Nostalgia: School Bells 3

7 22
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Timer set for 10 minutes... aannnd GO!

The previous articles in these series must have emphasized the fact that surviving in my high school required a huge amount of working brain cells.

If you didn't get that, then get it now: To survive in an African Boarding School, you need a working brain!

I finally found out what the hawker was selling, or what he wasn't selling, that is. He goes around buying faulty or broken appliances from people. Well, that's not my business

This post is dedicated to some of the craziest things I was forced to do to survive in school.

  1. I had to iron wet clothes. Yup, sometimes my school uniform for the next day was wet (curse the rain that never gave any warnings) and I had to iron it while wet (Artificial Sun) and hang it under a ceiling fan (artificial breeze). I definitely couldn't wear wet clothes to school, that's reputation suicide.

  2. I had to leap windows and crawl under gutters. Sometimes I was locked in the hostel on one of the few days where the food at the cafeteria was great. You didn't expect me to miss a good meal, did you? I was so lean (poor feeding) that I could squeeze through bent window bars, or crawl through gutters (they had to be dry though, like I said, avoid reputation suicide.)

  3. I once stayed up all night copying a full term's (semester's) note. It was a physics note, fill of diagrams. The bags under my eyes were so big, you could put books in them. But like I've said, it was either that or cane, and that's a no-brainer. Getting flogged meant you had to avoid crying, shaking, blinking or even breathing. Avoid anything that would make it look like you were feeling pain in front of girls, that's (I know, reputation suicide)

  4. I once wrote a love letter to a girl, and then denied doing it when I found out she wasn't into me. Even though she 60% doubted me, that was a close call from reputation suicide. I told her someone else liked her, but asked me to write it because I had a nice cursive handwriting. I paid the guy to cooperate with this story.

Wow, my timer's gone off again. Well, I hope these four have made you laugh, because now that I think about it, it is funny what I did while in High School. The door out of Memory Lane is open, and I'll see you when next I hear those bells.

Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ can relate to these so much. I think it's every student's struggle somehow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honestly though πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hush, I've worn wet uniforms, squeezed in through the cafeteria for food, pulled all nighters for notes and got dumped by the guy i liked but that's schooling, i guess?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£ Am also guilty of these things o

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This article made me laugh. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I think many students can relate to this. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you sure it was a boarding school and not a camp for adolescent inmates? I do not envy you but I couldn't help laughing. πŸ’•πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have nothing to envyπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

It was more like Auswitchz and Military school had a child πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago