Sacrifices II

31 45
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Sacrifices I (this header is a link)

I was in the waiting area, not being part of her family or a known 'friend'. It was awkward when the young man and a lady, apparently her daughter, rushed into the hospital after being called. Despite being told that I was the one who rushed her there, their accusatory glances were enough to tell me what was going through their minds.

A confrontation was imminent.

"And who are you?" the guy said, leaving the emergency room and turning to face me.

His sister put a hand lightly on his shoulder as though to calm him down, but her face shared the same sentiment; they both had one burning question in their hearts.

"Not the one who did that to your mother. That's who I'm not."

He was fuming. "That wasn't the question I asked."

"Wasn't it? It wasn't the one you asked with your mouth, yes, but the look on your face and that of your sister shows that it was the one you both had in your mind. Again, I'm a helper here, not an enemy."

"Then what were you doing at the house? You're not a friend of ours..."

"Of yours actually. I and your mother are... well, you could call us friends."

"Then how come neither of us has seen you at the house?" the lady asked, folding her shoulders.

"That's because we just met today. After you left for work, she was about walking all the way home, since she did give you what she was supposed to use to pay her bus fare. She almost got hit by a car, and I saved her life so she invited me over for some pie."

The daughter smiled, while the guy loosened up.

"That's my mother alright...sorry about that. She's always so happy, so..."

"She's not."

They both turned to look at me before the guy rushed forward and grabbed me by the collar."What the hell did you say about my mom, punk?"

I slapped his hands off my collar. "I'll suggest you don't use such words against me, and it'll be in your very best interest not to touch me again. The difference between my strength and yours is great, that it is."

"I'm sorry about my brother's..."

"Your mother wore a smile on her face. Good and fine. Does that make her 'happy'? Does that signify happiness? Is happiness a facial expression or a state of being? Even if she was happy - considering her children seem to be doing well in life, she was completely devoid of any joy. Could you be so blind as to not see that?"

He stood, looking at me, his face a mix of emotions.

"She paid for the food this morning didn't she?"

"What do you care?"

"Didn't she?"

"Yes."

"And the bus fare to get to the restaurant, and then your subway ticket to work?"

As expected, he was speechless.

"You know, a kiss on the cheek would have been a nice way to show appreciation back there. Or at least a hug. Or even a thank you. But no, you got what you wanted and you just dashed off. Do you realize that you... maybe even the both of you," I said, casting a glance at his sister, who looked down at the ground, "have bee taking a lot from her without giving anything?"

"And how's that your concern?"

"It really isn't, but this sort of insensitive question makes me really angry. How's it my concern? You aren't bothered that you've been neglecting your mother all this while, but you're bothered because someone is pointing it out to you? Since your father died, she has been neglected all this while, and all she does is to hold on to the memories of him, to remember what it was like to be loved, instead of experiencing it..."

He was quiet again.

"...So the next time you ask me that question again, there'll be two members of this family in that emergency room. Clear?"

"Crystal."

"Good. Now I don't have so much time to spend..."

The doctor burst out. "Mr. Garcia?"

The guy ran forward. "Doctor, how is she?"

"She's fine for the most part, it's mostly just overexertion. She's awake now, and we'll probably discharge her by tomorrow."

In the midst of all the joy, smiling and laughing, I slipped out of the hospital. I couldn't really say my work there was done, but I had a feeling they'd gotten the hint.

******

Two years later, I was sitting in that same bar, eating a croissant when an voice said behind me, "Mind if I join you?"

"Not at all."

It was her. Looking graceful, but with quite a few more wrinkles than when we'd last met. Hey eyes shone like the sun, and this time, her smile was genuine.

"There seems to have been a change."

It wasn't a question, just a statement that was already confirmed by her looks.

"I wanted to leave this up to you, but I had to ask. Are you an angel? Hiw did you fix everything up so fast?"

"An angel? I really doubt it. And I really didn't fix anything - it was your children's will to fix the issues, I just put them in the right direction."

She was still looking at me expectantly.

"But yeah, I have... let's call it a privilege, to see the amount of joy people have. That's all, nothing special about me."

"But you chose to act when you could have ignored, That, in itself, is divine. There are angels around us, Marcos."

I sipped my drink, unsure of what to make of the statement, and not wanting to probe the depths of my mind for a response. Maybe she was right, time will tell.

"I've decided to stick around here for a while, delay some things. There's still some good in this world, at least you've proved that."

She paid for an extra croissant, something I very much needed even though I didn't have the money to pay for it, and left.

It was after a while I remembered that I never told her my name.

******

@Leo_kitti, @Hanzell 😌😌

25
$ 3.37
$ 3.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Your stories has different genres and I'm loving it.

It is really sad for the Parents side when after their child get married and have their own life, they will forget appreciating them. I hope there's a Marcos in real life that can make people get on to the rigjt path.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for commenting, I hope there are other Marcos-es out there too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm so happy for the mother. πŸ₯ΊπŸ₯Ί Why are you doing this to us? πŸ₯ΊπŸ˜‚ I've also seen many situations like this. Mother's being neglected when they became weak and not able to give financial support anymore. How I hope there are more people like Marcos who can bring back children to the right path..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is she psychic or is she an angel too :""" that was such a satisfying conclusion to this story 😭😭😭😭 i still hate that ninja of yours

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ She's an angel. Hopefully, the ninja is on a break now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The ninja and my tearducts need a break, man- but if she's an angel :"" why'd you have to make her sad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It wasn't much about her as it was about Marcos rediscovering his human, caring side. It was all a test.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So in the ned, were they both just angels sent here to help people? ;;-;; was marcos an angel too?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope, Marcos was just gifted. Some people are in the world today, though maybe not with obvious powers like he is, but in one way or the other. She was just there to remind him to help people

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was a nice touch to it >w< made me appreciate the characters more than i should have

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very well.This seems emotions and heart touching story.. Thanks for this story.😊

but... how did she get to know his name?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She's an angel. You're welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Often we have to sacrifice another thing in order to get one thing in life. But we think that what we are getting is more important or what we are sacrificing is more important. Because what is gained by sacrificing is more important. But the pleasure of sacrificing something for one's own is unique.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice writing style .. Know my articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Fantastic article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We make sacrifices everyday in our day to day activities. The question we should ask before we make any sacrifice(s) is " is it really worth it". Sometimes you see lot of individuals making sacrifices that are rather illogical. Like a mother leaving her baby on the road and she says I want to work so that my baby can eat.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes exactly, my article is talking about a different type of sacrifice. In fiction.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A very emotional article tht touched the heart. You have great writing skills dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful article. Touch my heart

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful article. Touch my heart

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you write more like this I'd be crying more often 😭 this is extremely emotional ❀️❀️❀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

❀❀ I know right?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful. Thank you for sharing this history. It's the kind of reading I enjoy, with a nice cup of coffee like I do now. These life injuries that remain in the heart.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad you enjoyed it. Yeah, some of these wounds go real deep, so I'm glad everything went alright for these guys.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Above all, sometimes we need others to tell us how we should love our closest ones.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, maybe we become so familiar with them that we take them for granted.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Or we think that since they are with us we should not always show them appreciation or love. and we take it for granted. That is why we fail so much in our relationships with friends, partner or family. Because we take many things for granted.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly!

$ 0.00
3 years ago