Space Switzerland

0 22
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Movies, Topic, 2020, Stories, Series, ...

Welcome, to Terran Interstellar Bank's regional headquarters of the Sirius Constellation. Trust that our advisors will provide the most discreet and reliable of financial advice, deposits, and security acquisition and safety.

So said the interactive holograph. It was a true color projection of an athletic androgynous individual. With their lean muscle tone, sharp Terran business attire, and flawless inflection in their voice, it did well to appear inviting yet professional. And in the ceiling of the massive space station's front lobby, the Photon Redirecters did a most marvelous work of making the ambient light to the observer's preference. Which for me, took the hues and tones of my homeworld's sapphire-esque skies.

"Requesting immediate live and in-person consultation for Omega-Major Priority service with a Level 5 advisor." my Universal Translator projected.

Confirmed. ETA: Under 60 seconds.

"I always love human punctuality."

"We are most honored to live up to it, valued client."

My beige feathers ruffled as my head turned almost completely aligned with my spine. The man's face remained unflinching as I observed his pale epidermis, golden locks, and dark tsavorite irises. Those gemstones stared back into my obsidian eyes with equal parts professional courtesy and prideful resolve.

Good. Very good!

"Very well. Take me to your office."

*****

Light rained down from the azure star. All at once, turning this station's every hue into blue. Even the light dampening Transparent Nanite Armor could not stop its magnificence from imbuing the station with faint but noticeable azure tones. Personally, I found it charming, for it reminded my avian heart of the nobility of soaring and unpolluted skies.

Much like the legal advisor from Sol and Gaia, the financial advisor's office too indicated at the status of the professional. His 'office' in truth, was actually a separate, smaller station attached to the main complex. The 'lobby' by itself was around 8,500m long and 6,700m wide, with a ceiling height of around 30m, as my computerized and cybernetically enhanced echolocation told me.

With a flash of warm amber, various Mastercraft Grade furniture materialized all around us as we stood near one of the windows facing the star. After confirming that we were the sole occupants, the armor plated door sealed itself shut.

"Honorable client, would you like some furniture?" the advisor asked.

"It is fine."

At that the man dismissed the furniture.

"To what can the Bank assist you with, honorable client?"

I took out my cyber-screen from my quantum bag and handed it over.

THE VESTROAN FEDERATION IS CONVICTED OF VIOLATING MULTIPLE ARRICLES OF THE ZORAX-VENTRON CONVENTION. THE FEDERATION ALLEGES FOUL PLAY AT THE HANDS OF THE AWL-KESTREL KINGDOM AND DEMANDS RETURN OF ALL REPARATIONS. THE FEDERATION OPENLY CONSIDERS RENEWAL OF CONFLICT.

"Ahhh... I see," the advisor replied.

"What is your recommendation?"

After a few moments of pondering, the advisor handed me his own screen.

The Securities and Investment Legal Codex (SILC)

Article 10: All reparations paid by Sovereign States, for any reason, must be transparent and the documents regarding such are mandated to be publicly available.

Article 10 - Amendment 1: In the case of conflict-reparations, the indebted must pay in a form that is immune to defaulting.

Article 10 - Amendment 1-1: Any additional costs, including but not limited to ; inflation, renewal of conflict, delays, etc... must be paid, with interest.

"If I am correct, honorable client, the legal advisors at Sol and Gaia would say that due to irrefutable evidence of Vestroan meddling regarding the context of the violations, the Vestroans do not have any actual authority to demand the return of the reparations."

"Indeed advisor. Do continue."

"Thus outside of an renewal of conflict, they cannot possibly reclaim the reparations."

I tilted my head. "Well yes. However that is a major concern and one of the reasons why am I consulting you. The Vestroan Federal Senate at this moment, is reconsidering open hostilities. The cost to our Kingdom's economy is...projected to be significant."

"And that, honorable client, is where I disagree."

My wings slightly flapped.

"...go on."

"If I am not mistaken, the Federal Navy is annihilated, and their Planetary Defense Forced are in shambles. Their logistical chains are in absolute disarray."

"Officially no. Unofficially yes."

"Let them invade then."

My obsidian eyes stared at the man.

"...?"

"This, honored client, is a Sun-Gold opportunity. You do not even need to take the risk of a false-flag operation, for your enemies already are justifying your cause. Call their bluff. Democracies are bound by public opinion and the Vestroans want blood.

After that, not only can you claim your vengence, but substantially increase the bounty of your reparations. At current circumstances, your Kingdom's navy will smash all opposition with laughable ease and will comfortably occupy all major Vestroan worlds. Meaning you on top of permanently weakening your enemy, can also force them to pay all the costs of the entire conflict. With interest. I am sure your advisors at Sol and Gaia would agree with my analysis."

I nodded my head in approval.

***

Before I left his office, I made sure to tell the Esteemed Advisor of my Kingdom's discernment.

"The Royal Court is most pleased with your services, Esteemed Advisor. Do know that the Terran Interstellar Bank will be trusted to manage a sizable share of the reparations once it has been fully secured. And that your name shall be mentioned in favor of direct handling."

"We are honored by your magnanimous consideration."

"Until then, I was never here."

"Leave at once stranger. Loitering is forbidden and I am afraid you do not have an appointment. Please vacate the premises before I summon security."

I silenced the smile on my face before it manifested.

*****

THE END.

3
$ 5.48
$ 5.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Vika09
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Movies, Topic, 2020, Stories, Series, ...

Comments