Realist

2 42
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

[WP] You have the power to make fake things real. Toy guns are dangerous weapons in your hands, and stuffed animals become talkative best friends. Today you visit the statue of liberty for the first time.

*****

I knew they were looking for me, but I could not help being less bothered. No matter how much those CIA Agents from the Area 51 division were hot on my trail, but I kept on moving because I did not care because I knew they would keep their distance. I was a loaded weapon, and I was armed and dangerous.

My name? Oliver East. My offense? A hereditary ability in my father's lineage presented a dominant gene that allowed the firstborn offspring to animate inanimate objects and generally turn toys into the real deal. We had managed to stay under the radar for about ten generations, but then I came into the world at a time where the whole place was crawling with security cameras and there were eyewitnesses everywhere.

Worse still, I had decided to choose the honorable profession of being an assassin for hire, which meant I was bound to enter close shaves with Intelligence agencies every now and then. It was at the inauguration ceremony of the new mayor of the state, and I was given the contract to assassinate the man.

There was no way I was going to be able to get close enough to kill the man, but there were supposed to be ceremonial uniformed men with wooden guns present. I visited one of the men, Francis Ford, the previous night, and within thirty minutes, he was submerged in his bathtub, dead. I then got a mannequin, painted the face, and animated it.

The living doll, now capable of speech, became an extension of my person. At my will, any object in its hands would also become real. Sitting in the crowd, I watched as the Mayor came on. As the National Anthem was being sung, I snapped my fingers and watched as the Mannequin raised the gun to everyone's surprise, and before anyone could react, he pulled the trigger twice and blew out the new Mayor's chest cavity.

As the whole scene turned into one of pandemonium, I stood up and waved my hands. The living mannequin whom all the other uniformed men had swarn=med turned back to an inanimate doll, and the rifle turned to wood. Smiling to myself, I joined the crowd and waltzed out into the sunlight.

The news media outlets would not rest as a lot of conspiracy theories flew around suggesting a coverup from the armed - or unarmed - guards. How was it possible to believe that a mannequin just came to life and fired a wooden gun at the Mayor, killing him instantly. While I enjoyed the comments and all the chaos that erupted, I didn't know that trouble was brewing.

You see, the CIA had studied the footage recorded by the cameras in the room, and noticed that the moment the mannequin lost its animation coincided with the time my hand waved. The lonely reason why they even investigated this coincidence was that they were sure that the events of that day were nothing but normal. All the rumors about Area 51 were real - there was actually a division there devoted to researching and documenting supernatural events.

I knew when I noticed a car following me everywhere I went. I was a master at visual art and electronics, so I had gotten some toy birds, fitted them with hidden cameras in their eyes, and animated them. As a result, I had a permanent surveillance unit made up of over ten birds relaying the information they were recording into my trusted teddy bear, Mr. Tibbins, who was in my bag everywhere I went.

He communicated what the birds were saying to me, and that was how I knew that the CIA had found me out. It didn't take a lot to piece together how they carried out their investigation; I was dealing with the CIA after all. They would surely use all the resources at their disposal to trace me - and there were a lot of resources at their disposal.

Instead, I was feeling very cheeky, and one day I walked up to the car and knocked on the glass. I couldn't;t see through the tinted glass, but it didn't take the wildest imagination to picture their shocked faces, and I was correct when theyrolled down the glasses,

"Excuse me? What can we do for you?" The man said with a slight Southern accent.

"I could ask the same, since I'm the one being followed, but then there's no need for that, is there? We both know whatyou want, and I know you know what I can do, I said, placing a toy soldier in his lap. The other officer pointed a gun at me, but i dropped another toy soldier and told him to calm down.

"I guess you know the drill already," I said, snapping my fingers. The toys came to life and aimed at the mens' foreheads. "It will be a shame if your brains get spilled over the car seats because your partner here couldn't;t exercise a little sef control, wouldn't it?" I laughed.

The men stayed still, and I could hear their hearts beating.

"I have eyes and ears basically everywhere, and I have the ability to match. You guys can watch me all you want, but you cannot come close," I said, walking off.

Now my secret was in the open, I began to fantasize about a crazy dream I always wanted to see come to life.

The Statue of Liberty.

5
$ 9.87
$ 9.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
$ 0.02 from @Xzeon
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This seems better than the last... The main character wins.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂 Thanks a lot for the upvote

$ 0.00
2 years ago