The Scourge of Destiny

0 15
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Story, Fiction, Achievement, Book, Economy, ...

[WP] "He who lifts the Holy Shield and the Hammer of Judgement will vanquish the darkness that grips the land, and wins the princess' heart." so says the prophecy. You can imagine everyone's shock, when said person turned out to be a young demon boy, sentenced to death by their holy radiance.

*****

I had never been more embarrassed in my life.

Humans lured me into a trap and captured me with a magical seal, leaving me unable to escape their clutches. They interrogated me, and failed, then tried to torture me, and also failed. Nothing they did to me could match the demon king's wrath if I were to betray him, but they didn't seem to grasp this. Still, even if I told them anything, I suspected it wouldn't help me in this situation. The humans just wanted me dead.

All they could do was quote scripture or threaten to smite me, which only prompted laughter.

"I'm immortal, you idiots!" I said through my cackling. "You can't do anything to me!"

And I was right.

The Holy Shield and Hammer of Justice couldn't be moved from their resting place at the temple of Lady Catherine. I didn't think they could follow through on the threat. That is until they literally dragged me to the temple for my execution.

I couldn't believe it. This hadn't been done before. Humans kept the location of this temple a secret in order to keep it hidden from the demon king. Did I really annoy them that much? If so, I considered this a huge win for me.

Mighty pillars of stone kept the vaulted roof in place, dwarfing most buildings in existence. At the end of the room, the celestial weapons sat atop a golden altar, with multicolor light bathing them through stained-glass window panes.

The entire royal court was there, including the king and his daughter. They eagerly waited for my death with stoic expressions.

I stuck out my tongue at them as the guards pushed me forward. Showing them any kind of fear would only bring them pleasure.

After I was forced to kneel before the altar, the Archpriest widened his arms and said:

"Young demon, you are hereby sentenced to death for threatening the kingdom and supporting enemies of humanity. Any last words?"

I frowned. "Fuck you and fuck humanity. You're all self-serving cunts that just want to feel righteous."

Everyone gasped. The idea of someone cursing in the temple left them speechless.

"This is just sad," said Princess Mully, shaking her head.

I chuckled. "I know, right?"

Princess Mully narrowed her eyes. "Not you, demon." She gestured at the royal court. "You're all allowing this whelp to get in your heads. He wasn't even a threat. The fact that he fell for our trap proves it."

"Hey!" I shouted. "I am not a wimp."

Princess Mully ignored him. "The demon is just a boy. We only caught him pranking farmers. Compared to real threats, like the Crimson Generals, this is just a waste of our resources."

I widened my eyes. Was she trying to save me?

King Erdon seemed to think the same thing, asking:

“My dear, are you telling us to spare this demon's life?"

"What?" Princess Mully wrinkled her face. "Of course not."

I hung my head, disappointed.

"I just don't want any of you thinking this is a huge accomplishment. Some people in the court will feel safer after this when, in reality, it's all a ceremony to pad your egos. When was the last time we actually fought back against the demon king?"

King Erdon glanced away.

"Exactly," said Princess Mully. "You're all just waiting for the chosen one to arrive, and I don't like that. People are still dying in the borderlands."

"And what should we do about it?" said the king. "Lead a suicidal charge?"

"No," said Princess Mully. "I'm saying we barely tried to cooperate with the demon. It's hard to claim the moral high ground when we're not even trying." She looked at me. "Demon, I know you hate us, but surely you must value your life, right? Help us in this war and I will guarantee your safety."

I shook my head. "You really don't get it."

"Then help us understand."

"Fine," I said. "here's the truth. When I was still mortal, your kingdom had no trouble recruiting from my village. All I wanted as a child was to be a knight, like the ones present here. When someone didn't want to join you, you had no trouble accusing them of being a demon and hanging them. But I didn't care. The people who refused were cowards in my eyes.

"And then the demon king's armies arrived. They burnt down my village and you did nothing about it. All the people you recruited never showed up. Meanwhile, the demons had no trouble offering me a deal. If I pledged my soul to their monarch, I would get to be immortal and forever eighteen. Now, I've only been around a century, which is still young by demon standards, but in that time I've seen this kingdom do heinous things, some of which would make you vomit. Tell me, why should I choose you over my brethren?"

Princess Mully couldn't meet my gaze.

"That's what I thought." I looked at the Archbishop. "Let's get this over with."

The guards didn't even have to push me towards the altar.

I stood up on my own and walked up to the celestial weapons, ready to be incinerated by them.

An uneasy tension permeated the room.

Despite my bravado, I couldn't will myself to touch the sacred artifacts. The fear was simply too much. I had to close my eyes in order to do it...

And felt nothing.

I tilted my head, confused. "Eh?"

People throughout the temple covered their mouths in shock. That should've been it. Why didn't I die? My hands made full contact with the grips. I wasn't cheating or anything. Things got even worse when I lifted them up.

Everyone fell into panic. Some court members even ran out of the temple, screaming off the top of their lungs.

To be honest, I was more terrified than them. It felt like a surreal dream.

King Erdon quickly ordered his knights to surround me.

I readied myself to fight, but the magical seal they placed on me had weakened my strength. The best they could do was capture me again, which didn't exactly thrill me.

"Wait!" shouted Princess Mully, placing herself between me and them. "Don't do anything hasty!"

The guards hesitated.

"Mully, please, move out of the way," said King Erdon. "This is clearly a mistake."

"No," said Princess Mully. "He's literally the only person in millennia to lift them."

King Erdon sighed. "Do you realize what this means? Are you really marrying a demon?"

"That is not what the prophecy says. It only mentioned that he would win my heart, and he has. That doesn't mean I'm in love; it just means that I agree with him."

I rolled my eyes. This was just stupid. I brandished the hammer and said:

"Either I and the princess leave, or she dies."

The king widened his eyes.

Princess Mully craned her head at me, furious. "What?"

"You heard me," I grabbed her wrist, "you're a hostage now."

"I'm trying to help you, dumbass!"

"And I don't need it!" I looked at the king. "Don't worry, I'll give her back... eventually."

King Edron grit his teeth, shouting:

"I will have your head on a pike!"

"Perhaps," I said, "but not today. Lift the seal on me or I bash her head in."

King Edron trembled with fury. "Leave," he ordered in a low tone of voice. "Pray we never meet again."

"I'm a demon, your highness." I smiled. "I don't have to pray; I just get what I want."

Princess Mully and I left the temple in silence. She regretted protecting me, that much I could tell from her face. By the time we escaped into the forest, it was already night. Nobody followed us. Once I was certain we were alone, I looked at her and said:

"You're free to go."

Princess Mully scowled, folding her arms. "I refuse."

I squinted. "That's... not... an option."

"Then kill me."

I paused. "You sure about this?"

"Yeah. Go ahead. I dare you."

I grinned. "As you wish." I wound up for an attack but hesitated at the last second. "What the fuck?"

Princess Mully smirked. "That's what I thought. You can't do it, can you?"

"Don't tempt me!"

"Then, by all means, do it."

I couldn't force myself to do it. Princess Mully saved my life. I was a demon, sure, but this was the one human who ever gave me a chance. It didn't feel right.

"How did you know I wouldn't do it?" I asked.

"You could've murdered everyone when the seal was lifted, but you didn't. More than that, I trust the celestial weapons. They wouldn't have chosen you if you weren't worthy."

I scoffed. "I just don't feel like it. You better leave, before my mood changes."

Princess Mully shook her head. "Nope. I will follow you wherever you go until you decide to fulfill your duties as the chosen one."

I gaped my jaw. "I will never-"

"It's okay," said Mully. "I'd be scared of the Crimson Generals too."

I frowned. "I am not scared."

"Right..."

"I'm not!"

"Are you? I mean, I get loathing our kingdom, but the demon king is worse than us by every metric. They're the ones that burnt down your village, not us. You might think you were offered a choice, but what else were you supposed to do? Die? Be tortured?"

I looked away. Mully wasn't wrong. I didn't just hate humans. I hated everyone. The reason I played pranks on farmers instead of fighting was that I never felt comfortable pillaging people.

"If you really want me gone," said Mully, smiling, "just admit you're scared, and I'll leave."

I paused. "Never."

"Then I guess we're traveling together now." Mully stretched out her arms, excited. "I've always wanted to go on an adventure."

I snarled. This might be the beginning of a really annoying period in my life.

*****

THE END.

1
$ 0.75
$ 0.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Story, Fiction, Achievement, Book, Economy, ...

Comments