And Beyond...

4 19
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

[WP] You and your partner bought a pair of rings that let you feel each heartbeat from anywhere in the world. Your partner dies and you bury them with the ring. Years go by and you haven't gotten over them. Out of nowhere, they appear at your doorstep... still wearing the ring. But you feel no pulse.

This is a writing prompt I saw on Reddit, and I felt I should jump on it!

***********************************

She was at my door.

I met Annabelle.. was it five years ago? She was a new student, and I was an Average Joe who had never even kissed a girl. I never really noticed her for months, but when we finally met each other, it was the most beautiful feeling ever.

We would do everything together - eat, watch movies, play games, camp. People began to call us Siamese Twins because wherever you saw Anna, know I was there. So when Minisoft came up with the pair of smart rings that let you feel the pulse of whoever was wearing the other pair, we saved up and got one each. Whenever I was feeling stressed, I would tap the ring and let Anna know I was down, and she would come through like...

But one day, I stopped feeling it. The pulse. The indication that she was there, for me, and that I was there for her. Till death and beyond, we always said.

I rushed to her house, but I met her mother crying as she was rushing to the hospital. But Annabelle was DOA. I hugged her corpse, willed her to live, even if it meant I would take her place on the other side. But wishes weren't horses, so beggars like me couldn't ride.

Annabelle was buried with the ring, because I knew she'd want to feel my pulse in Heaven, and know I was thinking about her, even if I couldn't feel hers.

So now, I'm confused. How is she here? She was looking at me distantly, her eyes fixed on the ring. I couldn't feel a pulse, but there she was, wearing the same clothes she had on during her funeral. The ring rested on her middle finger, glistening like it was new.

I looked at her, unsure of what to say.

"Till death and beyond," she smiled.

6
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

please subcribe me. i also back you

$ 0.00
User's avatar Avi
3 years ago

"Your partner dies and you bury them with the ring" I do not understand about the "them"..

I try to understand how she was here...I understand "Till death and beyond" although I thought I did. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was how it was posted on Reddit. I guess it is used to collectively refer to both sexes, either him or her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then you could go with her even in death

$ 0.00
3 years ago