The Dawn of Evil II

6 15
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

[WP] You feel an itch, you scratch and scratch and scratch. Your skin begins to peel off, scratching a bloody hole in your skin you find metal where there should be flesh.

*****

Monday, June 16, 1986

I unwrapped the knee as soon as I woke up, hoping, no...praying that it would be gone by the time I woke up.

I was wrong.

Humidity and the friction from constantly running against the that bedsheet had caused the wound to expand. Dried blood caked the length of my shin to my foot, and I rushed to get a wet cloth, cleaning up the wound. By the time I was done, almost all of the anterior surface of skin on my right leg was gone. And the metal underneath glowed, reflecting the rays of sunshine coming in from my window.

My agitation heightened.

I went to the bathroom immediately, not wanting to lose any more time. My boss would probably cut my salaries by 20% this time.

Coming out of the bathroom, vigrous scrubbing had widened the area of exposure.

The rate at which the skin was peeling off was strange. Scary.

I went to work.

Wednesday, June 18, 1986

I cannot wear any shorts anymore. The skin on my legs has nearly completely peeled off.

In the meantime, I've learned somethings about the metal.

• It is not hollow, it is quite dense, and thick. This explains why I had some lean muscle and yet weighed 200 pounds.

• It is extremely dense. I tried to commit suicide yet again after I received yet another query and reduction in my salary. It was impenetrable, even by my drill.

• It's heat resistant. Just for the fun of experimenting, I decided to oka e my hands on the electric stove. I didn't particularly feel any burning sensation, but my clothes, the carpet and a bit of the floor were charred. The smoke detector went off and my stupid neighbors called the landlord again. It's just the 18th, but I'm sure I'll be getting the eviction notice soon.

• I might have become much stronger. I can't tell yet, because I haven't tried to carry a truck or anything. I have to keep this under the radar. For now.

Thursday, June 19, 1986

The eviction notice came today. As I was leaving my apartment, the landlord approached me. Ed. He's a fool, he's only doing this because Mrs. Manning from the apartment opposite mine told him to. She hates my guts, but she's a bitter middle-aged divorcee with no kids. You can only expect do much from those types.

Ann on my floor looked at me with pity though. She offered me a piece of pie on my way out. Maybe she likes me, maybe she doesn't. But I appreciate the kindness. I'll probably remember this when I destroy everyone in this...

Can't let those thoughts fester.

Work was... nothing much. I was hot, but I couldn't loosen my tie or anything. The peeling has spread to my upper body. The whole skin of my chest and quite a bit of my two arms are gone. At least down to my elbows. I can't wear any short-sleeved shirts now.

I don't think I can last much longer now.

Friday, June 20, 1986.

I awoke to the sound of men in my parlor. My door had been kicked down. There were men in my sitting room, and then the landlord and Mrs Manning. She was grinning like a damn Cheshire cat.

They said I had the room unsafe for living. My room was never this dirty, and I don't even eat bananas, so there shouldn't be any rotten banana peels. Only Mrs. Manning eats them. She knows something about this. Damn them.

I was evicted today. Out to the streets. I don't know where to ho yet, and I can't afford to miss work. I leave my bags at the church for now while I try to find my bearings.

I reached the office late. Again. I was laid off.

He didn't want to hear anything. Boss didn't. He just shunned me out of his office, and then that was that.

The people at the office looked like it was good riddance. Maybe I was that useless.

But was it the last they heard of me?

Edith from the Accounts Department did chase after me. She held onto my hand. Said "sorry,", and looked into my eyes. But she shouldn't have done that. My hands were peeling, and that was all it took to peel.off the skin over the dorsum of my hand.

She sxrenaed when the dropped the bloody skin, and then she screamed more when she saw the metal underneath.

I hurried off before anyone could come. I don't know what next.

Sunday, June 22, 1986

I had been hiding out around the church for now, not telling anyone of my condition, but I knew it was time to move. I am wearing by gloves now. It was creeping around to my neck.

I was off for the grocers, then far way. It was 6:00PM. I saw Mrs Manning and the Landlord. Hand-in-hand, coming back from a romantic date.

I could have taken another road, avoided them, like I wanted to, but something in me wanted to know if they were really happy. Without me in their lives.

So I approached them, and they were.

Mrs Manning rained insults on me, told me I smelled like a slaughterhouse. I probably did, as I hadn't had a real nice bath in a while. But I thought the landlord would be a but sympathetic to my case.

He wasn't, and joined Mrs. Manning.

Her validation was worth more than me, I guess.

It must have been impulse, no, it was my desire to hit him, so I gave him an uppercut. What I did not envisage was his head flying off, and the bloody stump where his head was spraying blood as he fell in a crumpled heap.

I didn't know when I grabbed Mrs Manning before she screamed, and then I crushed her windpipe. I wanted to do that, and I loved her soundless gasps as she asphyxiated.

The skin on my face had all but peeled off.

Tuesday, June 24, 2020

This is my last Entry.

There's now a manhunt for me. But I'm completely metal. I've killed two more people. My Boss and Edith from accounting. She still s teamed when she saw me,and I felt I should have ended her.

I know Ann was the one who told the police I could have killed the landlord and Mrs Manning. But I won't kill her, no. She was good to me. She's still an innocent, just doing the right thing.

A man met me yesterday. Said he was from the Council of Supervillains,and they'd like to recruit me. I accepted, because I was wanted.

I didn't matter then, when I was just a good guy in a wicked world.

I'd matter now, when I am a part of the wickedness.

*****

I have no fi all comments on how the story ended, but how did YOU see it?

Remember to Like and Comment.

3
$ 5.45
$ 5.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Hanzell
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I am happy to read June 22 ended well. How it ends depends... If the fun it out of it one should leave. I wonder about Ann... An open end is fine too. 🍀💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂 An open end seemed fine to me. Thanks for the upvote.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

final thoughts: it was so far from what i imagined omg- i was thinking he would have been a hero and became man of steel but this twist is better OwO

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why embrace good when he can get revenge? 😎💀 Thanksss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i should write again soon but i need to write about my recent project soon OwO

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay do, we'll be waiting

$ 0.00
2 years ago