A Secret

8 13
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

[WP] One Sunday morning everyone wakes up with the worst crime they've ever committed tattooed on their forehead. It's breaking news on television. Yours says 'thief', your wife's forehead says 'cheater'. As you go wake up your seven-year-old daughter, you see the word 'murderer' tattooed on her forehead.

*Swear words in content*

It was the pain that woke me up.

6 o'clock on a Sunday morning and I was not supposed to be awake, but my head stung. I staggered to the bathroom, turning on the tap as I scooped some of the cool liquid and splashed it on my forehead.

I winced as the pain washed over me, fiery, and stinging. I peeked through my eyelids and noticed that there was something scribbled on my...

'Thief huh?" My wife said, standing sheepishly at my doorstep. I turned towards her, shocked and confused until I saw what was on her head.

"Cheater?" I didn't even get what was going on. She turned on the TV, and my favorite newsgirl was solemnly reading the news, her eyes barely making contact with the screen. Boldly written on her forehead was the word 'Prostitute', and on the news desk sat a cap. It was probably worn on her way to the studio.

"The f*ck is happening?"

"Everyone's worst crime or sin was tattooed on their foreheads last night. It's all over the news. I don't under..."

"Wait. Everyone's worst crime? And yours says..."

"I know what mine says, Rob!" She says, tears streaming down her face.

And mine said, thief. How the hell was this possible? It was like something from a movie that never existed because no one could imagine so thing so... unreal.

Either this meant there was a God, or Earth had been hacked by some high-class intergalactic teenage hackers. How did they ever find out about...

"What did you steal?" She asked, looking at me sadly.

I didn't answer.

"Who did you cheat with?"

She averted her gaze.

We both knew each other's secrets. I sadly moved towards her and hugged her. Sometimes, it was a good thing for everyone to release and forge new trust and connections.

But this time was different. This time, the secrets mattered.

I made my way to Allison's room. Surely, a seven-year-old wouldn't have done anything beyond lying about her homework and...

"Hey Dad..." a cold voice answered.

I turned to look at the direction. "Alli..."

A knife was thrust into my chest thrice. As I crumpled to the ground, I thought I had seen the words 'Murderer" tattooed on her forehead.

4
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

That was chilling ;-; who else did the kid kill-

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess the mother and the rest of the sinners. It just woke up. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Noo, i mean. Who did the kid kill first before the event ever happened

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it was dad...there was nothing written on it's forehead... It showed up while it took care of dad and was the last thing dad saw. I wonder if it hadn't killed dad if dad would have gave it a hug just like he did with his wife.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well kids are very different from adult. I'm pretty sure it killed it's sibling if it had any, or at least any defenseless animal to be labeled a murderer before that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They say children start molesting and killing animals before they start with humans...might be it molested and killed kids at school, next the one mom cheated with and the father because he's a thief. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let's wait for @Ozzyy to confirm this because I am really curious

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It reminds me of two films. I wonder if it matters whatever is on your forehead. "Cheater" can be cheating at school too, there are many different ways of cheating. Keeping a pen borrowed means you are a thief too. Good, it's only the worst, one, crime tattooed and not all crimes. One body wouldn't be enough.

The innocence of a child... Perhaps "stupidity" or "naive" was dad's biggest crime or raising the devil.

👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago