Kingmaker

1 16
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

[WP] The rules of the land are very clear. Anyone can challenge the king for his crown, in any way they want (test of intelligence, strength, etc.), but the king gets to declare one condition that must be followed throughout the entirety of the challenge.

*****

"And live at the scene now is Amanda Wallace. Amanda-"

"Yes Jim, I'm live in the state capital where it seems someone has actually challenged the king for his crown! As you know king is the chosen title of the ceo of Dyrell corporation. They have been the unquestioned rulers of the state since it went bankrupt back in '46"

"wait-they are speaking. It's starting!"

The crowd of cameras red lights intensifies as the challenger stands at the podium to speak. This will be broadcasted to every screen in the state. The first challenge In fifty years.

The man walks up to the podium pensively. His legs seemingly only willed by his fear of what backing out would be mean.

"I've waited my turn for what feels like my whole life. I get up at an ungodly hour. I turn in my scans every morning. I eat their Dyrell sponsored food. I go to my job as the littlest cog in the machine that could. I take a piece of my soul every day and give it to the Dyrell Corp. Just like you. Just like your father's and mother's before you. Dyrell takes everything. And when I win I'll give the pieces back. "

The comments online go wild in every forum. People are jaded but something about this speech connects with the common person.

"The Dyrell Corp gives us one day off every two years and I've saved mine just for this occasion. I'll become the king! Well ceo. But effectively I'll be king of the Dyrell Corp and I'll be able to make real change. Together we take. back. every. piece!"

Even on the dark web takebackeverypiece is trending. People rally around it because like in any state ruled by a Corp. People have lost so many pieces of themselves. You can only bend people so long before they break.

"I challenge CEO Dwayne Jax to a simple game of chess."

In what seems like an instant a virtual head appears over the crowd of cameras. It takes a blink of the eye to form but it's no mistaking it. It's king Jax! "I accept. One hour." and Just like that the challenge has been accepted.

"Jim, our would be challenger has seemingly gotten their wish. Back to you with the weather-

An hour later two men can be seen in a room that can only be appreciated by those in the know. The average man would be lost in a roommate such as this. Even a rich man would be intimidated by this room. It's a room only for the chosen few.

The first man sits in a very practiced way. A way he was taught since birth. The man directly across from him sits in whatever way he feels. Both obviously aware of the stakes here. Between them. A chess board with Crystal and onyx pieces.

"Do you really think you can make a difference? Would you bet your life on it? The practiced man says while setting up board.

"I think I'll give the people a better shot than you Jax. You have no idea what it's like" Says the man who speaks how he feels.

"We're about to enter combat, you can call me Dwayne"

"Yeah Jax that's your types issue, you always think we're at combat. It's not about combat its about making sure we don't repeat mistakes. But call me Deckard if you need a name."

Okay Deckard, since you want to be obstinate let me state my condition, as is tradition. The loser of our contest shall die. Are these terms acceptable?

The words yes have never been said faster.

" if I die it doesn't matter. I'm already dead, said Deckard.

A countdown from 30 seconds appears on the screen of everyone on the web watching. It's the last chance to back out.

10,9,8,7-

I just want you to know, that I did my best. But the board- Jax was cut off by Red lights that flash. They signal the beginning of the match.

Deckard, tired of the platitudes and the waiting makes his first move. He moves his pawn in the middle toward the middle of the board two spaces. He punches his clock and waits for Dwayne Jax to make his first move.

"Tears fight their way across Jax cheeks. He reaches out toward his pawn but a millimeter before he touches it, he moves to the king. He knocks his king over and looks at Deckard, "I sincerely hope you do a better job than me, don't trust the board."

He takes out a hidden gun and shoots himself in the head.

In compete shock, Deckard screams and falls out of the chair. Online brocasts halt right after.

Deckard turns around and sees 5 people in matching outfits, clap and smile sincerely.

"Long live the new king." The board says in unison.

*****

THE END.

So.many one shots have made me forget what it feels like to make a series. Maybe I'll make one soon just to make sure I still got it, but then serial stories require remembering names, places and scenes - too much for my overstressed brain at times.

So then again, maybe not. Please ignore my poor editing on this piece!

4
$ 5.30
$ 5.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Long live the King!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago