Why Writing?

11 27
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

My header was based on a question I've heard too often: Why writing?

Sadly, nowadays many people hardly have any care for what's written: the Bible, Books, Newspapers. Even if it's online!

My friend once said he wanted to get videos of all the topics we were to read for a semester, watch them, and write the exam with what he'd watched.

If it's not on a screen and in motion, it isn't worth it.

Or is it?

Writing sort of came naturally to me. I had a keen interest in reading content in print; if it's on paper, I'm down for it. Soon I began to see that it was a huge help.

Reading helps your vocabulary (especially when you look up new words), so when you write, you write with much more confidence and writing from a head full of ideas. This helped me in examinations, because even when I really didn't know what I was talking about, the words I used and expressed confidence of knowledge, and i think that confused the teacher.

Or I was just lucky.

The thing is that when most people talk about talents, they usually refer to singing, dancing, backflips, sports and so on. Someone even referred to writing as a 'boring talent'.

I beg to differ.

Writing enables me to tell stories

Content creators, copywriters, list them all. They all have the talent of writing. I think it broadens your horizons and opens your eyes to so much more. I've been able to create on-the-spot stories that surprised listeners.

To them, it felt like I had a brain full of ideas. That was part of it, but it was because I had taken my pen and paper - and used them to create masterpieces - that my brain was ready to draft tales within an instant.

Writing as a form of expression

We've all heard people say dance is a means of expressing one's feelings; likewise music.

I think writing is one of the strongest ways of expressing feelings. Writing is powerful, and is like a river flowing straight from the soul: it captures all emotions in one instant and yet it remains beautiful forever.

That's why a written, rehearsed speech always has more quality and meaning than an impromptu one. It is also why written songs carry more content than 'freestyles'.

Words are forever.

Yet, when people ask me "Why Writing?", I say I don't know.

I could never say all this, because they could never understand. A true writer wouldn't ask this question, because they know the answer already.

11
$ 0.17
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
$ 0.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

On one side is writing, on the other side is reading. I much prefer reading to watching videos. I basically don't watch videos at all. When I learn, I prefer to learn from books. When I read, I can set the pace myself. I can read very fast, or I can read slowly and repeatedly when I want to understand something better. I can also take a break when I want to think.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you can put them.in two different groups but at some point they go hand in hand. And you're correct, you can set the pace whwn reading, ans revisit something you didn't understand with the opportunity of seeing it in a new context.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the upvote!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think writing is one of the strongest ways of expressing feelings. Writing is powerful, and is like a river flowing straight from the soul: it captures all emotions in one instant and yet it remains beautiful forever.

This one is indeed true. I remembered my highschool days when all I had was my pen and my diary. After writing all my troubles on the notebook, I felt a little better.

As for learning, I enjoy both by reading and by watching.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think having a diary is a very healthy practice, and reading and writing always go hand in hand.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Writing was not my thing until I came across read.cash🤗

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then you should thank read.cash ✔️✔️✔️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah.. although it feels tiring but I still write contents

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Writing is more than art to me. Though it's something that comes natural, it still challenges. Writing, reading. I couldn't possibly do without

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🔥🔥🔥

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Writing is like an art that I love. Through writing I can express my thoughts in a beautiful way which is why writing is done. And the biggest thing I love to write

$ 0.00
3 years ago