apoqalyps

3 31
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

[WP] It's early morning, and it's time to start the daily routine: a cup of coffee, a nice breakfast, and a perimeter check to see if the tripwires left any corpses.

******

June 24, 2029

I stretched as soon as I woke up.

Yoga was good for the body, and it kept my body fit and my mind calm in these times. Finishing off, I went to brush my teeth and take a shower.

These processes had been etched in my mind from the moment I started living on my own. Going to the coffee maker, I input the required settlings and made myself a nice, hot espresso. I 8nhakrd a bit of the stream, allowing the earthy scent intoxicate me a bit before taking sips.

Perfect.

Putting bread in the toaster, I bit some eggs and put them in the pan, going for a light, nice breakfast.

Just like mama made it.

After getting done with the breakfast, I stepped outside my house in the suburbs, breathing the fresh morning air. It was time for my routine perimeter check of my electric tripwire fence.

Starting at the East wing, I didn't see any bodies - today was a good day. As I walked along, I paused for a while, reminiscing the strange turn of events that had brought me - and the world to this point.

*****

20th Century Filmmakers making futuristic sci-fi movies would have never predicted such an apocalyptic scenario. Okay, maybe some would, but most of them would predict telekinesis, flying cars and commercial state travel.

But no, that hadn't happened. Innovation, futuristic inventions, all of that next gen stuff - it all ended when the crisis began.

What crisis? Heh, Something gigantic, basically large and catastrophic enough to be called World War III, and yet, it wasn't just a war. It was a general inter/intra state conflict happening in all countries of the world, and it was all because of one thing.

COVID-19.

When major broadcasting corporations and media outlets carried the story of the virus that had brought the world's economies to their heels, of course there were many takes.

There was the propaganda of course. Religious people said that it was part of apocalyptic agenda, a signal of the end of times, and all of that.

Conspiracy theorists believed that it was part of the agenda of some countries, or some people, to bring the world to its knees and into their control.

Health experts said that it would reshape global health procedures as we knew it. Face masks and washing of hands, sanitizing and social distancing - all of these would become part of the 'new normal'.

Some of these takes were quite far from the answer, others were just short of the entirety of it, but the fact was that all of them held some truth.

It was three years later, in August of 2022, that the truth came out.

Eduardo Snowden, master hacker, managed to intercept some top secret messages between high ranking members of society from different countries. An ancient order which had been mentioned in a lot of literature; a group shrouded in myth, conspiracy and controversy.

The Freemasons.

Everyone, well almost everyone who had heard of the topic had heard of the so-called 'New World Order' the masons desired to establish, but no one had any idea that it was going to be a world controlled by the upper echelon of the Freemasons.

A group of powermongers hell-bent on seizing control of the world as a whole by creating a virus - more like a biological weapon - that would first bring the world to its knees.

President's, Businessmen, Scientists, Health Experts - people from every vital walk of life were part of this upper echelon, and so the creation of the virus and the destruction of the world economy was a success.

However, usurping control was not.

They were aware that there was going to be backlash. An uprising was guaranteed in these situations. But none of their statisticians and analysts could predict the nature of this uprising, or how many odds were at play.

Odds that would mark their end.

In order to take control of the governments, coups had to be carried out. In some countries, the military was bought over. In others, an underground militia had been formed - and funded, to take care of these situations.

The issues started in overpopulated developing and third world countries. The citizens, threatened by the sudden turn of events and sensing he instability, decided to seize control for themselves. In such countries, where there were such little technology and protocols in place to tackle such an uprising, this was the last straw.

Africa was shocked by the series of assassinations and lynchings of Freemason leaders. Attempts to seize control by the military, militia or terrorist organizations proved futile, as it boiled down to outright war and conflict.

Other countries soon took suit, and then when the citizens of developed western and eastern countries saw this, they became emboldened to carry out such acts in their countries.

The Freemasons had not anticipated such an uprising - so disorganized and yet organized. It was not a single movement, so it couldn't be managed. But yet its ends and results were one and the same - taking back power from the masons.

Then another factor came in - clean rich and influential people started fighting against the masons as well, all for their own goals. Some felt it was their moral obligation, some decided to seize control from the chaos, and others had their own agenda. But the fact was that they all contributed finances, weapons and other things necessary to keep up the fight.

By 2027, the masons had lost their control, and they were nothing but a few members who his in obscurity, never rearing their heads for fear of instant annihilation.

But why did the war go on? The fact was that the masons were just another cog in the wheel of the 'apocalypse' that was bound to happen. The oppressed was bound to turn on the oppressor, the poor were bound to eat the rich. Freemasons catalyzed this movement.

So when any government, group or order tried to seize power or govern, they wee instantly destroyed

Earth basically became a wasteland, a jungle where only the strong lived. It was exactly how it was before the virus, except more savage. The rich were not invincible, and if their money wasn't enough to provide maximum security, they would die.

I was just another man trying to survive.

*****

As I reached the North wing of my comp7bf, I saw two bodies. One had his leg clipped by the trio wire, and his charred body showed me that the fence was my best investment yet. 90,000 bolts of electricity delivered on impact, he would have been dead before he realized what happened.

The other man had managed to jump the fence cleanly, but had his leg crushed in the bear trap I had set for that exact purpose. He was alive, but had lost quite a lot of blood.

He winced when he looked at me, and I smiled.

"Better luck next life," l said, cocking my gun and putting him out of his misery.

Life would go on like this for as long as I could hold out.

It was time for my workout session.

*****

I think I bored myself with this one, but I liked the prompt either way.

Remember to like and comment.

1
$ 5.09
$ 5.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

it wasn't that bad but it was more descriptive now. could be a prologue to something better though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's how I felt about it too, but I wasn't eager to continue 😪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true since there's plenty of other good prompts out there

$ 0.00
2 years ago