Taken 7

7 33
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

PROMPTS: torment plan challenge tall fat school scream earth

RANDOM DIALOGUE: "Do you ever think we should just stop doing this?"

************************************

'Do you ever think we should just stop doing this?" Zoe asked as she sat beside Derek on the front porch of his house which was now crawling with police officers, emergency workers and onlookers.

Even without her mentioning it, this question had been ringing in Derek's head since the incident, although he hadn't been able to think much because the lady he sprayed acid on would scream every damn second. He had been in many hairy situations in his short time as a detective, but he hadn't experienced such a close call.

"The challenge is that we don't know exactly who we're dealing with here. Unfortunately, judging from the tea party I've just had, they know exactly who we are, and that..."

"You're avoiding my question, Derek."

She didn't call him D. She was serious.

"I asked if this job is worth all this risk." she said again, staring directly into his eyes.

"What do you think, Zoe? Is it? I don't exactly earn a fat cheque to justify the risk, so I don't really have a reason to stand tall and defend this suicide mission I call a job."

"That wasn't an answer to my question. But since it sounds like you don't want to do it, why do you continue?"

"Because there's a woman out there looking for her 6-year old child who was supposed to be in school today but isn't. Because there's a kidnapped little girl crying somewhere within this city. I didn't sign up for this, but I can't exactly walk away from it, Zoe!"

"But this isn't within our jurisdiction. This is a job for the Special Investigations Unit..."

"You're going to sit there and tell me to refer the case to them knowing it's gonna take two weeks of paperwork and sh!t before they take up the case? The minutes we spend here leave more time for whoever's got the girl to make away with her. This is the sixth disappearance in two months, Zoe! Give me a break and spare me that talk!"

"As much as I understand the fact that you have a conscience, I doubt if bringing emotions into this is such a great move. We both know you don't do so well when emotions are..."

"So perhaps you should take your own advice and stop being overbearing!" Derek lashed out.

For some seconds, the world seemed to stand still.

"In some places, it's called caring about your friends, Derek." she said, making to leave.

"I'm sorry, Z,' he said, holding her arm "The whole encounter just set my nerves on edge. And I guess you're right. I'll report this to the SIU as soon as possible, but I'll be gathering some information on the sidelines until they move into action."

"That's better! And by the way, I have to commend the good partner you've been. You didn't even notice my new sneakers." she said, slightly raising her right foot to reveal all-white sneakers with mud-covered soles.

"That's because they're covered in mud. Where on earth have you to been this morning, you walk-aholic?"

"Um...everywhere and nowhere exactly", she said, looking down at the shoes.

Her reply seemed hasty, but Derek had other things to do. He filed the thought away for later.

"Come on, I'm going to the hospital to see how my guests are doing, and I'm sure you're headed for the precinct." Derek said as they marched towards his car.

************************************

A few metres away sat Tony at in his pickup, looking at the duo enter their car. He smiled. Everything was going according to plan.

For months, his encounter with the detective never ceased to torment him, especially when he remembered the horrors of his 3-month stay in a 'Correctional Facility'. In his opinion, there was no correction going on there; and everyone there, both inmates and wardens deserved sledgehammers in between the eyes.

Now, he had the chance to exact revenge. And after that, he would take care of Zoe. The number one rule in this sort of game is leaving no loose ends.

************************************

Hey guys! It was quite a day here, but I'm fine and doing what I love to do best: write! I'm still not clear about the rudiments of the penalty, but I've got a lot to rite and I just can't ghost readers here, so let's see how much I can deliver while searching for a better alternative.

What are your opinions so far, and how do you want the story to continue if you were the writer? Leave comments below.

P.S: There's a new Anime Community on Read.Cash, and since I am a big Anime fan (SURPRISE SURPRISE!!!), I'd love to promote it.

Iku ze!!! https://read.cash/c/anime-recommendation-and-review-df89

8
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Yeeessss!!! I suspect Zoe 🙄

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't we all ?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, not me 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is getting more exciting and your ideas are great. I think whatever you do to the story, readers will still love it. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. I try, I guess.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"Hairy situations" it's the first time I hear this expression.

Tony... I don't know about him (the Tony I know can't be trusted I can tell you that). 🍀👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Guys named tony... ;)

$ 0.00
3 years ago