Eldritch Fostercare

0 20
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

“Why do I have to go live amongst the humans? They are dirty and weird. Can’t I just keep studying under you? Maybe If I study hard enough, I’ll be able to meet you?” Amber tried to stay optimistic, despite the Eldritch being making it very clear that the two would never get to meet.

“Amber, dear. We both know you can’t ever meet me. An-“

“An eldritch being is too much for a human to comprehend. Just the sight of you would cause me mass delusions, which would send me into a void of despair that would leave me a husk of a person who can’t even move until they rot from the inside. Yes, I recall lesson two hundred and four. But with enough practice, I’m positive I can avoid that. How do you even plan to enroll me in schooling if you can’t reveal yourself? You don’t expect me to enroll myself, do you?”

“I have my ways. While you are in the world of the mortals, I have followers that can take care of you. I just worry that you’re spending too much time alone with only my voice. I know you hate me for reminding you of it, but you’re still human.” The voice echoed inside her mind. The soft, buzzing hum of the voice was enough to cause pain to the average human, but to Amber, it just came off the superior nagging tone of a concerned parent.

“I am not human. Humans are gross beings that leave their children alone to die. I am the proud daughter of a being outside of this world’s comprehension. Or am I not your child anymore? Are you abandoning me too?”

The voice inside her mind fell silent. The eldritch being had done a lot of things in its limitless lifespan. It had brought down empires, drove towns into mass chaos by spreading hysteria, and even created its own underground religion and yet, this was the first time it had tried to do anything positive for the world and it was struggling. It couldn’t just control her like it would usually do with an unruly follower, it had to parent her.

“Dear. It’s not like that. I know you hold resentment for the humans, but you need to learn to live with them. These gifts I gave you weren’t so you could become like me, they were so you could become greater than me. I have done enough to hurt humanity; I wish to give humanity something back. You are my gift to this world.”

“Can’t you raise another child, then? Make someone else your apology. I don’t want to go.” Amber crossed her arms, defiantly holding her own against her eldritch parent. She hadn’t budged from her bed, refusing to leave her room until her parent gave in.

“DO NOT TAKE MY LOVE FOR YOU LIGHTLY. I DO NOT PLAN TO RAISE CHILDREN, I PLAN TO RAISE YOU, MY DAUGHTER.” The walls of the room grew dark and Amber’s vision wavered. Brief flashes of darkness shot around in her sight before the room returned to normal. She could feel a hot drop of blood dripping from her nose as she shook herself from the sudden daze.

“What?” Amber held the side of her head, feeling a stinging pain shoot through her skull before it left as quickly as it came.

“Amber, I’m so sorry. I didn’t mean to raise my voice. Being a parent is something I am not used to. I rarely get questioned about my orders. Please, just try schooling. I won’t leave your side the whole time. We can even study magic together on the weekends if you don’t have any homework to do. I just want you to keep your humanity. I don’t want you to hurt the people you care about like I do.”

The door to her room crept open, revealing a void of space behind it. From that space, a long tendril, gripping a tissue, slipped out. The tendril dripping with a black ooze as it neared her face, giving her nose a small poke with the tissue, trying to clean up the droplets of blood.

Amber smacked the tendril away, forcing it to drop the tissue. When the tissue hit the floor, the tendril retreated into the void, disappearing from view. When she was certain the tendril had left, she picked up the tissue and began cleaning the droplets herself.

“Don’t be sorry. That’s who you are.” Amber said as she placed the tissue down, leaning herself back on her bed. “I don’t want you to find someone else while I’m gone. I know I can’t win this argument and it’s clear you are holding your emotions back. I’m surprised you didn’t use your powers to trick me into going.”

“You’re my daughter. Our relationship should not to be built on lies and deception. I promised you I would never manipulate you. I plan to keep to my word. Even if that may have solved this issue sooner.” The being admitted. “I could never replace you. You seem to think my love is just a temporary thing. Even if you showed no potential for magic, I would have raised and cared for you. I believe that’s how love works. I’m not sure.”

“I’m not really sure either. I love you, though. Even if I don’t know your name.”

“I can’t tell you my name. It-“

“It would cause me to cut my tongue off because of my inability to speak it. I know, lesson four.” Amber sighed, trying to hide a smile behind her palm.

“I can’t believe I got such a smart child. I love you too, dear. Now, try to get your things ready. I have planned to get Uncle Paul to accompany you as your adoptive parent while you are in the mortal world.”

“Uncle Paul? Your follower with the beard that enjoys playing board games? You couldn’t have chosen someone cooler like Aunt Venessa?” Amber whined, collecting her belongings from her desk, making sure she had a pencil and notepad ready.

“Unfortunately, she isn’t located near the school I have chosen for you. Paul makes more sense. You only have to stay with him while you go too and from school. It shouldn’t be too bad.”

“Ok, but if he mentions that stupid hungry hungry battleships game again, I’m going to put a curse on him so he can’t speak.”

“Amber…”

“I’m only kidding! Lighten up.” Amber giggled, getting her bag together before she opened the bedroom door. Beyond the door was a floating see-through doorway, one leading to a living room where Uncle Paul sat alone at his dining table eating cereal from the box. When he saw Amber, he gave a wave, only for the girl to cringe. “The things I do because I love you. Hi Uncle Paul, I’m ready for school.” Amber said, putting on a fake cheery voice as she stepped into his living room.

2
$ 2.76
$ 2.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments