Blades 28

1 15
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

I stood there looking at the body because I could not believe that Yami was dead. I did not believe that he could die like that. He was a mean fighter, determined, pigheaded and ambitious.

Men like him died in the heat of war, stabbing through their wordy enemies as the enemies stabbed through them as well.

Not...like this. Not in one draw of a sword.

Maverick could not hide the look of shock on his face.

"That's..."

Kendrick stood up and looked at him as we climbed ashore. "Yes. The Howl of the Unsheathing. Even though my sword was not sheathed at my waist, it still has the same technique. You whip out your sword from your waist when your back is turned to your opponent, and using that sudden movement..."

Maverick interrupted, "...you spin 360° at lightspeed, making the air around you whizz and crack while you strike your target completely through. The characteristic crack of the air as you whizz through it is called the Howl, isn't it?"

Kendrick smiled.

"You're well knowledged in the School of Light, Maverick. But then again, I should have expected this from one who was so obsessed with us guardians, and with power in general."

"Power is that by which I shall fulfill my dreams - dominion over the universe. If I assemble all six swords, I'll ascend to the level of being a god. Is that not a worthy cause?"

I'd almost forgotten about Lance, but he suddenly spoke up.

"Of what use is such a dream to a dead man?"

Maverick turned. "Neither you, nor Vince over there can kill me. Or even lay a scratch on me. Kendrick is your best bet, and I'm sure that Howl drained his stamina pretty much."

He wasn't wrong.

Kendrick was breathing hard now, and it was obvious his muscles ached a bit. His moves were basically one hit kills: if they were performed successfully, the user would be left weak and exhausted, barely able to perform another attack.

Missing the attack was a different story altogether. The user's vital points would be left wide open for a counter assault.

"Underestimating me will be your worst mistake!" Lance screamed, readying his sword.

I knew Lance's attack was just a front - a distraction so that Kendrick would strike. It was most likely that Maverick knew this too.

"Don't worry Vince," Kendrick said while grinning. "When you fight people like this, you have to abandon all thoughts or feelings of dear for your own life if you want to win. If you have any plans of winning, you have to fight with zero regards for your own life."

Lance smiled as he raised his sword. "Maverick here's a sample. Slicing Gale!"

He whipped his sword in a crescent shape very fast, and a huge just of wind was produced. It couldn't be seen - the sudden change in the air current, but I could feel it.

The air around the Gale was dry, and I could almost feel it's razor sharp current. It would definitely slice Maverick into two if he hit...

But Maverick held his sword tightly, causing it to blast and propel him upwards. It was an attempt to jump and avoid the cutting wind.

"That was the wrong way to avoid my attack; but it was the way I wanted anyway," Lance said.

Instantly there was an explosion as flames burst out around Maverick. The slicing wind had apparently created a vacuum, which air rushed into, this dragging in the flames.

As Maverick hovered wildly in the air, Kendrick dashed at him and swung his sword heavily.

I couldn't see what was happening, but as I squinted, I saw Kendrick's body fall in a heap as Maverick landed with a stagger too.

There was a a long slash wound on Mavericks body. The strike had hit, but it was superficial.

Kendrick on the other hand had received first degree burns on his hand.

"Game over," Maverick said, smiling.

******

@Gwenie, @Hanzell, @Leo_kitti, @gertu13

Time to end this 🥲🥲

3
$ 0.28
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Omg whatchu did to kendrick- omg u wiping them out one by one-

$ 0.00
3 years ago