XVII: True or Faux

0 34
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

[WP] One morning, you woke up with the ability to see true and false when written down. If it glows a golden color then it is true, but if it glows a dark color, then it is false. Out of curiosity, you go to the library and walk into the History section, and to your horror, all you see is darkness.

*****

Asclepius looked at me for a while before writing something down in his pad. He then went back to a computer while I stood in the middle of the room, feeling confused and a little embarrassed at the fact that Demeter was now looking at me from head to toe.

I could feel her eyes on me, and a side glance confirmed that she was still looking at me, but I couldn't face her squarely, so I had to keep my eyes fixed on the Snellen's Chart in front of me until Ascelpius came back.

"Heh, there's only three other people like you who I have encountered. People with extremely high Br-wave signatures. Damn, even without using my abilities, I could almost feel the waves being released from your cranium."

I could see Demeter sit up in her chair now.

"Well, what do you know? He is really special after all. Seems like Director Harmonia was right. But I wonder, how much can he achieve with this power? What would make those signatures high?"

I also looked at him quizzically. My powers didn't seem exceptionally special, and they paled even more when I compared them to those of Flames, or even Harmonia as I had seen.

"The other two people are Flames the Arsonist and Demeter here. Incognito once sent Flames to us here for a medical checkup before she joined their unit, and I was surprised to see that amount of brain activity. As a result, you've seen the extent of her abilities - blue fire, lava, blue lava in fact -"

"Blue lava?!" I asked, stunned. Flames never told me about this, or was it that I had never asked? Either way, I had no idea about this feat of hers.

"Two years ago, we had a mission that had us going to the Grand Canyon. The cause of the commotion there was one person - Demeter here, who is also a special Level 5 like Flames and yourself. She had gone paragliding - alone - when her powers kicked in, and she created a whirlwind there. The Foundation was there to get her, and they sent four agents. Meek, Mill - who I have learned are now dead thanks to you and Flames, and two other guys who we will talk about later. justice sent Flames and Harmonia. To cut the story short, we won because Flames went into overdrive and complete burnout when she killed the other to agents with blue lava. That day was something else, it was the day that she achieved goddess-like status in this organization."

Demeter just laughed it off. "I thought she was cool actually, but I don't care for any of that now that we're the same. Flames level of heat control has now reached Supernova levels thanks to her special Level 5 status, and I can control both the weather and nature thanks to mine. I'll evaluate you as a special Level 2. What do you possibly have to offer?"

I stood silent.

She didn't take her eyes off me, and I could feel Ascelpius looking at me too. The question was not rhetorical. I was expected to answer that, but there was no way I could. Two days ago I was a normal person, and now I was thrown into this world of abilities and increased brain activity.

"To be honest, I don't know. I was someone else just over a day ago, and now this is my life. I barely know anything about it other than what you guys have told me, and it's not like I'm extremely good at combat, at least not at the level which you guys do it. The only thing I have going for me is that I'm quick at the uptake, and if you guys can help me discover what's so special about me, then I'll make the process efficient by assimilating and producing good results quickly."

I heard a laugh as Director Harmonia entered the room accompanied by two other ladies. One had red hair with grey eyes and an aloof look on her face. She seemed out of touch with everything that was going on in the room, and was looking into the distance before looking me in the eye.

"How is Flames?" She asked.

"As unorthodox as ever," I answered. She smiled and sat down with Demeter, initiating a conversation. She left the impression of someone who was easygoing, and always on DND mode, which I could handle.

The other lady ran her hands over my torso and my abs before licking her lips. "Finally, fresh meat up in here."

She smiled and I was taken aback by the fangs which hung where her canines were supposed to be. she grabbed my waist and pulled me closer, whispering in my ear, "I don't bite, unless you're into that."

Her soft laughter had legs tingling.

Director Harmonia spoke up. "The girl holding you is Athena, and she's our field mission strategist. The other one here with me is Nemesis, and she's one of our finest field agents."

Athena tickled my ribs a bit before letting me go and waltzing over to where Ascelpius stood, while Harmonia, Demeter and Nemesis sat and looked at me.

I wondered if it could get any more awkward in this place.

*****

TO BE CONTINUED

Thanks for Reading!

1
$ 6.98
$ 6.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments