A New Scam Is The Rise. Beware!

0 43

Airdrops is one way of getting crypto for free or by just doing minimal tasks. But sometimes some coins just appear on your wallet without doing anything. However be careful with these airdrops because of the booming industry in crypto, a lot of sketchy people are taking advantage of airdrop fanatics especially if your a newbie.

My Experience:

One of the best ways of checking if your wallet received new coins is through blockexplorers. So as I was checking new coins on Polygon explorer and saw a coin named BEST in my account. 

To be honest, I usually make lists of airdrops I participate in and when distribution is and to the "BEST" of my knowledge, I never recalled participating in this PolyBest airdrop. As I was trying to recall how I got these coins, I went to QuickSwap to check if these coins had value and to my surprise....

Boom! Surprise mathafucahs! That's a 4K airdrop bigger than the Uniswap airdrop last year. However as you noticed, you cant swap all your tokens all at once as the price impact is too high so (this is where a lot of people will fall for the scam) so I tried swapping in smaller value.

Now after clicking approve, I went to the coin's website to see what it's all about (The coins says polybest.io but it will redirect you to polybest.org).

If you noticed, the site looks legit and promising but what made me realize it was a scam is when I checked all the links. At first I checked the telegram link which directed me to the telegram download site not the link to open their telegram group. So I just opened telegram on my phone to check on it manually but no official group existed. Then i went on to check the other links and it directed me to sites not related to the website. The twitter link sent me to a "poly by google page", the medium link sent me to a "poly treatment" page which was blank and the reddit link sent me to a "poly" page not related to the project or Polygon Matic.

Now this is where I realized that I just got scammed (nearly). Going back to QuickSwap, the transaction was a success but said it was reverted. I went to polygonscan to check what happened...

So everyone who tried swapping their BEST tokens failed. I was checking any damages in my wallet but fortunately for me, the account I used is my 2nd account and this is the wallet I use to participate in freebie events. But what about those who don't use secondary accounts and what does the scam actually do?

So how the scam works is once you click approve from QuickSwap, you give authority to the scammer to withdraw all (or most) of your coins in your wallet mainly MATIC, wETH and stable coins. But the torture doesn't end there. According to this guy who got scammed (video below) every time you swap to stable coins, it shows up in your wallet for awhile but will vanish immediately. So this scam isn't a 1 and done thing but might be forever if you still keep using your wallet.

Is there a chance to block the scammer?

If you did click approve, according to the video by WALL ST REBEL, try checking the smart contract at https://app.unrekt.net/ and revoke it from accessing your wallet. I'm not aware of this site so please extend your DYOR before using it. 

 

As the blockchain industry advances, scammers also find new ways to take your hard earned crypto away from you. So always DYOR before engaging into new projects and in this situation, swapping your new coins. I do hope QuickSwap finds a way to block this scammer as this scam is new even if you search it online you won't find much about it. So pls do share this to your friends and in social media to make your fellow earners aware of this scam.

Just a quick tip before ending this post. If your an airdrop hunter like me use secondary accounts to participate in it. That includes wallets, emails and even social media. And please DYOR! DYOR! DYOR! If I used my main Matic account to claim this sh1t I'd be absolutely REKT!

Be careful out there and peace out!

3
$ 1.06
$ 1.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @nomadghada
Sponsors of Oogabooga
empty
empty
empty

Comments