy that some are already 10x

$ 0.00
2 years ago

High Fees and Slow transaction, PVM you still okay? Hahahahaha, dang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea... sometimes I think I am too patient

$ 0.00
2 years ago