True Story: A Glimpse at Death

0 6
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

True story

A scary dream: A Glimpse of life after death

I had just completed two 24 hours shift in a row at the hospital I worked at. My feet were as sore as my eyes hurt. I could barely stand not to talk of walking, but for the love of what I do, I had to keep a smiling face as I waved goodnight to all my patients, doing one last ward round and making sure all was for the doctor who was to relieve me.

The time was just a few minutes past 4 am in the early hours of the morning. The cool breeze that greeted me immediately I opened the door leading outside the hospital reminded me that I was a human before a health professional.

"Sir, are you sure you can make it home on your own, you look extremely tired, let me order an Uber for you or rather I'll drive you home, I'll soon be done with my shift", the security man who had worry written all over his face politely asked me. My parents always thought me to treat everyone equally, and so I've made it a personal duty to spare at least 5 minutes to Interact with anyone at the security post, and times I remember, I get them coffee.

"I'll be fine Albert, besides this is not the first time I look this tired", they always wondered how I knew all of them by name, it's a gift. He smiled and waved me goodnight, I waved back and entered my car and smiled. The smile of laying in my bed uninterrupted for 12 hours sent Joy waves all over my body. I could not wait to hug my pillows and lay under the warmth of my Duvet. I just could not wait.

I started my car and began to drive, my house was just a 20 minutes drive from the hospital. The road was extremely quiet and lonely at this time of the day, I was already used to it. The calm of the night was soothing, the cool breeze that trickled through my windows assured me that I could let go, the air around me was subtle and peaceful, the night sky was gloomy and well crafted, the smell of fresh grass and trees around the countryside was all I needed to know that...

"Pooooonnnnn!!!!", I was abruptly awoken by the sound of a loud Trailer horn that I felt as though my spirit had left my body, the light coming from the trailer was blinding and immediately I understood what was happening, I had fallen asleep while driving. Immediately steered swiftly to the left while the trailer miraculously missed me by inches. I stopped my car and looked back, the trailer had passed, sleep had fully left my eyes, I felt my life flash before me, I looked up to the sky, I looked different, void and empty... I was still shocked but I continued driving, slowly until I reached home.

Immediately I got home, I fell straight onto my bed and began thinking of the events of the day. That was indeed scary. I began to ask myself what if I had woken up a second later than I did, I would have been dead by now. As I laid silently on my bed, flashbacks, memories began to flood my mind. Strange flashbacks, this night is indeed a usual one.

Normally, before I slept, I recalled the day's events and prepared mentally for the next day, but today, today was different. I could not help the memories that came to me. I began to remember things that I thought I would never remember, things that happened to me as a child, a newborn, a day old, and then I began to see things I hadn't done, things I could have been, things I should have been, I was as if my life, present, past, and future was opened right for me to see through... Everything was clear... Everything was crystal clear.

And then I could suddenly hear myself breathing. But it was as though I was breathing in a different world entirely, as though my body was being separated from my spirit. I could feel essence separate from my aura... As though I was, I was, I was dying...

Then I suddenly felt light, I felt empty and at the same time filled, I felt everything and nothing at the same time, u was sure that I was floating, what's happening. I was so scared of opening my eyes but I knew I had to, I knew I had to know what was happening. And so I opened my eyes and it was as though I was one with the stars... I could reach out to them and touch them. At this point I wasn't scared, I wasn't ashamed, I wasn't conscious, I just felt free.

But... But... Mom always told me that even freedom has a price, what did I pay to become this free, I wondered, and as I floated towards Oblivion, towards an unknown destiny, in the distance, there was no light, just darkness, and far away into the distance, I could hear their screams, it was the scariest thing I've ever heard. It sounded like... Oh no, it sounded like billions of people gnashing their teeth at the same time, it sounded like the screams of lost souls, it sounded like hell...

Then and there I realized what was happening, was I? Was I dead? How? When? I could feel the heat from the distance, I could smell the burning of souls and the torture and torments that filled their voices, and I saw him, black good, red eyes and grey teeth, I saw death. He pointed at me and laughed. But before he could grab me... I woke up

I stood up and looked around, my vision was blurry at first and then it became clear with time. I saw Mom on her knees holding my hands and praying, I could hear the heart monitor beeping as my sister's voice screamed for the Doctors to come to my room. They said I opened my eyes. I was confused. What's going on, but the series of tubes and wires running through and from my entire body, mouth, and nostrils prevented me from talking. The doctor walked in and smiled, Mr. Shreds, you had an accident two weeks ago on your way back from work, you've been in Coma ever since, we thought we've lost you...

That day, I promised never to drive when I'm tired.

2
$ 0.96
$ 0.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

Comments