White lies - Those 'little' supposedly harmless lies, which one do you tell?

0 14

At times we tend to tell lies that seems not to affect us in any way not knowing that it may affect the other person. But sometimes when you are being truthful, you may hurt someone's feelings, all these things makes us to tell lies that seems to be harmless to them. Before going further I will like to start with the definition White lies.

White lies is a lie about a small or unimportant matter that someone tells to avoid hurting another person. Sometimes you might decide to tell your mother that her meatloaf is delicious when you know fully well that you hate the meatloaf or telling your friend that her outfit is very fine and that it suits her very well when it is the direct opposite of it.

The reason we choose to tell these lies is to avoid people from being hurt or to avoid causing them sadness. At times, we ask ourselves if telling lies is good or bad. I remember some years back when I visited my mom and she prepared bitter leaf soup with enough meat, stock fish, the soup was very rich but I never wanted to eat even with all the tempting meat and fish because I wasn't use to that kind of meal but I didn't want to hurt her feelings so I ate the food, I even told her that the soup was very delicious. Everything I did was just to make her happy and am glad I was able to do that. I also remembered when I had to lie to a friend that I was having a stomach pain just because I never wanted to visit him 🤣🤣.

At times telling little lies can make someone happy while at times, it may worsen the case especially when the person finds out the truth.

Are white lies good or bad?

In most cases, we tell lies that help others, it may also be for our own benefits. The most important thing here is that no one is harmed. But in a situation where you tell a lie that harm the other person just for your own benefit, is a very bad one on your own part.

Some 'white lies' are not dishonest at all and some would be borderline cases. But it is not adviceable to tell white lies when it comes to your business or at your place of work. You wouldn't want to start up your business with a lie. Telling white lies sometimes gives room for you to lie more often and this can damage your business. There are usually better alternative to lies because you never can tell how being truthful can help someone that moment.

What are the little lies you have told someone? You might think those little lies is just to help the person or to protect the person's feelings.

Drop your comments and your stories, let's discuss and have fun together 😃

Thanks for reading.

1
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Otuyanancy
empty
empty
empty

Comments