Sorcerer's Sacrifice

10 20
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Tale, Short Story, Writing, 2020, ...

[WP] All sorcerers are born with a unique set of abilities that aid them in mid to long-range combat, ranging from a mere 20 meters to an insane 200 meters in effect. Your family, skilled and renowned, snobbish long-range fighters never expected you to be this powerful - with a total 5-meter range.

******

Terra, the land of magic and mystery.

Ruled by the wise King Nindran, it was known for its fertile lands and agriculture. Of hardworking men and beautiful ladies. Nobles and peasant folk all had peace with each other, and the most powerful group amongst the elites were the sorcerers.

Sorcerers could only develop one spell in their lifetimes, and it was up to them to hone and master the range and effect of their abilities before they were 18. Of course, they were born with the genetics that hindered the kinds of spells they could handle, and unfortunately, these genetics were random, meaning that a man whose father could use an ice spell might be gifted with the ability to turn people into oxen.

But then, there was my family. The Arkaytes.

We were known to have the most advanced vision and spell ranges in the whole land, from our first ancestor down to my immediate elder sister, our family has always had the task of manning the guard towers surrounding the walls of the city. With keen telescopic eyes – a select few having magnifying abilities – we could easily pick out threats, intruders, and spies and have them killed,’

My father’s ability was one called the Dragon’s Pharynx. A spell that allowed him to summon the throat and insides of a dragon between 5-second intervals, breathing steady streams, short cannons, or bursts of fire at enemies up to 200 meters away. He had an impressive accuracy record with that.

My mother had something called the Widow’s Whisper. For up to thirty seconds, she could sing a song that could not be heard by people from the city. However, outsiders who were up to 170 meters away could hear it, and once they did, they would die immediately.

My elder sister was one with plant life and vegetation. She had extensive control of vines, trees, and all vegetation, her spells being potent up to an outstanding 260 meters way. During the first Great War five years ago, she fought as a 13-year-old girl, the youngest sorcerer to have perfected her magic at the time. She destroyed one of the deadliest battalions from Pyria, the fire country by reanimating the tress and causing them to bind and crush the men and their horses. The huge forest outside Terra's walls was created with her powerful spells.

And then there was me.

My father always said that he knew I would be different from the first day he saw me. From the moment he carried me in his arms.

I had dark brown hair with a reddish tint unlike the light brown hair of the rest of the family. Soon, it became clear that I was nothing like my family. I had no extraordinary vision, meaning that it was highly probable that I would not be able to use long-distance techniques.

Soon it became clear that my only ability was to crystalize objects, and the objects did not stay in that state when they were more than 5 meters away from my person. My parents were utterly disappointed; that was obvious to me. My father could not stop lamenting on how it would have been so beneficial to be able to use the crystals in long-range combat.

Simply put, he told me his opinion on my 16th birthday in a way that ripped my heart to pieces.

"This family has been one of the most reputable and prestigious families in all of the land. And it's no doubt due to our genetic and hereditary ability. You, my son, are short of the prestige that this family carries."

"But it's not..."

"Your fault? I don't know about that. Maybe you could have been better with those crystals if you put more effort into it."

"H-how can you say that?" I asked, falling up immediately.

"Watch your tone when speaking to your father, young man!" My other said, coming out of the house into the field where I was talking with Dad.

"Or what? I can't believe either of you. I work harder, train harder than anyone in this entire damn city, but you wouldn't know it because your huge ego is weighing your heads backward and preventing you from seeing what's on the ground!"

They looked at me, stunned.

"You have to realize that this family is coming under a lot of scrutinies because of you. We cannot continue to maintain our image as the ultimate protectors with you around. Your ability cannot help anyone other than yourself - and even then it will be a huge hurdle."

"Every day, I wonder why the villagers dislike this family despite all we're doing for them. And now I know it's about your stinking pride. You can keep your damn family name to yourselves. I will find my worth in this godforsaken world."

And then I left just as the Second Great War was declared. A coalition of Atlantis and Pyria had teamed up against Terra. Terra had an unusual endowment of land and resources, and being the nation with the largest military [power, we controlled about 70% of world trade.

We had to be taken out.

I was following the events of the war while in the forest, perfecting a spell I had created. It was going to be...different. Something that had never been seen or thought of before.

Something that would unseat long-range sorcerers from the top.

The battle seemed to be getting fierce, the enemy had gotten around the Widow's Whisper by getting their ears stuffed and communicating with hand signals and other methods. Atlantis had devised combination spells that could battle with the Dragon's Pharynx.

And my sister was sick.

It all came down to a final standstill. We all knew that sooner or later, they would break the gates and swarm the city. And then, it was anyone's battle. We would suffer civilian casualties and been if we won, we'd be open to attacks and subsequent loss.

That was probably the enemy's agenda.

******

"I'm going out there," I said to the guards at the gate.

"What are you, nuts?!"

My father suddenly came down from the watchtower and headed towards me, "what the hell do you think you're doing, trying to be a hero? This is beyond..."

"You never did learn. Just because you can't do anything here doesn't mean I cant too. I'm...not who you thought I was anymore. Goodbye."

"Goodbye?"

Gathering the water particles in the cool air and crystallizing them, I used them as picks to climb my way to the top of the ten0foot high fence. Looking back for a moment, I jumped, right into the thick of the enemy battalion.

I knew I wouldn't feel it. The instant an enemy sword pierced through my abdomen as soon as I got up. I knew I wouldn't feel any of it.

My mind was set on suicide already.

"With my blood on your weapon..." Insaid, looking into my killer's eyes. "...the spell is complete."

"What?"

In the split-second before death, I looked at my father and smiled. "Eternal Crystal Blossom."

Instantly, my blood crystallized, sending out sharp, long shards that burst through my skin and shattered my bones. As they came in contact with the enemy, the same thing happened to their bodies, and the chain went on till the whole coalition became a field of fractals.

Courtesy of https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.pinterest.com%2Fpin%2F379709812330033726%2F&psig=AOvVaw38xfZ-qVTjVazIgoIhT0vU&ust=1606570952143000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CA0QjhxqFwoTCKC9k6ztou0CFQAAAAAdAAAAABAD

******

@Leo_kitti @Hanzell @gertu13 @Gwenie How's this??

 

3
$ 0.16
$ 0.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Tale, Short Story, Writing, 2020, ...

Comments

It's bloody gooood!!!! Oh wow you've been getting in touch with your inner elsa quite a bit with all the ice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just decided to use those pictures for illustration. I guess it's supposed to be red. Thanks >w<

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can imagine at least but the part that he sacrificed himself ;;-;; he couldn't have really died, righy?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A sacrifice issa sacrifice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Das just sad, man ;;-;; u making the ninja work overtime agen

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm.. Among all their abilities, what I like the most is the Widows Whisper. 🤪 This is good Ozzy, it's just sad that he had to sacrifice himself.. 🙁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know right? But I guess the story had to end as a tragedy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is great Ozzy.. It's just sad that he had to sacrifice himself.. 🙁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wait! He died?! Why??!

I don't want to be that type of hero 😒

$ 0.00
3 years ago

XD We all have sacrifices to make

$ 0.00
3 years ago