showdown

0 15
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Work, Earn, Tale, Crime, Creative Writing, ...

[WP] "Really?" The Dark Lord asked in disbelief, "This is the best the Chosen One can do? Screw it. If we're doing this, we're going to do this properly. I'll train you." 10 years later, your training is complete, but your time spent with the Dark Lord has given you some conflicting feelings.

*****

“You're unreal!” Cried the tall man with horns in front of me “they sent you… to me! You don’t even know how to hold a sword! I almost pity you… actually no I do pity you. How awful this entire thing must have been for you!” He goes off on a rant as if becomes increasingly obvious he wasn’t happy with my arrival.

“I mean… how old are you even?!?” He paused for my response, “uh well I just turned 18 like a week ago” I mumble out, if this wasn’t so odd I would be running away right about now.

“18!!!” His cries echo throughout the cold, damp dark cave we were in. “ IVE WAITED THOUSANDS OF YEARS FOR A 18-YEAR-OLD? - he pauses once more- no no no this is unfair for me and you, I don’t care if the gods didn’t plan this I’m not fighting you without the proper training”

“Excuse me?” I shutter out “no no no just like put me out of my misery now” I yell, not only has this been a strange week the dark lord himself refused to fight me. He could probably pick me up and break me in half with his fingers.

The dark lord paces across the floor, with smoke, basically pouring out of his ears… nose… and eyes? He stops in his tracks and looks at me like a million lightbulbs just went off.

“I got it!” He exclaims excitedly “who better to train you how to kill me, THAN ME!”

At this point, I felt like my eyes popped out of their sockets “what? You're going to teach me how to kill you, so you can kill me?! You're insane!” I throw my sword at him that was gifted by the gods, well I try to at least, it just sort of fell at my feet.

“You're pathetic but you have potential, give me 10 years and you’ll be in top shape!”

And so it began.

I must admit the first few months were… weird, the dark lord did not sleep, eat or really even blink so he was often confused about why I passed out over exhaustion. The first year went by and I had learned basic survival skills, how to trap, hunt, start fires, build you name it I could do it. Who better to teach me than one of the creators of it all?

What was even weirder is after a year second we actually began to bond, I never had a father growing up, he was teaching me like he would a son. And apparently, his many children hate him for being the bringer of evil so I was his second chance. After the third year, I could use almost every weapon in any arsenal, guns? An absolute breeze. Swords? Even better! I mastered the craft quickly under the guidance of the dark lord.

He didn’t only teach me however, I taught him about the human world, everything he ever missed out on, I showed him the internet, and oh boy for a man who can’t/won’t sleep it did wonders.

The fifth year came around and it became more apparent we grew on each other, most nights ended with war stories while I was eating the freshest hunt, or sometimes I would’ve even go to the store.... don’t tell him I told you this but he loves twinkles!

The years kept passing, too quickly if anything, I won’t lie he became like a dad to me, I mean spending 10 years of your life with someone is a big deal. Completely not my choice but I’m glad the decision was made.

When the 10-year mark was about to hit, we both started to sit in silence, not sure how or what to talk about when one of our impending deaths was coming up. I don’t think I can murder this man, evil reincarnate sure? But he wasn’t a bad person, his morals are less than appropriate and his idealisms are flawed but past that he’s a normal semi-demon devil dude.

Nearing my 28th birthday, we both started to become sadder and sadder, that our time was over soon. I mean if I live through this I’ll be regretting killing him, and if I die I’ll be sentenced to life in purgatory or worse… I was made as the gods last hope and now I’m rethinking everything?!

I mean if I don’t kill him he will cause the world to end! But is that even a bad thing? Children dying every day, abuse, war, homelessness, depression, inequality, racism. But there are innocent people out there, that did nothing but enjoy their lives.

“I know what you're thinking,” he says while Hanging from the roof, his odd red eyes staring intently.

“Yeah one of us is going to die but so what? It’s probably going to be you, and I don’t want it to be but we’ll I also don’t want to die. All of the eternity I thought you weak humans were useless in the grand scheme of things, well I still think most of you are - “ I cough trying to steer him back on track, a trick I learned too late might I add “right yes, but we had fun right? What could be worth more than that, we are going to fight for our way of life, and one of us is going to lose nothing we can do about it, but enjoy the time we have and stop wandering about all the what ifs?”

I sigh “we’ll I must admit it has been a pleasure, working alongside the dark lord and all, but humans have empathy and although you tried, many, many times To rinse it out of me, I have emotions, and many of them. Just gonna be weird dude, I mean sure we spar, but that’s for fun not to possible change the fate of the universe” he shines his sick smile at me and says

“Don’t be such a bother, when this is all over, we will just be glad I decided to give you more time on this lonely path you walk” he jumps down to tower over me, not in an intimidating way but more of a caring one.

“Listen, kid, we both needed some lessons, we taught each other a lot. Win or lose this decade will be one for the history books, the time the deviously handsome dark lord took his mortal sworn enemy under his wing to eventually kill him” he laughs filling the cave “deviously handsome part may be a lie. But you are right. We can do this, I mean you taught me how to start a fire why can’t I kill the one person I’ve been training to kill for years right!?”

He smiles and nods “well you have a week to prepare, to the best man” he extends his hand.

“...to the best man” I grab it, and with a firm but grim handshake it was set in stone. And as quickly as he appeared 10 years ago he left, leaving nothing but an empty depressing cave and the white sword of the gods.

*****

THE END

1
$ 1.09
$ 1.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Work, Earn, Tale, Crime, Creative Writing, ...

Comments