The Depression. A visible disease, but invisible at the same time.

0 24
Avatar for Osmanrez
2 years ago
Topics: Writing

DEPRESSION is a scourge that invades society more and more, where it was created, it is not given the sufficient importance it requires.

Many of us have surely used the expression "I'M LIKE DEPRESSED" and probably that's how we feel for a moment we're going through.

Today everything is called depression. If I couldn't buy what I wanted, I GET DEPRESSED. If I couldn't take the trip I wanted, I GET DEPRESSED. I have heard mothers say that their child is DEPRESSED because the child did not want to play with him and other people say that their dog is DEPRESSED because he did not run when I call him.

Years ago the word was not named, it was something that did not exist. It was like a fake disease where it was used to inspire pity or attract attention, in contrast to what happens today that is used in such a generic way as the cases I told you about earlier.

Surely we have all known a case and we didn't even realize it. How many times have we not been surprised to hear that someone we knew committed suicide due to depression.

I have been one of those who in countless moments judged and doubted the credibility of this disease, it seemed unbelievable and incredible that someone could be dominated by somnething like that.

But I had to experience that situation in order to understand what it is about and how silent, fierce, and damaging it can be.

The first case when a very close person, I was happy, in the prime of life, a working woman, thrown out, with a job, starting her university studies, happy, with a stable social and sentimental life, or well, all that is what she seemed, and although I knew she was going through some personal things, I never thought it would be of such magnitude, she always had the ability to hide that part of her very well.

A series of events led her to a night in which we were sharing a group of friends, having a good time and enjoying herself, from one moment to another she committed suicide.

Who could imagine that minutes before he was laughing, singing, talking and after a while what happened happened. It took me time to understand it, assimilate it but over time the pieces fell into place, many times I had depression in front of me, I looked it in the eye and I had no idea that I should speak and lived with it so many times.

¿How did I know that it was so? Because years later in the second case I met her again face to face. At first it was hard for me to recognize her but I did.

My grandfather, a strong man, who went through countless things in his life, such as being orphaned at the age of 12, having to get ahead, in a town where poverty was quite strong, but he still managed to do it, he got married, had a great family, He emerged to be the person he wanted, in terms of having his own company, house and being financially stable.

He brought our whole family forward, he made sure that we never lacked for anything, but at the end of his life that man of strong temper, raised like the old one, where he could not be seen crying even if he crushed his finger, was defeated by DEPRESSION , to such an extent that he ended up staying in bed for 8 years without encouragement, where he did not care if it was day or night. Of course, there was a series of inconveniences, both family and medical, that made it inevitable to reach that state.

The depressive seems like a normal person but the point will come when the disease will show itself as it really is, we must support and pay attention to try to detect it in time, there are symptoms that are there, that little by little they show it, it is only a matter of noticing any change, gesture, word and action.

Depression is Real, it is not something fashionable or to be taken lightly, it is silent and harmful enough to make the life of those who suffer from it cease to be important.


2
$ 2.30
$ 2.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Osmanrez
2 years ago
Topics: Writing

Comments