Jane Doe 1

11 30
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

She wouldn't have been back here if she didn't need to.

That was what she kept telling herself, but in the end, she knew she could never really escape the Ghetto because she was born there. You'd always have a link, a nagging need to go back there for one thing or another,

From the streets, she'd belonged, and to them, she had to return this once, however bad it looked.

Back to see the one man she loathed.

The door opened, and a pair of dark eyes was all she could make out. Then her eyes adjusted, and she noticed the look of recognition on the face. But the eyes remained the same: dilated dark pupils, red sclera, and intense eyebags.

He was high.

Crap!

"Jerry.." she said, letting herself in.

"Don't ya mean dad, kid?" he said in a high-pitched voice.

"No," she said, looking at the curse she had for a father, "I mean Jerry. I'm here on business, not on a family reunion."

"Then-uhh, when wouldya have a family reunion, Oprah?" he asked, placing a filthy, stained hand with claw-like nails on my shoulder. I flicked them off instantly.

"Never, I'm only here because I need your help,"

"What the fxxk? Do you think I'm just some toilet you can use whenever you feel like it? I ain't..."

"Don't forget whose efforts ensure you're not in that stinky rehab on 44th street. Don't forget whose efforts make sure you can get your high without being arrested. If you so much as to breathe when I've not asked you to, I will have your life fold up like a piece of paper. Clear?"

"Crystal," he mumbled, offering me a seat in the tiny sitting room as he occupied the couch.

"Glad we could reach an understanding, Jerry," she said, still standing. She hadn't come here to sit down around and have a cup of tea. For all she knew, the water could be spiked and there were probably up to 20 used syringes inside the other armchair.

Standing was fine.

"I'm here because of her," she said, tossing a picture towards him as she gauged his reaction. His face seemed to darken for just a little moment before it went back to normal. He was fast, but she was faster at noticing things.

"She ain't from around here," he said, looking at the ceiling.

"I never said she was, Jerry," she said, looking at him piercingly.

"Wait, what? Now I'm a suspect?" he said, sitting up but staring at her neck.

"You've always been. She's a Jane Doe, and we found her in an alleyway with 2KG of Cocaine in her stomach. The kind of crap that we see on this side," She said offhandedly.

"Jane here can't remember who she is - we're not sure why or how, but we know this stuff originated from this area, Jerry,"

"So what do you want me to do?"

"Stop doing drugs. Take a shower. Use deodorant. Use a toothbrush. Go to church for once..."]

"I get it, I get it..."

"More importantly," she said, fixing her eyes on his and watching his dance around in their sockets, "I want the truth."

"Well, I'm not the man you're looking for..."

"Who is?" she said, getting ready to leave. He was going to be useless this time around.

"I don't know," he shrugged.

"You better," she said, stepping out of the room.

He heaved a sigh of relief and looked out the window when he heard the revving of her car engine. As soon as she moved, he grabbed his phone and dialed a number. The call was answered on the first ring.

"Sup Jer..." the person on the other side began.

"Can you tell me why the xxxx the Police has Amanda?"

12
$ 0.93
$ 0.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

nice article bro......

$ 0.00
3 years ago

+

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We'll see what Jane comes up with. The facts are clear. Dad knows all about it, he better takes a shower first and it's good his phone is tapped and can easily be traced.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The phones are always tapped 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Was she dead to be declared a jane doe? Oof you're using the dead names now too 😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No. I think it's a name they give to people whose identities are yet to be figured out, whether they're dead or alive.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It applies to the living too? I've only ever seen these names pop up from victims that are dead. Ever heard of the Japanese way of labeling dead victims of unknown identities?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, in law enforcement, it is used to name corpses whose identity hasn't been discovered, but it also applies to people who are alive but their identity is not known or it is being concealed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is new information to me. I saw that it's also a means of degrading someone without having to mention names? Thus the basis for my john doe character

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh I see.

$ 0.00
3 years ago