How I React When People Yell At Me

30 40
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

One of the most difficult people to work or relate with is irritable people - take it from someone who knows. My mother and elder sister were very irritable, and that behavior was at odds with my calm, easygoing nature. While they were so easy to annoy and were so annoying to talk to, I was just this guy that wanted to live out every day of my life like a carefree cloud in the sky.

I, however, got the trait from them. Or I don't think it was that; I think the fault is that I mirror the vibe everyone gives me. If you're cool and easygoing with me, I'll reciprocate and we'll move smoothly. If you yell at me incessantly, I'll get equally fired up and yell back. It's just how life is.

Usually, my mother and father would get riled up about h0w I was disres[pectful and how I raise my voice at my elders. I usually replied with the statement that it was a shame couples didn't have parenting classes where they actually learned how to be parents before proceeding to have children. If they did, they wouldn't ruin childhood for many kids and the parent-child relationship would be a lot better. Because I didn't understand how a parent who hardly used low, calm tones on their children expected children to automatically develop the 'respect' to use such tones.

Classic 'do as I say' instead of 'do as I do' parenting,. which has long since been proved to be ineffective.

But then again, I detested getting riled up and watching the whole thing deteriorate over a couple of days. If I feel like I deserved an apology, I'm usually headstrong, so I refuse to apologize first. I'd rather watch the whole thing burn to ashes that to concede and give the opposite party an undeserved feeling of being right.

Childish as it was, I guess we ll have that Achilles' Heel.

Finally, I got to understand that yelling back was not only counterproductive, it also stressed me a lot. I don't like stress. especially when it isn't for any gain on my part. I decided to take two much better approaches that would easily solve the problem.

RESPOND IN CALM TONES

The best way to make that person realize the folly of responding in such loud, annoying tones, is to reply calmly. This works best when the person is your boss, teacher, or someone you're not related to. People in authority especially.

The noticeably calm tones offset the person's detestable anger and makes him/her realize that the one-sided yelling is embarrassing, especially when it's in public. Also, this method does require a lot of patience, since some people are too dense to take the hint.

SILENT TREATMENT

Above anything else, the silent treatment works best, especially when the offender s someone you know personally or share a close relationship with. By choosing to ignore, or more politely, calmly look at the person throughout the shout session, you avoid any unnecessary argument and make the person know that you're not down for an altercation.

The Silent Treatment works really well because soon after, you can approach that person, inform them of your disposition towards their shouting, and then calmly trash things out with them. Problems are never solved when there is way too much negative energy surrounding the parties involved.

In extreme cases when none of these works, I impolitely ignore. Not because I'm trying to be disrespectful, but because I'm choosing to place my mental health, sanity, and happiness above any other person or topic.

Even in being selfless, try to look out for yourself. You've only got one life to live.

12
$ 2.67
$ 2.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
$ 0.03 from @Eybyoung
+ 1
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I also used to mirror the way people speak to me. Haha. I don't tolerate people being disrespectful, older than me or not. But now, I realized that my peace is more important than proving my point. Sign of aging? I guess ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's really about maturity, not aging. Finally realizing that such people are not worth your time or words. They can rant all they want, and if they feel like it, they can rant some more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. You're right. And it is really funny seeing them wasting their energy ranting while we just keep chillin' ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Honestly though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I mostly do the silent treatment because i also hate being yelled at. Unfortunately my father and hos side of the fam can't talk in a calm manner so i rarely associate with them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honestly. That's where I am rn, except both my parents love to yell, They'd have done better as boxing commentators.

Let'sss get ready toooo rumbleeeeee

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ i feel that omg, it's as if they're alwayd on edge- why can't people learn indoor voices and wrestling natch voices

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honestly. Why do they like the noise?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not that they like noise but they probably hate the silence. People hate being left to their thoughts so they try to be as loud as they can

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But I love being left to my thoughts ๐Ÿ˜Ž

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ dang anxiety makes me wanna kill myself

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜‚ Sorry about that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I take the silent treatment. I hate being yelled at. Just hate it so much ๐Ÿ˜ฃ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's honestly very frustrating

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I used to take out my anger on people who yell at me and sometimes I even scare myself with how angry I can become. Lol. Now my close ones know that I don't like being yelled at.

My dad doesn't yell at me, who are you to yell๐Ÿ˜’

$ 0.00
3 years ago

TBVH they don't learn until you react. It makes no sense to yell at people since they only do a worse job when yelled at.

Everybody should just be careful abeg, so we can all live in peace. Because I don't sha like stress, but I won't run away from a competition of who can give problem ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ let us just be calming down

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No joy at all ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

even in kids, I similarly do the shouting before but then I realize it's good to become calm even in the verge of being on fire, they listen more and prevents headaches and sore throats. Taking deep breaths a lot will help it better yet just leave if you are still mad and come back later when you are cool.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Advising kids calmly on what to do always works better than shouting. It doesn't work, and you end up just stressing yourself.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thats right... My head began to pump intensely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great text and I admit that I found myself in all this a lot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then you should change to a much calmer attitude. Thanks!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree that we must heal ourselves in health and avoid conflict situations. They take away our peace and prevent us from being happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have similarities in how to responds in every situation, after all the things I've been through I m more eager to take care of my mental health than to entertain stress ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks fr the upvote.

I just came to see that it wasn't worth it - the shouting and all. The people who shout do it for a living - it comes naturally to them. Infact., they are stressed when they DO NOT HAVE TO shout.

But I'm just a happy cloud in the sky XD I don't like stress or problems so I'll just look away.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, it's not worth it to shout every time.

Let's just be a happy cloud then ๐Ÿ˜† Same here, I am so fed up with stress it doesn't affect me anymore I am immune ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ That's the only way really

$ 0.00
3 years ago