Streets of Africa - Part Two

5 37
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
4 years ago

Hey there. If you're seeing this you probably read part one and decided "Hey, this might actually be a good read!" Thanks for that! I really appreciate all the support I'm getting.

As for this part, it's centered on one huge aspect of my growing up: My family.

Well, the lead picture is one of me and my sister taken quite a while ago after a Sunday Church service. We're a family of six: My Dad, Mom, Gideon (elder bro), Valerie (senior sis), yours truly and Great, my junior brother.

Let's break this down. My Dad is the head of the family, and he loves being in control. Note the word "loves" is in boldface. Yeah that's because I you go just a little contrary to my father's directions, just like we say in Africa "you're in soup."

My mom is a jovial person. Lovable character and loves to make people happy... psych! You were probably thinking she's just a happy Mother Theresa character right? If you get her angry, which I usually did, cause it doesn't take much to do so, she will beat you up. I've got the scars to prove that ;).

My elder brother Gideon is actually really my stepbrother. My Dad never told me how he came about, instead he told me to call him 'uncle.' I actually found out the real story when I was 14. Crazy right? He.... is a story for another day.

My Sister is the hard working goody two shoes who spent most of our childhood ratting my brother and I out. She might have gained some personal satisfaction from watching my mom pull down our shorts and underwear down and beat the hell out of our buttocks with a ladle. Yeah I guess 80% of African women are born with an inner sadist.

And then there's me. I'm the laziest of all the kids, and spent most of my time drawing comics and stuff. I also loved reading novels, especially Sherlock Holmes, which explains my writing ability. I never really had any notes in school because I was too lazy to read, but I somehow managed to stay in the top 5 of my classes throughout junior and middle school. Guess I had the brains, which I guess would explain my big head which was my distinctive physical feature.

And then there's the thorn in my side I call my junior brother. He's always been my greatest rival, always wanting to one up on me. I was brilliant in school, but he was quite smart, streetwise. And very tricky. Till this day he loves annoying me.

Growing up had its ups and downs, especially it's downs, because I really had a hard time fitting in at school. I thought people would love to be around the big headed guy . But the only place I had a lot of friends was in the exam hall. I usually chilled with people who were exactly like me: lonely art enthusiasts with an advanced intelligence.

That's why it was a huge relief when in the First Grade. I was promoted to the 2nd Grade in my second term. I thought I could get a fresh start and leave all my annoying classmates behind. And secondly, I had this huge crush on this girl named Ujunwa. If any of you know her, tell her I said so! Though, I never asked her out because, well, I was more or less a shy guy.

Well, I was all the same wrong. I still managed to maintain good results, but I was never in the clique of the 'big kids'. You know, the popular guys that basically ran the class. I shivered whenever someone of the opposite sex sat on the same seat as I. Yeah, it was that pathetic... Until everything changed one day when a girl sat down on my chair,and the teacher told us all to lay out heads on our desks and sleep!

9
$ 1.28
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.50 from @Koush
$ 0.25 from @Read.Cash
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
4 years ago

Comments

You are welcome. Good story. We need more inspiring articles from you. Keep doing the good job.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thank you very much for your support

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Good work keep it up

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Hey great honest and fruitful post. Love all the family dynamics. And congrats on being a medical student. Shows in your writing.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thanks a lot. I'm trying to keep things as real as possible and I'm glad you guys like it 🚀🚀🚀

$ 0.00
4 years ago