III: True or Faux

0 30
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Series, Writting, Death, Story, Fiction, ...

[WP] One morning, you woke up with the ability to see true and false when written down. If it glows a golden color then it is true, but if it glows a dark color, then it is false. Out of curiosity, you go to the library and walk into the History section, and to your horror, all you see is darkness.

*****

As I followed the man, I couldn’t repress the tens of thoughts flying through my head all at once. Was my life in danger right now, and was there really anything I could do to help myself? That all depended on who the hell was after me, if anyone was after me at all. As I mulled over the situation, I decided that there were questions to be answered, and this mysterious lady was going to have to do a lot of explaining before I followed her anywhere.

I grabbed her wrist and she immediately turned, twisting her arm free in one fluid motion, I wasn’t using a vice-like grip in actuality, but her movement was so clean, I began to doubt if I had ever even held her.

“It seems I’ve not laid down the rules for our little group, and I’ll do that later, but make do with this for now: don’t la your hands on me. Ever.”

“Yeah, first off, who the hell are you?”

She ignored my question and walked straight to an old Toyota Camry, opening the car and getting in before honking once for me. All my obstinacy and my questions seemed to vanish into thin air as I hurried into the passenger seat and closed the door before properly wearing my seatbelt.

As we were leaving, a Black Bentley drove past us and parked in front of the library. Looking back at it in the rearview mirror, I mused. “Sweet Ride.”

She gave me a sideways glance and smirked. “You think so? Because that would have been your ride out of here within the next few minutes.”

“Huh?” I mumbled incoherently, confused. Things were happening at the speed of light, and I was struggling to keep up.

“Of course you might probably have been drugged, shot, or overpowered, but same difference. I’m guessing that’s Meek and Mill because yours is a delicate case and they were already in the area. You’re one lucky guy, you do know that r-“

“I’m sorry, WHAT?! I” I asked, my brain finally registering what she had been yapping all this while. “Meek? Mill? Is this supposed to be a joke? And you said something about getting shot or drugged! Let’s start from here: stop the damn car, tell me your name, who the hell you are, and what the f**k is going on!” I said, slamming the dashboard.

Even though her countenance changed and her face grew dark, she didn’t stop the car or even spare me a glance. “Don’t slam the dashboard again. Not only is this vehicle rented, but my patience is also short. Don’t make me resort to knocking you out. Secondly, a name is completely useless in this setting. There are millions of fake names I could give you, and even if I gave you my real one, it would mean nothing, because there is no chance we would ever be seeing each other again, except if you become a target.”

Even without the air conditioning being active, there was a sudden chill in the car, and I could feel it in my bones that this lady meant what she said.

Her smile came back. “Good to see you on your best behavior. Now, I’m sure you realized by this morning that you woke up with a strange ability. Being able to verify the credibility of any text you see, Don’t ask how we know, our satellite radar picks up unusually high amounts of Br-Waves- waves released when the brain is at peak activity. So we were able to monitor you through your phone and various security cameras, and thus piece together what your ability is. The problem is that the Foundation did the same thing.”

“Who’s ‘we’? What’s the foundation?”

“We are Justice. That’s what we decided to call ourselves, and our sole aim is to counter the actions of The SCP Foundation, an international syndicate that is devoted to abducting all people with supernatural abilities like you. We don’t know what they do with the people they abduct, but it’s for selfish personal reasons. They don’t feel that such ‘anomalies’, as people like you and I are called, should be allowed to live freely amongst others.”

“You’re like me?”

“Yes. If we’re unlucky enough to get into a corner, then you’ll get to see my ability. If not, then all we have to do is to rendezvous at one of our secure apartments in the city before we make our way out of the city. Until then, put this on,” she said, handing me a wristband,

As I put it on, I felt a small surge of electricity through my body and nothing more.

“You’ll find yourself unable to use your new ability for a while, but it's fine. It will prevent those waves from being detectable, so we can move. I wear one too, but I’ve become so powerful and used to the powers that I can use them and still remain under the radar. Your ability doesn’t look too demanding, so I hope you can too within a couple of hours.”

I nodded. I still had a lot of questions, but the most pressing ones had been answered, so I could afford to rest. I suddenly felt so tired, like keeping my eyes open was a herculean task.

Ass I turned and saw the woman grinning broadly at me in a creepy way, all I felt was panic.

4
$ 5.95
$ 5.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
+ 1
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Series, Writting, Death, Story, Fiction, ...

Comments