Skar: Twelve

0 54
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Skar: Eleven

Did I bite, or did I not?

There was no reason why I would let the opportunity slide. The question kept nagging at the back of my mind because I needed to know exactly who had infiltrated Encrochat, and was I the only target, or was it just a general sweep to target some of the most successful assassins in the space.

To me, it felt more like a personal vendetta, but then I couldn't;t be sure. How did the person know enough to follow me? There were only two explanations here:

  1. That the person who brought this job was an assassin assigned with the job of killing me. Someone else, somehow, had reason to want me dead and recruited the services of a fellow assassin to do the job. In that case, the assassin in question had to be very naive to think that this would actually work against me.

  2. That the person after me wasn't using a third party. Perhaps, I had killed someone they knew, and also being into any one of the shady businesses of the underworld, they had decided that I was going to be killed, and they were coming after me themselves.

These two scenarios were the only explanations I could think of that made any sense. In any case, it boiled down to the same thing, I had to play the game one step ahead. Something within me just wanted to have it all behind and allow the whole thing to slide and blow over, but I wasn't dealing with the police or the FBI this time.

Whoever my opponent was, they wr=ere more likely to have far more funding than those two groups I mentioned, which made it more reasonable to expect them to catch me soon enough, especially considering their current means. They were just like me, shadows operating from the underworld, so it was obvious that they'd have more information sources that were updated on what was my work - or what seemed to be done in my style.

A good information network, the money required, and a personal vendetta. All three made a potent recipe for disaster, and things weren't looking good for me, a guy who only had a few guns and knives and just wanted to retire in peace.

That was just a lie, I knew exactly what I was getting into when I started this business. It wasn't like I was particularly pressed for cash - I had a job in a small firm, and I was making about 800 dollars a month, which was just enough to cater for my needs. But I knew that my passion wasn't for the cubicle or the computer screens.

It was for slashing chests and watching the blood ooze out like a cyst. It was for putting bullets in people at close range, or sniping them from far and watch their bodies flinch as the bullets hit before they fell down, to rise no more. It was for the look in a person's eyes when they know that they are about to die, and there was nothing all their money, all their precautions, or all their curses and prayers could do.

I had always had sadistic tendencies from birth, and I had made it that far by just carrying out my urges on insects and small animals. Now I was ready to graduate in the type of targets I had, and I was ready to monetize my skills and my passion.

I didn't have a religion, and I did not believe in Karma, because the good died young, and people hardly ever got what they deserved. I didn't feel it eas luck either, I just felt that people were either strong or weak, strong in terms of power, finances, fates, and all other aspects.

The strong ruled, and the weak suffered at the hands of the strong. My aim then was to make sure to become strong, and then stay ten steps ahead of karma, or whatever they called it. I would live by the sword, and kill the sword I was supposed to die by.

I wanted it all, and I was going to do all it took to have it.

I accepted the job and discussed the specifics. The job was to murder a man who was an informant for the police. The only place they could possibly get him was when he came out of the precinct and then the time was in the three seconds he would walk from the door of the building to the car door.

I knew the area very well, so I knew that it was a nice trap. There was only one building from which I would have a clear shot in those conditions, but there were a lot of locations and rooftops from which that particular vantage position could be targeted.

To make it clear, in accepting this mission, I was agreeing to stay at a well-positioned 'X' from where another sniper could easily take me out from any angle. I looked at the 3d map and laughed hard.

A lot of thought had gone into the plan, and it would have been foolproof if they had not gotten the worst match in form of a target - I was already a step ahead.

I was going all out right from the start.

*****
TO BE CONTINUED.

Thank you for reading, please Like and Comment!

6
$ 6.32
$ 6.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments