The untold story of okonkwo and Hassan

0 15
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

The untold story of okonkwo and Hassan

It was a cold rainy day, as usual with the weather in Jos. I (okonkwo), just 11 years at that time laid under my blanket and welcomed the cool night breeze as it carassed my body like it's life depended on it. I remember the date well, a Friday of 2001. The serene sound of the night was disrupted by screams and gunshots of people outside. This was unusual. Not before long the screams of people were drowned by more and more gunshots and one chant stood out amidst the chaos "Allah Arbar".

I still wasn't sure what was happening when mom rushed into my room, grabbed me by the arm and yelled at dad to go get my little sister from her room. I've never seen mom this terrified, least dad. He was visibly shaking. He had a wooden stick on his hands. Mom what's going on, I enquired but she was too fermished to talk. She just kept crying and calling on God to save us... Save us from what I wondered.

Our neighbor's house was already on fire. Dad kept calling uncle Iyke who was in the military but he wasn't picking up. how would be... It was almost past 2 am. And then we heard a loud knock on the door. It was far from a loud knock, it was as though they wanted to break the door. They kept hitting and hitting. Mom was screaming now and dad tried to shush her. Woman keep quiet, crying and screaming now won't save us. Little sister was crying too with mom. I just stood there confused. Finally they broke down the door. Dad rushed with his stick towards the door in a bid to save us and we heard a loud gun shot. Boom! And dad fell to the ground motionless.

A ran towards dad but the used the back of a gun to hit my head, it hurt like hell. I fell to the ground close to dad, he was still struggling to breathe but barely alive. Blood spilled from his body continuously. I knew he was going to die. I've seen this situations in movies. They were about 10 that entered our house. Many more stood outside killing and burning other people's houses. I could hear mom and little sister screaming, But I was too hazed to move. Sis was only 7 years. But it didn't matter, they have their way. Mom pleaded on her behalf, They should spare her little baby but it fell on deaf ears.

little sis did not survive the abuse, Dad was already dead, just I and mom. And when they were done, they locked us inside and set our house on fire, I guess this is the end.

Smoke had filled everywhere, I could not breathe well, mom still held dad and sis while she wept, she was ready to die but I wasn't, who was going to avenge their death. I saw all their faces, and I was going to hunt them one after the other, I promised... And so I grabbed mom's hands and dragged her towards the exit window. But it was just small enough for me to pass through but not her. I can't leave you here mom, I cried but we both knew I had to. She blessed me and changed my name that moment from Nnamdi to okonkwo, a warriors name sure to bring the wrath of vengeance to those who wrong us. And when I mighled my way through the window, She went back to dad and sis, and died with them.

I ran into the bush to safety and found people who took me in. And after 10 years of waiting, training, and gathering information... I finally found them. The head leader was Hassan, I tracked him and every single one of them to where they lived. I had built a notorious team of avengers, made from all those who lost someone that day. All those who sought vengeance. And on that faithful day, November 2011, we struck hard and we struck fast. Without mercy we took revenge on those who wrong us. We made their streets bleed, in war there are no innocent, just victims.

And then we came upon Hassan's house, he pleaded for mercy just like mom did. But his pleas fell on deaf ears too... You don't remember me? I screamed at him? How dare you not remember me... I showed him the scars I got from the fire and on my face from the gun he used to hit me. He did not. How dare him not remember me...

I was lost in the Jihad, he said... I was young and naive, but now I have found the way, Allah have saved me... But all that didn't matter now, If I don't take revenge, mom's death would be in vain. And so I ordered my guys to end him, and in that moment, his two wives and 5 year old son appeared from their hiding place begging in behalf of him. He had really changed. But the time for mercy was gone. They reminded me of how much mom begged... My heart tore in pieces... I'll forever carry that memory, I had scars to remind me.

leave the kid I said, I wasn't a monster, I just needed to find peace in vengeance. But then peace I did not get... His death didn't take the pain away, I felt empty. I stared at his son for a while and said. You'll have your time for revenge but today, it's my turn.

And I left him outside his burning house.

20 years later, a man with a gun entered my house, and introduced himself as Ibrahim, the son of Hassan. "Oh well, I thought to myself, what took you so long. And don't worry searching. I took the liberty of ending this fuse once and for all. I've got no kids, no wife, nothing. It's just you and I. So do what you must", I said. and so he pointed the gun at me and pulled the trigger... Straight to my heart... I feel to the ground with a smile, finally I would be reunited with my family. I heard a second gunshot, it was Ibrahim, he had shot himself... And so we both laid down on the cold hard floor, lifeless, lost and forgotten.

I guess vengeance is mine, Says the man with an untold story.

0
$ 3.17
$ 3.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Onyxchuzzy
3 years ago

Comments