My Christmas and New celebration was indeed a great one

0 29
Avatar for Otuyanancy
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Life, Experiences, 2020

Happy new everyone.

This is my first post on read cash since this year. I'm just going to summarize how I spent my Christmas and New.

After my exam on the 23rd of December 2021, I traveled on the 24th of December to my hometown (Delta state, Nigeria). At first I thought I won't be traveling again since I didn't finish my exams early enough, but my mom insisted I travel to my hometown. On my way home at the park, I met some new friends. Traveling wasn't really stressful to me as I discussed with my friends till I got the my hometown.

It only took me 1 hour, 30minutes to get home. Everyone were very happy to see me as the last time we saw each other was January 15th 2021. Getting home, I met them cooking in the kitchen, so I had to join them to cook. I was welcomed with yam pepper soup and cold malt. I was really happy to see my nephews and nieces.

The house was really fun, I visited so many places including grandpa's house. Me, my aunt and uncle went to check out some of the things in grandpa's house because since he traveled out no one has entered his house. When we go there, the house was very dust and dirty. His car he parked outside the house was look dirty and old. After some minutes in grandpa's house, we went home to meet with the children.

We also visited the obi's palace (King), he was very pleased to see us. The king likes playing with kids, he played with my nephews and nieces. We were also entertained with drinks. Afterwards, we all went home.

The Christmas period was full of parties and merriment. We went to different parties almost everyday. I can say I really enjoyed my Christmas because it was fun for me and my family. There was enough to eat and drink, we cook like as if we were having party everyday, starting with fish frying to meat frying then cooking of varieties of foods. It got to a time I was tired of eating meat, I started having teeth pains so I had to limit my meat intake. 😂

Most of the time, my aunt will be in charge of cooking while I will be in charge of frying anything friable, there was a time hot oil spilled on my body. That day wasn't funny to me at all because I felt pains all through.

On the 1st of January 2022 was my grandma's birthday. Her children decided to fly her outside the country for her birthday. She was very happy, she celebrated her birthday with her other children and grandchildren in U.S, but we in Nigeria also celebrated her in our own way. We did video calls with her, the part I loved most was when she started shading tears of joy and she prayed for all her family, though on her birthday I wasn't feeling well. I was on medication for sometime, I know you all will say too much enjoyment 😂.

My granny turned 88years on the first of January. It was really a happy day for everyone at home and abroad. That day, there was enough to eat and drink.

There was thanksgiving day for the family. Everyone dressed in their different attire to thank God for everything he has done for us. After Thanksgiving Sunday, we took some pictures to remember this day. Everyone in the church was looking so colourful. My aunt didn't forget to snap with her husband separately. Lol

On the 11th of January 2022, we traveled to Enugu State, Nigeria for a burial Ceremony of my aunties father-in-law. On our way we encountered some challenges, but we finally got there thanks to God. I never knew I would see a masquerade at the burial Ceremony, I did not only see a masquerade, I saw many of them displaying in their different way.

At first I asked my aunt if it's their tradition for a masquerade to show up during burial Ceremony but she told me you can only see a masquerade when a chief dies. So yes, my aunt's father-in-law was a chief before he died. More than 20 masquerades came to the burial ground but I couldn't take pictures of them all because we had to go back Delta state that same day.

Even the traditional music players were on ground singing and dancing to their tradition. It was really a celebration of life and I can say I had fun in another state. It was time to go home, though I wasn't happy we were going to leave the ceremony, but we had to in order to get home early. When we got to Delta state, the kids were sleeping because we got home 1:20am. We didn't travel with the kids because it was a very long journey and I don't think they will be able to withstand the traffic and every other thing on the way.

Few days later, I prepared myself to travel back to school Ekpoma, Edo state, Nigeria. When I got to the bus station, I had to wait for other passengers to come, I waited for quite sometime before we finally left for Edo state. Getting to school, my friends were so happy to see me and I was also happy to see them.

I enjoyed my stay in hometown and I will love to go there again for any celebration because there is no dulling moment at home. Everyone are fun to be with.

How did you celebrate your Christmas and New?

Thanks for reading.

1
$ 0.24
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Otuyanancy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Otuyanancy
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Life, Experiences, 2020

Comments