Catch Up: What I've been up to

1 36
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

So I don't usually do this, (this may be my first time doing this actually), but I felt compelled to. At least you guys should know what I've been up to all this while and what kept me from Read.Cash for about two weeks or so.

First, it was School Resumption

Yeah, after the lockdown, universities were on strike no thanks to the government not paying the lecturers, so I was bummed out at home for pretty over five months.

I was tired of everything: my parents (sure we all love 'em but it gets to the point where as a young adult, they kinda begin to get under your skin. Especially when you all don't usually stay together and then all of s sudden you're stuck with them for 10 months.)

Me leaving my house like...

I was also pretty unsure of whether schools would ever resume, so reading was really an on-and-off thing.

But finally, an agreement was reached, schools were allowed to resume, and my school released 25th as its resumption date for undergraduates.

And it was then I realized that I had messed up via reading my books.

My books looking at me like "I'll see you in the exam hall."

I was - or am - pretty much far behind on my curriculum, and then I've got tests - serious ones tbh, as a medical student, these tests are the equivalent of the first semester exams - so I'm pretty much in a haze right now

My exam timetable AKA the sudden death round.

Do not be surprised if you don't see me here for a while too, I'm not going to allow myself fail, nah nah.

Then right now, all the reading I'm doing is just for the exams. What am I saying? I'm reading to pass, not to know. There's no time to read to know.

Right now, it's time for 'La Cram, La Pour'.

pardonne moi mon ami, that's some crude french there.

It means I'll just cram it all, and then pour it in the exam hall. I'll lose about 40% of the knowledge after the exam, so then I'll be able to read to know.

Me as a hot mess still trying to get my sh*t together. Picture courtesy of Getty Image

Then now, it's the departmental student union body elections

Permit me to call this the 'online flier sh*tshow.

Exhibit:

I mean, I couldn't out any other pictures cause that would breach privacy, but you get the idea.

These things are EVERYWHERE!

So it wasn't unexpected - we WERE gearing for these elections before the lockdown, but ten months made me forget what it felt like to wake up to 30+ WhatsApp messages and then more than half of them would be that stuff in the image above.

Your gallery - you know, the sacred space you're always trying to keep clean since you're trying to salvage space?

Yep, they desecrated that too. Flyers everywhere for me to repost on my status. And it doesn't help if you're somewhat popular in the department - I have a reputation for having some of the most interesting content on my statis, so naturally, I'd seem.like a sort of influencer in these things.

It's therefore a real shame that I'm so unmotivated in political matters and I'd rather NOT post things like that, especially since I am receiving flyers from two or more people vying for the very same post.

In short, I'm a hot mess in this regard.

Luckily, the election will hold on Saturday, the winners will win, the losers will lose, and I'll know peace.

*Insert leap for joy*

Valentines

Ah, tis that time of the year again.

The time of love, where Cupid flies amok, shooting people and falling in love....and somehow fails to shoot you too.

I mean, you could have a big friggin' X on your forehead and HE STILL WONT SHOOT YOU!

Valentine's for me is mindlessly scrolling through WhatsApp status updates and Instagram stories, and then dropping the appropriate 'awwwns' and 'goals' where necessary while lamenting my single pringle condition and falsely telling myself that I will have a partner next year.

Personally, I lack the mental fortitude to take on a relationship. Judging from my friends' stories and what I see on Twitter, 8t seems like too much for someone who's still trying to ride the huge wave of college education for me.

So I guess I'll be staying in 'Awwville' for a while.

So that's basically all I've been stuck with for all this time. I hope I can become a bit more regular here, but hey, fingers crossed, Okay?

2
$ 2.47
$ 2.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

You definitely need to focus on those exams and good luck to le cram, le pour BAHAHAHAHAHAH SO HAPPY I'M DONE WITH THAT ALREADYYY

$ 0.00
3 years ago