Curiosity kills(?) the Cat

1 30
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

[WP] Everyone knows a cross is a holy symbol, while an inverted cross invokes evil. Curious because you never heard it mentioned before, you decide to hang up a cross and turn it sideways.

*****

Did I say 'regret'? Like I regretted turning the crucifix? Well, okay, maybe that was a hasty conclusion that led you to another hasty conclusion. Let's backpedal a bit.

The glow did cause some concern; the fact that the position did something... supernatural, was quite troubling to me. I had obviously upset a balance somewhere, and actions, especially actions pertaining to the supernatural, had their consequences.

"Who is he that demands access into the Celestial Court?"

Celestial Court? In none of the numerous lectures, lessons, and briefings was this mentioned. Did the elders know of its existence? Were they hiding it? I had no idea, but my interest was piqued now more than ever.

The voice was deep and rumbling. It was emanating from the glowing crucifix, and it sounded impatient. I was going to have to make a quick decision: run away from this room and wait for the whole thing to blow over, or take a bold - albeit crazy - step and answer.

By now, you should be able to predict what action I took at that point.

"Alexander Stone," I said in as bold a voice as I could muster, hoping I had not just made the decision that would condemn me for life.

"And WHY have you requested access to the Courts? What business brings you into this exalted plane of the universe?"

I had never heard a voice so... arrogant and full of itself, somewhat proud of its position. What could the position have been for that matter? I had no idea, but I had a dislike for the voice already.

I caught myself in the middle of these thoughts, wondering when I'd gotten so careless. For all I knew, the entity I was conversing it could have been omniscient, or even telepathic. My thoughts would be read and then I wouldn't have the fairest audience at the court.

"Are you deaf?! We do not like to be kept waiting! Why have you requested access?!"

This isn't one of those movies where thoughts fly through my head at the speed of light. I actually spaced out for a few seconds, and whoever was on the other side was not happy about it apparently.

"Curiosity. Curiosity brought me here, not a fixed reason. I just turned the crucifix sideways because I wondered what that position would mean. I had no idea that this would happen..."

I heard what sounded like a gasp, then a murmur which increased in loudness. I was tempted to shift my ear closer, but I stayed put. That is until I felt myself being sucked into the wall.

I appeared in the center of what seemed to be a high, but small room. Actually, the center platform on which I stood was made so by six adjacent tables - akin to those of a judge in a courtroom - and there were six people seated at each of those tables.

Three men and three women.

And there, in a corner of the room, besides what looked like a golden door, was a burly-looking, frowning man. Somehow, I knew it was he I was speaking to from my room. It was at this point too that I realized that I was strapped to the chair I was sitting on.

"What's all of thi-"

"I have always advocated for the removal of the portal of access. It was just too flimsy and too open to anyone. Of course, we had never seen anyone intentionally place the crucifix in such a position with no intention of coming here, but you underestimated the sheer foolish curiosity of mortals. Obadiah!" one of the women said, speaking to the man opposite her.

Obadiah in question was resting his chin in his palm and rolling his eyes. "That aside-"

Another man spoke up. "We're not putting 'that' aside, Obadiah. You have to apologize to the court."

Obadiah made a low sound, kissing his teeth a he looked at the man who spoke. "Reuben. always so eager to please the women who aren't in the least interested in you."

Before anyone else could retort, he continued. "Well, I am sorry for downplaying the security of this place, Court. Now that aside, there's still the question of why Alexander Stone was fiddling with a crucifix in such a manner. What was the point of that?"

Now seven sets of eyes were fixated on me, and I felt a need to defend my actions. But I couldn't. "Other than a pure curiosity, nothing else."

judging from their looks, that answer wasn't the best one I could have given.

"I think it's a fair judgment to wipe your memory of the past two weeks, Mr. Stone."

"Wait, I-"

I suddenly found myself back in a strag=nge room, lying on a bed and not knowing how I had gotten there. My last memory was being in the 5th Grade.

If not for the trusty body camera I carried on my person before touching the Crucifix, I would not have known who I was. But still, I was left without any knowledge of how to exorcise demons, and soon I was kicked out of the chaplaincy.

Till the day I die, I must find a way back into those courts.

*****

The End.

For some reason, I lost interest in the story midway and the ending ended up botched, even I can tell. I just wasn't feeling the prompt anymore.

Still, I hope it was a read worth your time. Leave a like and comment if it was for you, thanks!

5
$ 0.88
$ 0.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
+ 1
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It was still pretty okay tho. It's just maybe the memory wiping went too far

$ 0.00
2 years ago