The Outsider

6 25
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

He moved when it was dawn, his steps steady and sure. I looked under the door; the lights weren't on. He didn't need any lights, that means he knows the layout of this house.

Was it a premonition, did I know he would do it this day? I don't like to believe in such, but why was I awake at that moment? I tossed and turned in my bed, battling with the random emotions in my head. I wanted to step out of my room, but I was afraid what I was going to see when I went out.

I couldn't hear my father's snores from his room which was right opposite mine, so he was awake. It meant he was out of his room. It meant he had seen who was moving around the house. Then what was going on? I hadn't heard a confrontation.

I had to leave my room. It was impossible for me to ignore the thought that my Dad and someone else were somewhere in the house.

I opened my door as silently as possible and peered into the dim corridor. The sitting room door was slightly open, and the lights there were turned on. I tiptoed to the door and listened.

"...You weren't welcome here anyway, not after what you did." I heard my Dad say

"I don't care. I've only been here because of Ozzy."

Was that who I thought it was?

"Well, that's exactly why you have to leave. You have done terrible things in this family, and now your stay here has to come to an end."

"Is that really it? Or is it because you think I'm a bad influence to your precious son?"

"That's a fact. I cannot have you around here, before you spoil the rest of the children."

"Hmm. That's a harsh thing to say to your son, isn't it?"

I was shocked. All this while I had called him my cousin, or uncle. I barged into the sitting room just as Gee was leaving. He looked at me and smiled. That tired smile. At once I understood.

Last week when I bumped in on my Dad talking to him sternly, he had that smile on.

My Dad looked at me with anger and disappointment

"What are you doing here?!"

"He's my brother?"

"I asked a question! What are you doing here?"

"Why didn't you tell me he was my brother!"

"I asked you a question! Are you trying to act like him too? I'll beat that out of you!"

He raised his hands to bit me, and then Gee's voice rang out

"Are you going to use the samebmethods on him too, Old Man? You'll lose him, the same way you lost me."

My father's fist clenched as he looked at Gee.

"I thought you were leaving!"

"I was. Until I saw you were about to hit him."

"You won't tell me how to train my children, you failure!"

"Yet this same training was the reason why we're here now, wasn't it?" My brother asked, anger mixing with his calm tone.

"Goodluck just leave!" My mom said from the doorway. What in the world was going on anyway?

Gee looked at me and smiled. "Stay cool!" He said, just like he always did, and then he left.

That was five years ago

Till today I don't know what Gee did, or why he had to leave. But I've not seen him since then.

10
$ 0.11
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

So sad 😑😑

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a sad story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah it really is. Thanks for the upvotes!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Sounds to me an opinion of your own, not accepting being corrected is enough to be the abandoned one. Gee been hit more than once but isn't broke and clearly keeps an eye on you.

Reread the text a git to remove the type failures. If you download Grammarly and type with that keyboard it's taken care of too.

You have a great strong storyline. 🍀👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah I forgot to proofread my work before posting 🤦🏾‍♂️🤦🏾‍♂️

It was nice of him to be sticking out for.me even if he had huge problems of his own which I may never know about.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can always edit.

Sooner or later you will know the truth even if no one tells you. You start remembering things and suddenly it all fits together and makes sense.

I wish you strength. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago