V: True or Faux

0 26
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

[WP] One morning, you woke up with the ability to see true and false when written down. If it glows a golden color then it is true, but if it glows a dark color, then it is false. Out of curiosity, you go to the library and walk into the History section, and to your horror, all you see is darkness.

*****

I think it was the sound of the classical music that woke me up, My mom loves to play those at home, and it was almost deceptive in the sense that until I opened my eyes, I thought I was somehow back home with my mom, enjoying her cooking. I could feel my mouth salivate as I remembered her apple pie.

Then my eyes opened and I was jerked back to the harsh reality of my situation. I was on a king-sized bed in a large room, thankfully not tired or strapped anywhere. My whole body felt numb – that feeling of when you’ve been seating on a toilet bowl too long, but then applied to your entire body. It felt like there were a hundred thousand ants moving under my skin, and I grimaced as I tried to move my toes and get some of the nerves working.

As the numbness subsided, I realised I was not in pain.

“Thank goodness,” I thought, happy that I had not foolishly fallen for one of these organ harvesting schemes or a possible group of serial killers. Now, since there was no reason asking myself where I was, since all I knew was that there was a group after me, and the lady apparently just saved me and then somehow knocked me out, I decided to occupy myself with many different thoughts until someone came to address me.

And it didn’t take long.

“Oh you’re awake,” a male voice said. I sat up in my bed and turned to face him, and he looked to be in his 60s, with silver hair peppered with a few strands of black and a black beard. Although his gait was beginning to get hunched – a sign of age getting the better of one, he still looked healthy and strong. I noticed that his eyes ran all over me as mine ran all over him, both of us putting down the physical aspects of the man before us mentally.

He was dressed in a three piece suit and had gold-rimmed glasses – Cormier from the looks of it - and I took it that he was the Boss or Leader around here. He nodded absentmindedly and then gave me a warm smile before pressing a switch on the wall.

The woman who picked me at the library then entered the room, with another woman by her side. They were both engrossed in small talk before the came to the man’s sight and joined him in scrutinizing me.

The other woman was a black woman, her skin a nice, creamy color. Her hair was cut short, dyed red and it had a lot of waves in it I couldn’t tell if they were contacts or not, but her eyes were white, in fact almost glassy as she scanned my bod. In a while, they turned back to a light brown and she smiled warmly at me. She had a slender figure, and she looked like she worked out a lot.

“Well, Flames, you brought him in good condition, thankfully. He’s perfectly fine, Prof,” she said.

I felt that her ability had something to do with X-Ray vision, and I suddenly felt self-conscious, but I knew that wrapping my arms around my body would be stupid since I was dealing with… X-Ray vision, so I just sat there.

The woman who brought me, apparently named ‘Flames’, turned to her. “Come on, that was just one mission that went bad and it was only because those Foundation bas*rds decided to get daring.  And he’s quite the specimen, this one, because he’s physically fit and has a sharp brain.”

The old man then laughed. “From what we saw, you grabbed the idea of what your ability could do within a few minutes, right? Then you went straight to the History Section and started looking through the books, hmm? I take it that you discovered quite a good number of fibs, didn’t you,” he said, laughing jovially.

The other woman spoke up. “Someone who actually knows how to use his ability and what to use it for is quite a character, and the SCP Foundation knows that too. Are we sure they are just going to let this one slide?”

“We can’t run the risk of actually thinking that, so it’s better we act with the mindset that they are coming after us anyway. That means that you’ll be with him 24/7, Arsonist.”

She nodded.

Flames. Arsonist. If all these names were an indication, her ability had something to do with fire. And there was a brief mention of an incident – or maybe an accident – in the past. Was it really safe to go with this lady?

“Don’t worry about it,”” the other lady said, and I turned to her,

“You can read minds?”

“No,” she laughed. “I’m Clair. Clair as in Clairvoyant. You must have realized that I can see through you, but I can also identify emotions by their color. You don’t have to be afraid of Flames here, even though her methods can be seen as a bit rough and unethical. She’s one of our strongest agents, so don’t worry about it.”

I laid back on the bed and stared at the ceiling, and for the first time, I wondered what Sharon was doing.

*****

TO BE CONTINUED.

Thanks For Reading!

1
$ 2.66
$ 2.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments