Resurrection

6 21
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Tale, Short Story, Story, Fiction, 2020, ...

[WP] When you died, you expected to get into heaven or hell. Instead, you wake up several days later because a mad scientist used your body as a test subject for their "raise the dead" experiment.

******

Limbo.

The midpoint between life on earth and what I called Oblivion - life in Eternity. I never knew a place like this existed, at least not until now. Now that I was stuck here, looking at the few confused souls who were with me in this vast wasteland. It seemed like we all were in different universes within the same realm, demarcated by an invisible glass film that allowed us to see each other, but glowed when we tried to contact each other.

"Delvin Crowe."

I turned to see a man in a grey suit looking at me with an expressionless face. His full head of silver-colored hair was in contrast with his boyish face, and he looked like an executive member of a company with his ironed clothes and his shiny shoes.

"That's me," I said, looking at him quizically.

"Yes, that is. You were electrocuted to death when lightning from a freak storm hit the tree you were resting under, yes?"

"Well, I really did not know how I died, seeing as I just remembered sitting under a tree for a break and then waking up here, but I'm glad you cleared that all up for me."

He smiled. "You already knew you were dead?"

"I kinda felt that it had to be it. My life wasn't much to write about anyway, so maybe I saw this coming?"

His face betrayed nothing to me. Was he amused, judgemental, disgusted, or pitying me? I had no idea.

"Well, you're not dead, not in the actual sense of the word anyway. You're in limbo...you were anyway. A somewhat loss of your soul."

"Transient? What...does that mean?"

"Sometimes people face situations; fatal happenings that cause them to... well, die. Die in the sense that their heart stops beating, but then their souls have not fully succumbed to the call of eternity. The transaction is pending, so they're stuck in limbo. At least..."

"Transaction pending? What the heck does that mean? What makes such a 'transaction; to process?"

"In some cases the will of the person to live plays an effect, so it becomes a war between your will and the circumstances that say that you have to die, like getting shot in the head or something. Then there's the act of human medical science, which has in the past few decades inched closer and closer to the point where it begins to defy the divine. And sometimes, it's just because you're not ready yet. Because you still have something to do in this world."

"People that go on to eternity don't have anything to do?"

"Well, even if you had something to do, I don't see you doing it when you had your head severed off your neck, eh? Sometimes there's just no body to inhabit to do those things, or the people just give up."

"So why do you think I am here?"

"Well, I really don't know. I came here to tell you that your transaction has been declined. Somehow, someone else wants you back..."

******

I awoke with a start, but my attempts to get up were met with stiff resistance. Looking down at my body, I saw I was strapped to the vertical bed which iI was laid upon. Wires were attached to my body, and there was a mask around my nose and mouth. Intravenous injections with tubes were connected to the veins in my wrist.

"Are you documenting this, Rosalie?" I heard a cracked masculine voice say behind me.

"Yes, sir." A woman came into view, her blonde hair cascading over her face, only letting me a view of her blue eyes, rosy cheeks, and thin lips. "He's...alive."

"Of course he is. This, my dear assistant, is a Eureka moment like no other. The right voltage passing through his body and those special stimulating reactants you formulated did the trick."

She blushed before looking at me, writing with a stylus on the tablet in her hand.

"Young man, do you have any words to say about being the first test subject of this great project. You were dead for three days, but now I have brought you back..."

"What the f"ck is going on?!"

There was a brief silence, then the girl called Rosalie spoke up. "That was not an unexpected reaction."

"You, my friend, are still in shock. And I understand that; I am in shock at having achieved this feat myself. This is nothing short of an act of a god," he said, coming into view.

He was a lot to take in. A shock of dark, swarthy hair. Big transparent goggles that seemed to magnify his eyeballs. One or two teeth missing in his 'toothy' smile, if it could still be called that. A tall but otherwise lanky, malnourished structure.

"I know I might not be eye candy right now..."

"Might?"

"...but I have devoted nothing less than 13 years into the Lazarus Project. And now, you are my biggest justification of my hard work and efforts. You who I do not even know from Adam," he finished, his eyes glazed as he ignored my taunt and reveled in his success.

"That's because I died. Under a tree. Struck by lightning. I would somehow appreciate it my corpse was not unlawfully taken from its resting place and used for an unnatural experiment."

"You do not see what we've done for you," Rosalie said, rubbing my arms and she raised her eyes to give me a sultry look that reminded me that other parts of my body were alive as well. "A new life, a new hope..."

The lusty drawl of her voice was enough to fill me with a feral spirit that only wanted to sate my carnal desires. I struggled against the straps, only coming to my senses when one of them actually snapped open. I looked at my free hand in bewilderment. "What the hell was that? Did you guys also give me..."

"Superpowers? No. I guess the more intense the negative emotions of the person at death, the greater the manifestation of their inner beast. I guess you were just a tad depressed, so you're fully in control of your actions to a high extent."

"Not suitable for our plans, eh?" Rosalie asked, her hands rubbing my taut abdomen.

"Yes. He was just a prototype anyway. Our first human trial. You can have him, but..."

She cooed as she began to unstrap me, smiling as she did so. "We are going to have lots of fun. I always wondered what it could feel like with a beast."

"...on the other hand, we'll be at the prison cemetery tomorrow night. I hear a lot of executions are taking place tomorrow too. Perhaps if we are lucky, we can get some suitable subjects for our undead army."

5
$ 0.18
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Tale, Short Story, Story, Fiction, 2020, ...

Comments

If they had let me decide, I think I'd rather stay in limbo than have to be reborn in a Dr. Frankenstein laboratory.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel the same way 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I saw this prompt too XD didn't think too much of it because i didn't think I could give this a good enough twist

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know right? You can only just create a story out of it, no twists here cause the prompt is pretty plain.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yup, i was hoping for some action with that assistant of his but i guess I'll have to do that myself if i want some action XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂😂 Don't worry I'll do sum'n like that soon

$ 0.00
3 years ago