XXVII: True or Faux

0 44
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Book, Series, Hope, Mystery, ...

[WP] One morning, you woke up with the ability to see true and false when written down. If it glows a golden color then it is true, but if it glows a dark color, then it is false. Out of curiosity, you go to the library and walk into the History section, and to your horror, all you see is darkness.

*****

The session ended far better than it started for me. The solution I found had its weaknesses , as it was hard to fixus on the mental image I had created and still wstchi my surroundings. I barely managed to get that all in order when Athena joined the party.

Apparently, it wasn't enough to just have to battle Demeter, but since I was being trained to be able to fight under extreme pressure, and there was nothing much pressuring than someone who's punch could break solid concrete hunting me down.

I was forced to do a lot of bobbing and weaving, adding more writings to the mental text on the walls I had. After the first punch from Athena, which broke my humerus instantly, I knew that she was an even more dangerous threat than Demeter. Asclepius gave her a warning while he healed that - there was a limit to how many times he could heal wounds within a day, and grave injuries like broken bones were really pushing the limits

Athena scoffed and waved that off. "We're simulating a real battle here, and enemies won't be taking so much care to leave him uninjured. If he wants to avoid being all broken up by dusk, then he should be better at dodging. Hurry up and get out there, Prometheus," she said, walking back into the field.

I sighed and spat out. "If I could leave this place, I would goddamn it. I didn't ask to be taught how to fight, and I don't need these people trying to kill me for no damn reason. This broken arm hurts like a b*stard, is there really anu justification for this suffering?"

Asclepius laughed. "It was either this or becoming a labrat. You might have been dead by now if the Foundation got to you first, that's for sure. Guess there was a price to pay for salvation, and right now there's no going back. You're going to have to pay that, or die trying. While I know Athena can go overboard, I know her head's in the right place. I'm just trying to make sure she doesn't accidentally kill you out there, because that's going to be a whole lot worse."

I froze. With the way he said it, I was sure there was some history being that statement. "What happened? Did something like that happen sbefore I came here?"

"Let's not try to aggravate this situation, Prometheus. Go out there and use your head more. It isn't even about running all the time, you're not going to try and take out your opponents?"

I sighed again. I was barely done defending and he was suggesting an offense. I already knew all that long talk about the best defense being a good offensez but then my ability wasn't exactly made for that.

Or... Was it?

I went back out and we continued. Athena was fast - not speedster fast, but at least faster than most track and field athletes. I couldn't match her speed in a straight line sprint, especially not if I was going to dodge Demeter's attacks. And sadly, both of them were moving in perfect synchrony, meaning that I was the only one out of it.

But then, knowing what both of them were doing to do meant it was going to be easier to make them attack each other if I played my cards right. They already knew what each other was going to do, but not eahy I was going to do. Acting unorthodox would force them to improvise, and if I could force errors from that improvisation, then I could turn that into a good offense.

When I saw that Demeter's vines were coming from my right, and above, I forced myself into that position. Athena, moving quickly, forced herself into that position, believing that I had made a mistake, and Demeter would hold back her vines so that she would punch me. But I quickly moved out of the way and Athena got gripped and thrown by the vibes that were rushing to revived from my deception.

While Demeter was carried away by her surprised, I closed in to lunch her, but she easily blocked that and hit be squarely in the gut with a knee. I crumpled to my feet but wuickly recovered and moved out of the way just in time to avoid a punch from Athena.

"Heh, he's actually getting courageous. He actually closed in on me, fast, but foolish. I could have easily wrapped roots around you and crushed you, but I really needed to prove that you couldn't beat me in hand-to-hand combat. It's cute that you tried anyway," Demeter said, grinning as I got myself together.

"However, his maneuvre there was flawless. You really forced a fumble there, Prometheus," Athena said. It was the first time she was appraising me, and it felt good to be honest. "If that was a real battle, that mistake would have been detrimental. Well done, but don't let it et to your head, because that trick won't work that easily again. Let's continue."

We had barely even commenced when Harmonia burst in. "Ascelpius, heal Demeter and Prometheus up. They're both going on a mission. You," she said, pointing at me. "Maybe this time, you can kill Mill."

I froze.

*****

TO BE CONTINUED.

0
$ 7.04
$ 7.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Book, Series, Hope, Mystery, ...

Comments