To Kill A Detective

14 30
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Story, Writing, Short Story, 2020, ...

[WP] You are considered one of the greatest detectives in the world. Because of that, you have been invited to a noble party. Unfortunately, you aren't able to make it in time and you get there late. When you arrive, you find out that the murder occurred. And the corpse is indistinguishable from you.

******

Being a world-renowned detective, basically the best in the business – had its perks.

A steady supply of supple exotic women, being seen with the crème de la crème of the society, a nice stash of cash, and a truckload of enemies was just the tip of the iceberg. Unlike Sherlock Holmes, I, Blair Hyacinth had a taste for extravagance and a flashy life.

Okay, I didn’t. It was all a façade.

To stay one step of my enemies and my suspects, I had to pretend to be aloof or preoccupied with a bubbling social life, attending galas, going on boat cruises, and so on. But I was really just Casanova mixed with James Bond and a sprinkle of Holmes. I had the keenest senses, a taste for a lavish life accentuated with women, and also the tech and physical fitness required for espionage.

I know, I know, I blew my own trumpet.

The invitation to Madame la Croix’s birthday party was another chance to unwind and relax in the city of Paris. But it was also a chance to put my long-time enemy, Clint Reynolds behind bars.

He ran the ‘R and X’ back at Manhattan, the biggest international drug network ever to have existed. Cultivation, processing, packaging, distribution; it was a world-class syndicate that maintained a firm, large grip on the production and distribution of, need I say, illegal drugs around the world.

I had busted a few minor operations within the past six years, and it was then I got to uncover the size of this operation and what it would take to bring them down. Certainly not just me. But then, the more people I got involved, the more likely it was that Reynolds would catch wind of my actions and escape.

Or worse still, come after me.

I knew he knew about me, and I knew he saw a threat in me. We had been playing a game of cat and mouse for six years, and I had succeeded in slowly but surely getting key information to bring him down.

All I needed was the last bit of proof. Evidence to show that he was in charge of operations, and to bring him down along with six other men and women who headed smaller outfits in other countries of the world.

I simply had to be there, and I knew that this was it: the chance I had been waiting for.

My car breaking down on the road was something that unexpected; getting it back on the road was something of a hard time, and it was an hour before I finally reached her mansion. Elegance. Beauty.

Chaos.

Police squad cars were parked, their sirens rising with that of the Ambulance present to create a symphony that beat my eardrums to a frenzy. Wrapping a scarf around my nose and mouth, I got down from my car, put on my hat, and walked down towards the ambulance.

A body was being wheeled in, and before the body bag was zipped, I peeped and saw the face.

Deathly white, eyes blank with the pupils rolled back. I was looking at my own dead body. My eyes widened in shock as I looked up at the fiery pair of eyes staring at me. Walking back quickly, I got into my car and zoomed off.

******

Three hours later

“The view from up here is amazing, no?” she asked.

“It’s beautiful.” I agreed, acknowledging that looking from the highest point of the Eiffel Tower towards the beautiful city at night was an amazing experience. “But not as beautiful as your work there, Madame.”

She smiled, her sexy red lips pouting as she blew me a kiss, “You know that as far as makeup and all that are concerned, I’m a pro. Creating your dead doppelganger was a piece of strudel. Once they saw me shoot you and watched the blood flow, they all fell for it.”

“Including Reynolds?”

“Yes.”

“But who would have thought they’d be meeting y=with you?”

“You and I both knew that they would, stop being so modest. The UK Government is cracking down on drugs, so they need a new frontier in Europe where they can strengthen their network. I was a rich b!tch in a popular tourist destination – the city of love. Of course, they would meet me, after all, I did possess the finances required to start something like that.”

“They were so sure that you would work with them.”

“Turns out my dad wasn’t the cleanest businessman out there. They all believed I was like him. By the way, the camera was on my watch. I recorded the whole scene on it. When will you be releasing that?”

“Soon. It will be an anonymous tip. But I’m surprised; how did you make them believe in my death?”

“I pretended to have noticed some movement at the door, so I beckoned a guard to go check, All he had to do was to walk out, shoot at the chest of the replica and drag you in, There were specific pouches prepared to leak ‘blood’ or ‘brains’ as the case may be. I shot you on the head immediately, and hat ended that. The party was thrown into pandemonium since everyone heard the shots downstairs, so we all scattered as the police came.”

“They must think you are in custody.”

“Of course.” 

I stared at her, and smiling as my urges took the better of me, I kissed her full on the lips. After a brief battle of our tongues for domination, which I won, we broke apart. “But are you sure you want everyone to think you’re dead? Do you really want to end ‘Blair Hyacinth; Private Investigator extraordinaire’?”

“Madame…” I started, kissing her hand, “…everything must come to an end. The flashy life, the women, and the money… the façade – I’m tired of it. Now, I want to retire to the Bahamas and wake up with you by my side every damn day.”

“Oh, you Americans!”

******

Hey guys!

My long-time friend @Chi_agor037 has just joined this platform, and I want to implore you guys to subscribe to him 😂🙏. He writes good stories and premium content too, so I'm sure you'll like his work too ;).

@Leo_kitti, @Hanzell, @gertu13, @Gwenie how was the execution of the prompt? 😋

 

 

11
$ 1.68
$ 1.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Story, Writing, Short Story, 2020, ...

Comments

You should have made it more exciting. Like the scene were the Lady shot his doppelganger and make more suspense😁. I've known you for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know 😂😂😁 I just fast-forwarded to the end. I got tired of the prompt.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha... but it's a good case to be fast-forwarded.😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it's very good that you want a break. But now that he is no longer a safe detective, he will face other more peculiar cases.

I will surely join your friend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh yes, everyone needs a break now and then.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You ended such a fine career🙄 you should be jailed for this Ozzyy 😒

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😁😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Feels like there should be more ;;-;; not enough action compared to what you usually do but it was a good execution

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know right? I discovered I had bitten more than I could chew after I started working on the story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe on the next prompt, it would be better but this wasn't as good as the others were ;;w;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I think you will like the next prompt

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh imma wait for that OwO though i might fall asleep. I can feel my sugar rush dying down now ;;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oooh then go sleep cause it's the best for u rn

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think so ;;-;; so much for editing this draft i made this morning ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago