Weapon X

5 10
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

[WP] The mutations started to appear gradually. They were subtle at first. As the mutations spread they became more significant. As an investigative reporter you discover that the mutations were not naturally occurring. The source was far more sinister.

*****

"I'm Derrick Harlow reporting live from NNC, Brooklyn."

I kept the smile up until the cameraman said "and... we're off."

Loosening my tie, I swore quite audibly as I walked off the scene, heading towards the news van for a drink. All of the other staff knew not to say anything to me - well, all except April, my assistant.

"You really shouldn't be getting too worked up over company rules, Derrick. It's a big story still, despite..."

"The fact that they're limiting what I can investigate and report on to hide the true magnitude of the problem here? April, for whatever reason, the truth - yeah, the thing our news agency has pledged to uphold - is being hidden. I'm not satisfied with how things are, and you can't tell me otherwise..."

April sighed, scratching her head exasperatedly.

I really got the short end of the stick in an assistant. She was hardworking yes, but we didn't share the same values or opinions. April was just happy we were all getting paid - more than usual - for delivering this news story EXACTLY HOW THEY SAID WE WERE SUPOOSED TO. Why were we getting paid more for investigating and revealing less?

"Your moral sentiment is doesn't have a place in this, Derrick. This is what's happening, and we've told the public exactly what's going on, complete with the Doctors' comments. What else is required?"

I looked away, not wanting to pursue the argument any further.

"Plus, we are getting paid well for this, so can you just let sleeping dogs lie?"

I didn't answer that, instead choosing to get back to my seat. Engaging her any further would spell disaster - I knew this from my many years of interacting with humans who were only interested in their affairs.

If April suspected that I'd do anything that violates the protocols we were supposed to follow - this risking her he money we were promised, she would not even think twice before turning me in. Knowing this, I just kept silent until I was dropped off at my apartment.

Only when I was dropped off did I let my thoughts wander. If I showed any sign that I was still debating the morality of this matter, then, like I said, April would intervene and I would be unemployed, if not silenced permanently.

No, I couldn't let paranoia creep in.

But the whole thing was shady. Just last week's, reports from Queens started trickling in. Strange mutations occurring out of nowhere. In people of all ages. Something was in the air, and whatever it was, it was potent enough to cause genetic mutations to happen at a dizzying rate.

Extra organs, body parts, limbs and appendages growing from strange points on their bodies, without any underlying medical or genetic condition.

And the sudden growth, the sudden cell division and multiplication, the sudden strain on the other heart systems to supply for these new parts.

There had been 20 isolated cases in Queens in one week, and three deaths already. Hospitals were not aware of how to manage the situation, and all they could do is try to stabilize the patient, or give them an easy passing.

The responses the doctors had given were rehearsed, preplanned, practised. He'd been in this game long enough to see that. The issue was: who wanted the hidden, potentially incriminating truths of this story to remain hidden? What kind of money - and power or influence - did they have to buy the cooperation of the biggest independent broadcasting corporation in the country?

It’s not in your place to know, he silently reminded himself, entering his apartment and dropping his bad on the couch. He was going to be needed the next day, at the same time, but for now he had some hours to rest and...

That scent was foreign, certainly. He was familiar with all the colognes he and his close friends or acquaintances used, so he knew that it wasn’t one of them. And yet the scent was a tad familiar... Almost as if he’d crossed paths with this person before.

“Calm down,” a voice said, and he froze. Turning, he saw a nurse in black scrubs seated on his couch. His bag was on her lap, meaning it had landed on her when he threw it. The room was still dark, but the fact that he hadn’t noticed her and she hadn’t given herself away made her a threat.

“Who the hall are and what the hell do you want for me? How did you get in there?”

“Easy, you certainly can’t handle the kind of trouble you’re attracting by making that noise I’m here as an answer to your prayer...”

“I don’t remember praying,' I said coldly, but she just laughed.

“I’m about to give you the biggest news scoop of your life,” she said l, looking him in the eye and smirking. “Could you be a bit more hospitable?

*****

I think there'll be a sequel. I'll make this a small, three-part series. How does it sound?

Remember to Like and Comment

4
$ 3.23
$ 3.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Following. I will comment in th end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright, thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sounds exciting because you cut this short and now I'm curious af 😤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's how I like it 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i don't enjoy this curiosity 🥺🥺🥺 makes me restless

$ 0.00
2 years ago