Cause and Effect

0 31
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Movies, Tale, Novel, Student, Shortstory, ...

[WP] When the villain got his hands on a time machine, he figured sending someone forwards to scout the future would be smart. The report that came back was one of untold devastation and horror, with multiple genocidal wars that he didn't want. And most of that destruction was his own fault.

*****

"I don't understand," I ask my minion. "I'm planning on world domination, sure, but I'd never let people destroy the planet! How, exactly, does this happen?"

"Well," my minion responds, "it appears it starts with a resistance... I checked various different timelines, where the resistance forms without interference, where it forms and you arrest them, you deal with the issue before it's ever a problem... every single time the result is the same - either the resistance forms successfully and they declare war against you, or you prevent the resistance from forming and others react aggressively towards your decision."

I nod thoughtfully. It seems like people will do anything for their freedom, even destroy themselves. "You said you checked various different timelines... are there anywhere I get what I want and no one feels the need to form a resistance?" My minion stays quiet. So that's the answer. "There has to be a peaceful timeline somewhere..."

My minion sighs, clearly scared. "You're well-known, sir. Everyone is already preparing. I only found one timeline which maintains peace..." I look at him hopefully. He gulps, clearly afraid to say it.

"I see" I respond. "So that's what it will take to keep everyone from killing themselves..." I get up from my throne, turn around and stare out the window. All I wanted was to control the planet, have it for myself... I had plans, ideas, goals... I never wanted to be a dictator, but it seems that's how I'm viewed. I weigh my options... if I surrender myself to the council, peace and order will be kept, but then I'll lose more than just the opportunity to rule the planet... if I go ahead with my plans, there will be wars, devastation, starvation, but the end result will be worth it, right? No, I'd only be left with a broken planet of fear and inhospitality. I'm going to have to swallow my pride and face the consequences before the world suffers.

I turn back to my minion. "Let everyone know that they are dismissed" I say sternly. "From this moment, I am no longer your leader." My minion nods, as he holds back tears, and goes off to pass the message. I go down to the basement. There sits the time machine, discovered by my minions while exploring the mountains in search of the sword of legend. I deactivate it - it's best if it never gets used again, it could destabilize the space-time continuum. The only reason I let my minion use it to see what the future with me in charge looks like, is because I have the powers to contain the chaos, which thankfully I didn't need to use.

***

I stand at the entrance of The Sanctuary, a stronghold settlement designed to keep people safe from turmoil, and where the council resides. I dare not enter; I am far from welcome. I simply wait... "What are you doing here?" a voice calls out. As I knew would happen, one of the protectors spotted me. I do not respond, simply toss my staff by his feet. I hold my hands up in surrender. The protector is confused and sceptical; he makes a call on the radio. "The Shadow of Midnight is here... no, no, he's not, he... Ummm... surrendered? Ok, sure." He puts his radio down, and before I knew it, a dozen protectors have arrived, carrying magic-resistant chains and several artifacts forged from the sun. I don't flinch, and they surround me, putting the chains on me. They then bring me inside, before the council.

"That's why I decided to surrender," I say, finishing my story, explaining why I, feared by all and known as ruthless and uncaring, would dare surrender myself. The hall was intimidating - it was huge, and the seats upon which the council sat were far above my head. I know it was designed this way to make me feel small and inferior. Of course, this is from my perspective as someone being brought to justice, having been taken through a side entrance, the main entrance led directly to the council, and also connected to a gallery. Every person in the gallery was staring directly at me, which from so far above me, was actually unnerving.

I watch as the council confer with each other, deciding my fate, not that I was going to be shown mercy, no doubt my death is drawing nearer... suddenly, the council turn back to me. The man in the centre stands up, almost looking like a giant to me. "We, as a council, wish to ask the gallery - in light of everything that's been confessed to in this hall today, and with the crimes that the defendant is accused of, is there any room to show him mercy, to simply lock him up in our prison, rather than sentencing him to death?" I listen intently with hopeful ears, as the gallery murmurs to themselves. Then someone from the gallery answers.

"Would he be here if his intention was not to face punishment for everything he's done? It would be cruel, then, to take his life. We agree that he should be imprisoned, not killed." I'm almost crying with relief, as I'm taken by four protectors to my confinement.

The chains are heavy, and the spells cast on my cell make me feel weak and exhausted, but at least my life has been spared, thanks to the mercy of the council. I get the occasional visit from my former minions, who as part of my surrender conditions were spared punishment, and they keep me informed of what is happening. By now, my actions would have resulted in tragedy and chaos; it seems like everything, as it stands, is in order. And I couldn't me more grateful for that.

*****

THE END

1
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Movies, Tale, Novel, Student, Shortstory, ...

Comments