Fanart: Hidan and Kakuzu

7 63
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

So after my Itachi and Kisame fanart yesterday, I decided to finish up one sketch I'd left for a lot of weeks. This is the sketch here.

This is a sketch of two characters from the Naruto Anime: Hidan, and Kakuzu. I guess it's great to very briefly describe the two. Let's start with the fact that they're both bad guys - they belong to the terrorist organization Akatsuki.

The real Hidan and Kakuzu

HIDAN: The guy on light pink hair with his mouth open. He is very disrespectful, loud-mouthed, and has a careless attitude towards life. He is also very religious - He belongs to the Jashin religion which has one of its core beliefs as the mindless slaughter of others.

He's immortal (even when he was beheaded, he was still alive - he had to be buried alive and left to die from malnutrition), and uses a technique where he links his body to his opponents by ingesting their blood and draws a strange symbol on the ground.

He then develops a strange appearance akin to that of a voodoo spirit. In this, any damage inflicted upon him is inflicted upon whoever's blood was ingested.

Kakuzu: Kakuzu is the guy on the mask. He has a dangerously short temper (he has killed all of his previous partners: luckily he can't kill Hidan because he's immortal). He is also very greedy, taking up bounties to kill people for money and having respect or reverence for nothing else but money.

He has a cruel method of fighting, and he is almost immortal as well, technically having five lives. He steals heart from strong foes he's faced and seals them into his body via a strange sewing technique, allowing him to add an extra life to his. As such, he's been alive for decades and is able to use strong powers.

He's also able to detach and attach sections of his body using a sewing technique he stole from his village - thus he was able to reattach Hidan's head the first time he was beheaded.

I guess that wasn't too brief, but let's get right to the art.

Sketching

I got down some of the most prominent features - and some other features I'd either not be needing or would later change - on the app. This time I used Medibang Paint which was recommended to me by a friend.

I went to work, making a rough sketch of what I needed. When that was done, I became unmotivated and left the sketch to ripen for almost two weeks. 😅

Lineart

When I decided I was ready to do this (that was a few hours ago, I went about the work of painstakingly lining the work. This was done with the writing tool given to me. Here, I really missed Autodesk with all its special brushes and tools; I was limited to the writing tool, having to adjust its size as the need arises.

When I was done, I breathed a sigh of relief, even though I knew it wasn't over. I decided to make sure I had thick, concise lines so it wouldn't be difficult coloring.

Coloring

Most of the color was done with the fill tool, and I had a field day experimenting with my colors and what would be best for the work. I already had an idea of what they would look like, but the issue was finding the right shades to use.

So I started with their clothes, which were navy blue, and progressed to their faces and headbands and faces. The last thing I did was Kakuzu's headband though since it was really difficult considering I didn't have the variety of brushes I had on Autodesk.

When I was done, I was really impressed with my color schemes, so I just finished off a few edits with the coloring, and I went on to shade the faces.

How did I shade the faces?

I used the color picker to select the colors of their skins, and then I went for a slightly darker shade. I increased the size of the drawing tool, zoomed in, and finished up the work.

Just as I was about to work on the background, I realized I hadn't colored Hidan's triple-bladed scythe or his headband on his neck. I really am an exceptional artist 🤦‍♂️😅.

Background

When I was thinking about the background, I decided to go for an abstract but very showy color. And green felt too disgusting, so I chose purple.

I really hate green.

Then when I saw that purple was just too bland, I decided to add the tonal graduation of flames and voila!!!

I'm sorry it wasn't so detailed as my previous articles, but I guess you'll be seeing some more of my works soon, so enjoy this for now!

P.S: I just realized I didn't color Hidan's necklace! How Ozzyy-like.

For more of my art, you can go see

The Japanese Samurai

Itachi and Kisame Sketch

Take this meme as a fun parting gift

6
$ 0.44
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

You should've join my art contest, i can see that you are good in art. Unfortunately, it's closed already and voting will start tomorrow.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I guess! Well, I'll just continue posting my art!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh you went digital this time too >w<

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes! How'd you like it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The dark background could have been a bit lighter so that it highlights the clothes enough but i do think you're going to improve a lot once you fully get the hang of it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks! I'm grateful for your honest criticism, and yes, even though I've forgotten almost everything from my art classes, I do know that the purple is stealing a bit of attention from the work. Well, I guess it's on to the next work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nahh that only applies to if you nake the subject wear dark clothes like there. If the subject was wearing lighter clothes though, it would be nice. Try to remember about contrast on colors and complementary colors since you do mostly colored pieces

$ 0.00
3 years ago