II: True or Faux

0 24
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

[WP] One morning, you woke up with the ability to see true and false when written down. If it glows a golden color then it is true, but if it glows a dark color, then it is false. Out of curiosity, you go to the library and walk into the History section, and to your horror, all you see is darkness.

*****

[Unknown Narrator's Point of View]

Far away, in a rundown apartment, two SCP Foundation agents sat down at a rotting wooden table, receiving a debriefing from HQ. They almost always seemed to be more than one bargained for by joining the Foundation - the missions on the field -but it was far more interesting than fiddling with computers and handling paperwork, or cleaning up, so Meek and Mill were more than happy to do this.

"We just detected an anomaly on Fremont Street, and it is currently mobile as we speak. We believe it to be a male, according to the security footage, and he should live in the Westwood Apartment."

Meek nodded, being the muscle of the duo. Dark, 6'4 tall, and the better shot of the two, he was the one that was going to be more proactive when it came to bringing the target in, and that was why Mill kept him by the side.

Mill, on the other hand, was quite slim, and just barely 5'10. He could handle a gun, but he was bad when it came to moving targets. He just had the brains of the team and was necessary for the team because the Foundation loved to stay underground. He was going to make sure they cornered their target properly before moving in, just to make sure it was less of a fight and more of a grab 'n' go.

"What's the nature of this anomaly anyway? What's his story?" Mill asked as Meek printed the pictures of the man obtained from the footage recorded by HD Cameras.

There was a brief silence and the sound of static for a few seconds. Normally, it went against protocols and even the code of conduct to ask for such intricate details of a mission. They were only supposed to do as they had been asked. However, Meek and Mill were so indispensable that some of these shortcomings were tolerated.

"Apparently, it's an X125. He can somehow verify the credibility of anything that is written. As we speak, he has found his way into the History Section of the library on 117th and he's going through many of the books there - and he has identified the lies therein."

"How convenient," Meek laughed. "He's one hell of a guy though. Most people get up to stupid things when they suddenly get these abilities, but he got right down to business. Too bad you guys want to get him already. So what are you going to do with him anyway."

"Agent Mill."

The voice was cold as it was severe. It was a warning that they were now overstepping their boundaries, and there was going to be hell to pay if they continued down this road.

"Alright, alright. I just wanted to know how much information we could get out of you guys, We'll be in it now, cause I don't want to miss the fresh scones at Starbucks by 12 today."

"You eat so many desserts it's a miracle you're not on that TLSee show, 'Their 500 Ib lives' or what was it?"

Meek laughed as they left the apartment.

*****

I settled down in the library, continuing to read as many books as I could because at this point some of the initial shocks had worn off and I was just very curious as to how much of 'common knowledge' was a lie. I began to see the endless possibilities that power like this meant. If I could get access to classified government documents...

It was just so much to process at once, I'd lost Sharon due to this power, but I'd gained something far more important. What if I could get access to those documents anyway? How much would I be able to dig up? Who could I sell that information to, and how much could I make for it?

I was snapped out of my reverie by a hand with a set of well-manicured nails that landed on the open book. I turned back to first see a nice pair of boobs, which my eyes focused on for a while before I looked up to see an exotic face staring at me intensely.

"Jermaine Daniels?"

I was first captivated by the way her sensuous lips moved when she said my name before it registered that a lady I had never met in my life just called me by my name. She seemed to have South American blood in her, judging h=by her looks, and she was probably my age, or she had drank an elixir of life.

"I'm sorry, but you just called my name. Do I know you?"

"Nope, but somehow, you'll be thankful to me if you leave this place with me in the ext-" she looked at her watch. "Let's say 2 minutes."

"leave here in 2 minutes? Why?" I asked. "Am I stupid or begging to get kidnapped or something? You can't just expect me to leave here with you; how reasonable is that anyway?"

"If I'm correct, none of the events of this morning have been particularly reasonable, and it's about to get worse if you don't follow me now," She said, walking out already.

I debated within myself for a few seconds, then walked out. Could she be referring to my ability? And what did she mean by 'saving my life?

It seemed my days of boredom were over.

*****

TO BE CONTINUED.

Thanks for Reading!

4
$ 3.88
$ 3.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
+ 1
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments