Vanquished

14 18
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

The drowsiness attacks from all directions. My eyes fight the battle to remain open, even if they are aware it is futile.

I make furtive glances at my textbook, willing what I am reading to stick. I have a test tomorrow, and sleep isn't a part of the syllabus. I struggle to keep awake, almost shouting every word I read in a frantic attempt to make sure that I'm understanding what I'm reading.

Even the midnight candle scoffs, my lantern abandons me, as I curse the electricity and turn on my back up torch, telling myself that the reward for studying totally outweighs the costs.

If I was to really consider that statement, I should have read more before now. I shouldn't be juggling three topics in one night.

Letters turn to numbers and the humerus begins to look like the femur. My fight is becoming more.desperate as I drink even more coffee to get my body to stay awake. But my body has become immune to that.

I've kept this vigil for the past one week, believing I would be able to see it through till the very end.

But I was wrong.

You can cheat many things, but you can't cheat nature, I remember my mom say as my eyes close in the climax of a great battle. Nature is the victor, and I, the vanquished.

Good night!

A five minute freewrite using whatever came to mind.

5
$ 0.04
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty

Comments

That was interesting for a five minute prompt and i can definitely relate to sleep vs. Studies. I've been constantly losing that battle since I've started chemistry

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I find chemistry easy tho, but physics??? That's a battle I haven't won yet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honestly. I don't know how people understand Physics but hate Chemistry. Is that normal?

I'm glad I'm done with all that calculation and formula stuff.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are more on looking for the other worldly solution compared to the practicality in chemistry, i think that's why

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like both though. Both sciences describe each other so you can never set them apart

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The battle between physics and chemistry will never end πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not a battle :""" just... a misunderstanding?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"...sleep isn't part of the syllabus..."πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

A friend of mine fainted once after observing a whole week without sleep because he wanted to cultivate a night reading habit.

Things have to be in balance

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Things seriously have to be in balance😭😭 But sleep should be a part of the syllabusπŸ€πŸ˜“

Night reading is only for the brave.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Five minutes is nice but the community is about 10 minutes. I don't notice much difference between your 5 and 10 minutes. πŸ‘πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Noted. I was a little drowsy so I just wrote a little

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago