Child Support

1 28
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
1 year ago

[WP]You've always been your mother's least favorite child, you figured it was because you and your siblings didn't share the same father. On your 17th birthday you find a card in your room, "Happy birthday! -Love, dad", the only problem being that it's written in glyphs and what appears to be blood.

*****

I thought it was a sick joke of my brothers, a way to make fun of me on yet another horrible birthday. But it was real.

I had always been excluded from the rest of the family, an intruder in a perfect family. My mother had me at a young age and my father never returned.

She remarried and build a new life, one in which I was a parasite sucking the joy of every day that I dared to exist. My brothers pretended that I didn't exist and nothing ever happened.

My mother never told me who my father was, she always exploded in anger and said horrible things to me, so I decided to continue my life until I could move out and leave all behind.

My 17th birthday started, as usual, alarm, shower, breakfast, a trip to school, and boring classes. I decided to go to watch a movie and celebrate having just one year left before freedom.

My family didn't notice that I wasn't home until I returned, and no one said anything when I went to my bedroom to listen to some music and finish homework.

But something was different, a letter on my bed with big letters in red ink that read "Happy birthday!-Love, dad". It seemed odd, my brothers never did something like that to me and my mother always avoided me.

As I got closer, I could see that what I thought were letters turned into glyphs and the red ink resembled blood.

Fear began to rise, but a strange feeling of curiosity took hold of me and made me move forward. I grabbed the letter and began to read its contents.

"Hello, Mark, happy birthday. I hope you are doing very well. I'm sorry if this is too sudden and I apologize in advance for not contacting you sooner. I know you have a lot of questions and may not want to hear from me and I understand that well, but I want you to know that I want to clear everything up in my own words and voice. If you want to talk to me I am going to BonnaPizza on Main Street at 8 today so I can clear all your doubts. I look forward to seeing you today and most of all, congratulations."

A flood of emotions invaded my mind and left me paralyzed in my bed unable to think about what was happening.

My father had sent this letter? How? Why now? What had happened? Why had I never heard from him in all these years?

My mind tried to find a logical reason for all this, but there was simply none. After a few minutes, I decided to try and see what could happen. I had nothing to lose and the doubts were pushing me to find out the answers.

The restaurant was one of my favorites, a very good quality family place that always gave me a sense of calm and happiness.

I sat waiting to see what happened and looked at my watch until 8 pm came and he walked in.

At first glance, he wouldn't have looked striking, tall, skinny, with black hair and blue eyes, nothing out of the ordinary. But upon closer inspection, I realized it was as if an adult version of me had walked through the door. He had the same chin, same nose, and looked like a copy of me if I turned 30.

He was dressed in a black leather jacket, a red T-shirt with a skull, black boots, and dark blue jeans.

He sat down and greeted me enthusiastically.

-I'm sorry I didn't get here sooner, things have been complicated. I'm Araxis, but you can call me Alex. Have you ordered something or do you want to order?

-Hi, uh, I haven't ordered anything yet.

-Don't worry, dinner's on me. I'm going to order a large pepperoni pizza, a mushroom pizza, and an order of garlic bread. Is that okay with you?

-Eh, yeah, sure.

I was more surprised and confused than anything else. This guy radiated happiness and calmness that made me feel relaxed. The anger and rage I felt before now seemed to be non-existent. But the doubts only increased with every second.

When the waitress left, Alex turned to stare at me and sighed heavily.

-I'm sorry I didn't come sooner, things have been complicated and this is the first chance I've had to come and see you. I know you have a lot of questions and I'm not going to keep quiet, so shoot, ask whatever you want to know.

My mind went blank for a few moments and I just stayed silent looking at Alex. I wasn't sure what I wanted to ask and I felt my voice had slowed.

I took a deep breath and started with the most important things.

-I want to know who or what you are and why you disappeared.

He took the same breath and settled back in his seat.

-Let's start with the simplest thing, I had to leave because they wanted to kill me. Seventeen years ago when the great purge began, an elimination of those who were not worthy of being alive by a group of lunatics called Shadowhunters. Many of my friends and siblings died and I came very close to dying several times and I couldn't afford to go back and put you in danger. I know nothing is a valid excuse for leaving a child and a mother alone, but I didn't want them to die along with me. This brings me to the question of who I am.

He sighed wearily and he showed me his hands, a kind of blue fire began to emerge from his hands and began to form symbols I had never seen before. No one else seemed to see it.

-I am a subspecies of Nephilim called Nerium and we are descendants of angels, spirits, and humans. Our genealogical tree is complicated to explain, but in short, I am part human and part celestial. Just like you.

I remained silent as I tried to understand what I was hearing. I had always believed in the supernatural, but I never thought that the supernatural would come to tell me that I was from my family.

I was shocked and terrified by the words I had just heard and Alex noticed.

-I know it's a lot to process, but I can assure you that I will explain everything in detail in due time.

His words managed to calm me down and I began to be fascinated. But most of all I began to feel happiness, this person or being was my father and he was showing me that he didn't leave me out of simple selfishness, but that he cared about me. A consolation to all these years in a certain way.

Then a new important doubt arose and my brain started to work on the different questions I had.

-What are you going to do now?

Alex smiled in surprise and looked out the window at the dusk outside.

-The hunt is over and now I can live quietly. I want to be with you if you give me the chance, I'm not going to leave you unless that's what you want. I want to teach you your skills and make up for all these years. What do you think?

It seemed impressive and almost like a dream, but my brain went blank again at that moment. Each answer generated several new questions.

***

Fortunately, the pizza saved me.

-Tell you what, let's have dinner and talk about simpler things and then you tell me what you think of my proposal. Come on, it's your birthday, let's celebrate.

I spent the rest of the dinner talking to Alex and his many stories. It turned out that the ink and glyphs were a form of secret message that only the Neruim can use.

Eventually, we wolfed down the food and went for a walk. I felt that Alex was a lifelong friend and he was very happy to be with me. Eventually, it was time to go home and I gave him my answer.

-I wish I could see you more and be with you. I want to learn and get to know more about you. Please.

He smiled broadly and gave me a hug, one that radiated happiness and joy.

-I will never leave you again. I promise.

From that day on, I spent every afternoon with him until I turned 18 and moved out of my mother's house. Alex tried to approach my mother but she just wasn't interested.

Fortunately, she never found out that I was going with my dad and learning all sorts of things. Magic, alchemy, mathematics, and mechanics in ways I never thought possible.

Now I'm going to college on a full scholarship and I'm going to continue my entertainment in the arcane. My mom is behind me and now I have a new future ahead of me.

The future has never looked so bright and I am grateful to my father for everything he has given me.

*****

THE END.

6
$ 2.25
$ 2.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Nice read and well laid out, keep up the good work :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago