Close Range/Point Blank Arrows are No Secret For Splinterlands Battle Mages

0 29
Avatar for PVMihalache
11 months ago

The classic weekly battle challenge retired to make way for the Battle Mage Secrets series, making it more entertaining. This new set-up adds a focus on dynamic strategies, as players will be able to choose from a greater selection of more diverse units to bring into battle.

Let's enjoy the Close Range ruleset, where the monsters with ranged attacks are allowed to attack even when they are in the first position. May the odds be ever in my favor!

Unlike other battle-rules, this one doesn't really affect the battle mechanics. The ranged monsters can attack from the first position, but this doesn't make the use of ranged monsters mandatory.

The players can still use their standard teams, but now the ranged units are not useless when reaching the spotlights. I got really frustrated with the Close Range battle rule, as I played over 100 battles since Thursday and never got it once.

Luckily, it made an appearance on Sunday... at my last energy

You can't doge fire from close range! Not much changed in my team selection, due to Close Range, just the Molten Ash Golem as an extra layer of protection for the back line!

They say you can't doge fire from close range, and it's true! I selected my team based on melee attack power, bosting the monsters with Tarsa. Her burning rage and quick temper will boost the attack of my fire units.

Tarsa: +1 Melee & +1 Health

Living Lava: Tank with Shield

Ant Minters: Off-Tank with Scavenger

Molten Ash Lava: Ranged with Close Range

Tenyii Striker: Melee with Sneak

Djinn Inferni: Caster with Giant Killer

Scorch Fiend: Decoy legendary zero mana cost!

The Molten Ash Golems are birthed from a creature known as the Forgotten One, as this ancient beast leavies trails of molten ash in its wake.

Within a day, these piles of burning ash become sentient, rising from the ground to form loose humanoid shapes. They will travel the lands searching for the Forgotten One, never tiring and never needing to stop.

I had to face a full ranged team, boosted by General Hungry Hippo, and the situation looked dire! Why didn't I choose General Sloan for this battle?

The first issue I had to face was the Shieldbearer with Taunt, with healing support from the Venari Crystalsmith and armor repair from the Scavo Hireling. If the enemy tank doesn't fall quick... I am doomed!

It looked like Tom Cruise's mission impossible after only one round! I lost my decoy, as the Celestial Harpy targeted my Scorch Fiend! The Shieldbearer looked in better shape than my Living Lava, and my fire power looked to week to overpower the tank.

It went downhill in the second round, as the Ant Miners weren't strong enough to survive the rain of arrows. It had boosted health from scavenging the victims, but it failed to survive!

The Molten Ash Golem took the main tank role, and was facing an ever rejuvenated Shieldbearer.

You can't doge close range fire, but you can heal it! I am heading towards oblivion, with the Shieldbearer smiling in the face of danger. My monsters where taken down without a struggle, and I was sent backja lesson of battle synergy! See the full battle here!

Post Morten Failure Analysis! The strategy was a mix & match fiasco, with no real strength. The utility of the Molten Ash Golem was zero and General Sloan is the only winner for the Close Range battle-rule.

If this comes across again, I will make sure I go with Sloane and the Life Splinter. The amount of low level ranged cards gives an extra boost the the Life team, and support given to the tank is unmatched.

The Shieldbearer ended the battle with minor scratches, and this battle could have lasted 20 rounds without any real danger for my opponent.

Residual Income:

Join OKX 

Join Biswap

Join Binance

Join Upland 

Join Crypto.com

Join Splinterlands!

Hive Blogging - LeoFinance, Peakd, etc

PVMihalache Amazon Books

CakeDeFi $30 DFI for new users

The fountains: PipeFlare ZCashGet.ZEN

Publishing bundle: Publish0x,   readcash,  noisecashLBRY & Presearch

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of PVMihalache
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PVMihalache
11 months ago

Comments