A Genie's Tale

1 25
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: 2020, Novel, Book, Earn, Fiction, ...

I honestly don't see why so many genies are assholes. On the bright side, at least it puts an even bigger smile on the people that find my lamp. As far as I go, I always tried to be like that blue genie from that one kids move.

What a coincidence that I was summoned by a child.

The second her tender little hands rubbed my lamp golden yellow smoke began to pour out of its slender spout, until I was floating above her looking down, big grin on my face.

"HELLO LITTLE ONE. I AM-" I stopped myself when I saw the little girl with her eyes shut touch, hands over her ears. I immediately slap my hand against my face. I really need to stop forgetting to tone it down when I first get summoned. Don't want to rupture another person's eardrum. That was rough.

I float down towards her and lightly tap her shoulder, shrinking myself down to about three feet so we're the same size.

Sorry about that little lady. Hope I didn't scare you." At the sound of my now softer and quieter voice the little girl opens her eyes, her warm brown irises looking at me, blonde eyebrows raising in surprise before he gaze darts down and picks up my lamp.

"Sorry! I didn't mean to hurt you!" she apologized, patting my lamp on its bottom tenderly. I laugh at the kind gesture.

"It's alright. I'm not hurt. I should be apologizing to you for being loud. Anyways, my name is Hawi. You know, like ha-weeeee!" I say in a cheerful tone that makes the little girl giggle. Ah the sound of laughter. Music to my ears.

"So, I'm sure you know how it goes. For freeing me, you get three wishes, but no-"

"No wishing for someone to be alive again, infinite wishes, kill, or make anyone fall in love," the little girl finishes for me. I look at her with an impressed look, ruffling her hair.

"You're smart, goldie locks! So, what do you want?"

The girl's smile then deflates, her happy gaze turning sad as she looks at the ground. For a few seconds she stays quiet. Then, in the tiniest voice I've ever heard, she answers.

"I don't want to be alone anymore..."

I look at her for a few seconds. Really look at her. I notice that her clothes are a patchwork of rags. Looking around the room I see we're in a dingy orphanage. If you can even call it that. The place looks like it's about to fall apart. I look back at the girl as she continues.

"Alright, so you want me to help make you some friends?" I ask, to which she shakes her head no.

"No. I don't want to be here anymore."

"So you want me to take you some place else to live?" I ask again, trying to understand what she means. Again she shakes her head no. As she speaks again I see her eyes well up with her tears, her voice barely holding in the sadness as she answers.

"No. I don't want to anywhere anymore. I just want to.....go. You know....up there," she says, pointing up at the ceiling. And suddenly it dawns on me: this girl doesn't want to go on. And it breaks my heart.

"But you know the rules, goldie. I can't make that wish happen," I say in a calm voice.

"Then I want to get thrown up high in the air! Or fall in the water! Or be telep...telepro....moved to the desert!" she says, huffing as she had trouble getting the word 'teleport' out.

This time I shake my head. "I can't do that."

"Why not?! That's my wish! I wish for you to move me to the desert and leave!" she yells, stomping her little foot. Again I shake my head.

"I can't do that. I can't make wishes come true that ki.....hurt, people. You included."

"This is so unfair! Why can't you just be a mean genie!?! Aren't you supposed to trick me!? Make a good wish into a bad one!? So make this bad one even more bad! I don't care!"

I rise from my shrunken size, growing to my full size, towering over her with my arms folded and a hard look on my face. But I'm not angry at her. It's the opposite. I feel sad for her.

"I'm not a mean genie. I'm here to help. My name means 'Happy Wish' my friend. Did you know that too, Miss Smarty Pants?" I try to give her a smile but it's weaker than normal. I can't stand seeing this. Over the millennia I've been summoned by beggars, treasure hunters, kings and queens. But I've always had a soft spot for the children who stumble upon my lamp. They never asked for much. All they wanted was to be happy.

"I don't have any friends Mister Genie. Or anyone. The other kids all got mommies and daddies. All of them got to go to a nice home. Everyone but me...."

She pauses and looks up at me with tear-filled eyes as she sniffles. "Mister Genie.....is it because I'm bad?"

If I could cry, I would have as soon as I heard that. I immediately shake my head no, before floating down and drying her tears.

"You're not bad, little girl. No kids are. What's your name?"

"Noor."

"That's a nice name. Means 'Light.' Did you know that?" I ask. She shakes her head no.

"Well little light, I'm going to help you shine. I promise to help you however I can."

"But you can't be my friend Mister Hawi. After my three wishes are gone you have to leave. You can't be my friend," the little girl says, looking away again. But then like a lightning bolt hit me, I get an idea.

"Oh yeah? Well I bet if you say 'I wish that Hawi can stay with me until I don't need him anymore,' I'll be able to stay even after your three wishes are up."

The little girl looks at me with wide eyes, unable to believe it. Not that I blame her. I mean, how many times does a kid get a genie for a friend?

"You can do that? You would do that? Just for me?"

"Just for you," I repeat, smiling at her as I ruffle her hair. The girl thinks about it for a minute, then nods.

"Okay. I wish that Hawi can stay with me until I don't need him anymore."

Instantly the gold shackles on my wrists transform into gold braided friendship bracelets. I then take one off and put it on her wrist. Right before her eyes the smoke disappears and suddenly I'm standing there on two legs, kneeling down to look her in those eyes that now have something that I always admire in children. The thing that makes going out of my way worth it.

Hope.

"Your wish has been granted. Be warned though little light.....you ain't never had a friend like me."

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: 2020, Novel, Book, Earn, Fiction, ...

Comments

wow thats great to see this. thanks for sharing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago