Skar: Eighteen

0 44
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Ideas, Diary, Crime, Words, ...

Skar: Seventeen

[SP] every time you kill someone, their fatal wound shows up as a scar on your body.

*****

The Video kept rolling for a while, and the man kept talking, quite smugly this time. It dawned on me that he had trapped Sigma's mic and was now talking to me while looking straight at one of the supposed hidden cameras.

"Of course, you're already here. That's some really fast work, Skar. I'm impressed, but I'm not too surprised, after all, I'm talking about one of the most renowned assassins in the world. I am very much aware of your exploits, so it's no surprise that you've been able to locate this estate. Let me guess, you traced the car, didn't you?"

My pride wouldn't allow me to just sit and watch him talk all that smack. I was hard and I felt I had all the advantages, so there was no need for me to keep calm while being taunted and subtly threatened. "I assume this is revenge for your sister, Nathan? Noble, but very stupid and pathetic. There's a lot of wisdom in choosing your battles wisely, I would have expected you to know that much."

The sudden gasp told me that he didn't know that I knew who he was. It was quite funny to me, after all, he only thought I had traced the car to this location because that was the same thing he did. I was far above the little things like that now, after all. I had exceeded his expectations, so I assumed he felt that the amount of money one had determined what they were going to achieve within a time.

"Oh, don't tell me you thought that because you had more money, you would move faster than I could and then do me in, didn't you? An interesting outlook on the world, but very naive still. You have money, and I have the experience. and that's something all those greenbacks can't overshadow, so take note. None of these washed newbies you're sending my way can take me out, Nathan."

He laughed this time, the sound coming across more like a sneer to me. "That's true, you did get my little present. And boy, did you handle it like a champ? I guess all this talk about the experience is not a joke. You did away with them, without any confrontation or shootouts and so, you didn't draw any attention to yourself. Impressive, very impressive indeed."

I frowned. "But what about you then? Doesn't that mean you are now somewhat in the spotlight? What makes you think those fools won't rat you out? There's no honor amongst thieves, after all."

"True, true. Wisely spoken, but still, that's no worry for me, since they don't know sh!t about me. All they had was a job, and a price tag attached to it. It did cost me 10,000 dollars in upfront payments though, and that's a bummer because I don't like losing money, so I'll probably kill those guys with the first opportunity I get. And here I thought that you'd be afraid and forced to exchange fire with them."

"Then you really don't know anything about me. If I were you right now, I would be watching my back round the clock. You see, I know your home and work addresses, what makes you think I won't drop by any day and give your family and friends another reason to gather?"

His voice became cold. "Those are some big words, Skar. Some very big words and I am getting pissed off, I'm not going to lie. You better have it in you after all this talk, because I'll be killing you personally this time."

"I'll be looking forward to that," I said as the sirens became louder. We weren't going to have much time to talk, so he said what he wanted to say before leaving.'

"You did complete another challenge, so I guess you earned another ten thousand dollars. I'm such a hypocrite, talking about how I hate wasting money and yet giving you the money you won't live to spend. But anyway, have it.

My phone buzzed, the nutjob actually sent me another ten thousand dollars for escaping death at his hands yet again.

"And by the way, your knowledge of where I work and live ave nothing that will be of any profit to you in this little battle. I dare you to show up at my house and kill me, Skar. And if it's a matter of connections and networking, I have even more of those than you ever will, because money does overshadow whatever you think you have. so rest assured that I'll kill you next time. Wait for it."

I'd managed to piss him off in the worst way possible, adding insult to the damn injury of his sister's death at my hands. Bit then again, there were a lot of mental gymnastics involved in this, and since he was coming personally this time, I'd be doing myself a favor by messing up his mentals and causing him to make rash decisions - and mistakes.

Either way, it meant that the game had become full-blown war, and now he had issued a threat and a dare. One I was very much willing to take. I was going to kill him right in his own home, just to spite him.

*****

TO BE CONTINUED.

3
$ 5.05
$ 4.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Ideas, Diary, Crime, Words, ...

Comments